We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Grace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Grace to your Saves list
Room Mate Grace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #251 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Gloucester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel and great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great location to local attractions (Times Square, Rockerfeller, shops etc) and a very laid-back hotel. Service was excellent and although breakfast bar seems small it had some good food. Steam room / Sauna not open during stay (part of the reason for booking) however pool was a welcome "wake up" in the morning. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvaroDiazMartos, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you so much for writing such a nice review about your stay with us!

I am very happy to see that you liked all our amenities and the service from our staff. In Room Mate Hotels we pride ourselves in providing the best customer service in the industry. I will share this review with them so that they can see that their hard work is rewarded.

We offer quality products in the breakfast, and given our location, in the heart of Times Square, our price is unbeatable. We know how tiring this city can be, so in Room Mate Grace we want our guests to have a good breakfast in the morning so that they can start their day with lots of energy.

The steam room is currently under renovation, and it will reopen this weekend. The sauna has been working non-stop. During your stay, any member of our staff would have been happy to assist you with turning it on in case it was disconnected.

I hope to welcome you personally again soon.

Warmest regards,

Alvaro Diaz Martos
Assistant Hotel Director
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    825
    236
    102
    76
See reviews for
239
922
122
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Alvaro, the manager (or something) was so nice and really listened to our small wishes! Some solution he promised was not hold and for that he gave us free drinks! The room was nice and the stuff very helpfull. The hotel lies so close to Times Square so if you like musicals like me and my wife this hotel is more than perfect!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AlvaroDiazMartos, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Patrick and Christina.

Thank you for taking your time to write such a beautiful review about your stay with us!

It was a pleasure meeting you both and I really enjoyed helping you out with everything I could.

I look forward to welcoming you soon in any of our Room Mate Hotels around the world.

Hope you had a safe trip back home.

Warmest regards,

Alvaro Diaz Martos
Assistant Hotel Director
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I have stayed here on two occasions for business. In terms of location, this hotel is fantastic!! It is centrally located just a few steps away from Times Square. The reception staff were very friendly and professional. The room I had was small, the bed was extremely comfortable and I believe the windows must have been double glazed as I did not hear any noise from the street (I was on the third floor). A couple of downsides: The cleaning could be improved, lighting in general throughout the hotel could be improved (hallways, elevators etc) and turn down the AC in the lobby...apart from that Room Mate Grace is a hotel I would return to for location and convenience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvaroDiazMartos, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you so much for taking your time to write such candid review about your experience at Room Mate Grace.

I love to see these reviews and share them with my staff, since we learn so much from our mistakes and can improve our service day by day.

I already addressed this review with my Housekeeping Manager in order to keep a closer eye when inspecting the rooms. Trust me, there is nothing I dislike more than comments about our cleanliness.
When you speak about the lights in the hotel, I understand your concerns, but the hotel was designed to have a relaxed atmosphere, hence the dim lights. It is part of our concept.

Regarding the temperature in the lobby, because it is summertime, it is set at a level where most people feel comfortable.

I would like to see you soon in our hotel, so please feel free to email me personally at a.diaz@room-matehotels.com when planning your next visit. I will be delighted to help you in anything you may need.

Warmest Regards,

Alvaro Diaz Martos
Assistant Hotel Director
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Standard room small but adequate. We just slept in room after a tiring day.
Requested a room on a higher floor away from the elevator which we were allocated. Floor 14, comfortable bed, very quite, room clean, good shower, iron and small ironing board which was handy. One chair and small table but you can sit on ledge alongside bed and window.

Shower and toilet together but used to this back home.

Bed in corner of room next to wall, partner had to clamber over me to get out of the bed during the night to use the bathroom.

Staff always welcoming and helpful. Particularly Luis.

Excellent location.

Swimming pool - not sure how much this was used. When used later at night the pool was hidden and there seemed to be a member of staff supervising. I liked the smell of chlorine when waiting for the lift.

Did not have breakfast in hotel but good deli's nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvaroDiazMartos, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review about your stay at Room Mate Grace.

I loved reading your review, it helps us to keep going with motivation and enthusiasm. I will share all these comments with my staff so they can be rewarded as well. They all try their best so our guests leave our premises really satisfied.

I look forward to welcoming you personally soon in any Room Mate Hotel around the world.

Best,

Alvaro Diaz Martos
Assistant Hotel Director
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Checked into this hotel last minute as we had a problem with our flight. I'll first start off by saying that we travel to NYC 2-4 times a year for pleasure and we LOVE staying at the Distrikt hotel, Muse hotel and a couple of the Affinia hotels. Unfortunately, they were all booked. Our room was $600 which is far more than what we have paid at any of the above mentioned hotels. The hotel is in DIRE need of an upfit. The vibe is hip and cool but the floors are dirty, walls are dirty, paint chipping, mildew in bathrooms and a foreign substance that we don't even want to guess about on the painted wall/headboard above our heads. There was hair in our bathroom and plenty of it that did not belong to us. Our room would not cool properly. We also were on an upper floor and could still hear every single sound in the street. The kicker.. we had no hot water. None. Zilch. When we called the front desk we were told that they were sorry.. but there was nothing that they could do. Our immediate response was "really? No hot water at all?". The front desk lady responded "yeah, I just found out myself.. sorry 'bout that". We were surprised by her unsympathetic nature and even more surprised that she didn't seem to really care. On a GOOD note... the men who checked us in and out were very pleasant (I unfortunately do not remember their names). Had we paid 1/3rd of the price we would have still been disappointed... please save your money. There are far better and MUCH more affordable AND luxurious hotels for Half the price in close proximity.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvaroDiazMartos, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Mary,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking your personal time to write such a candid review about your stay with us.

As you mentioned, the night of August 5th the city was completely sold out and the demand for rooms was extraordinary high, so prices went up accordingly.

I feel terribly discouraged to read this review because in Room Mate Grace we pride ourselves in giving great service to our customers, trying to make them feel comfortable at all times, in a clean and cool environment.

I am in the process of addressing all the concerns that you mentioned regarding cleanliness and the type of response you received from our agent.

As you pointed out, the situation of the hot water was a random event that we had no control over. However, we worked aggresively to resolve the problem throughout the entire morning. Finally at 1pm the problem was solved.

I wish I had the opportunity to speak with you directly about all your concerns before you checked out from our hotel. I would have been able to do anything I could in order to make your stay more comfortable.

Please feel free to contact me directly at a.diaz@room-matehotels.com

Hope you had a safe trip back home.

Sincerely,

Alvaro Diaz Martos
Assistant Hotel Director
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed for three nights for our anniversary at the end of July. The location of the hotel is near everything. The room was small and average. Nice shower and large counter in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable. The hotel used to have a complimentary continental breakfast. We were told that there was a cost for the "buffet" breakfast which consisted of scrambled eggs, sausage and Kraft cheese slices and sticky buns. There wasn't even coffee in the lobby or in our room. Did not use the pool area. Probably wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms don't have noise from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvaroDiazMartos, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you so much for taking your personal time to write a review about your stay with us.

I am glad to see that you liked most of our amenities and found the rooms comfortable and clean.

As you mentioned, some years ago the hotel offered complimentary breakfast. That breakfast consisted of basic items such as bagels and coffee. To offer a better service to our guests, we decided to upgrade the breakfast with scrambled eggs, sausages, waffles, fruits, etc. The cost of the breakfast is the lowest in any hotel in the area and our guests really value it. I am so sorry to hear that it was not to your standard.

I would like you to give us another chance, so we can really give you the real "Room Mate" experience. Please feel free to contact me personally at a.diaz@room-matehotels.com

Sincerely,

Alvaro Diaz Martos
Assistant Hotel Director
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is very typical way to say when the hotel is not a perfect one. The common use of ״boutique hotel" is unfortunately like saying that the hotel is unique but far away of being perfect. Most if the rooms are too small even for NY hotels. Maintenance is bad and furniture are basic. The lovely colors can't cover the basic failures.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Grace

Address: 125 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Family Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Grace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem in the heart of Times Square, Room Mate Grace is located nearby Bryant Park, Broadway, and Rockefeller Center. Room Mate Grace is the stylish solution for the savvy traveler who wishes to experience the sophistication and fun New York has to offer. Room Mate Grace features a unique lobby and event space, complete with an indoor pool, sauna, and steam room. The 24 hour kiosk is stocked with everything from the most basic supplies to the most decadent treats. Stadium stairs lead to the mezzanine level, a haven for VIPs in the evening and early risers heading off to work who enjoy continental breakfast in style and comfort. The mezzanine doubles as meeting space for those looking to work creatively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Splendia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Room Mate Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York City
Hotel Qt New York
Qt Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.