We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our time at the Room Mate Grace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Grace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Grace to your Saves list
Room Mate Grace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #261 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our time at the Room Mate Grace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Standard room small but adequate. We just slept in room after a tiring day.
Requested a room on a higher floor away from the elevator which we were allocated. Floor 14, comfortable bed, very quite, room clean, good shower, iron and small ironing board which was handy. One chair and small table but you can sit on ledge alongside bed and window.

Shower and toilet together but used to this back home.

Bed in corner of room next to wall, partner had to clamber over me to get out of the bed during the night to use the bathroom.

Staff always welcoming and helpful. Particularly Luis.

Excellent location.

Swimming pool - not sure how much this was used. When used later at night the pool was hidden and there seemed to be a member of staff supervising. I liked the smell of chlorine when waiting for the lift.

Did not have breakfast in hotel but good deli's nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvaroDiazMartos, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review about your stay at Room Mate Grace.

I loved reading your review, it helps us to keep going with motivation and enthusiasm. I will share all these comments with my staff so they can be rewarded as well. They all try their best so our guests leave our premises really satisfied.

I look forward to welcoming you personally soon in any Room Mate Hotel around the world.

Best,

Alvaro Diaz Martos
Assistant Hotel Director
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    836
    242
    103
    78
See reviews for
245
936
124
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Checked into this hotel last minute as we had a problem with our flight. I'll first start off by saying that we travel to NYC 2-4 times a year for pleasure and we LOVE staying at the Distrikt hotel, Muse hotel and a couple of the Affinia hotels. Unfortunately, they were all booked. Our room was $600 which is far more than what we have paid at any of the above mentioned hotels. The hotel is in DIRE need of an upfit. The vibe is hip and cool but the floors are dirty, walls are dirty, paint chipping, mildew in bathrooms and a foreign substance that we don't even want to guess about on the painted wall/headboard above our heads. There was hair in our bathroom and plenty of it that did not belong to us. Our room would not cool properly. We also were on an upper floor and could still hear every single sound in the street. The kicker.. we had no hot water. None. Zilch. When we called the front desk we were told that they were sorry.. but there was nothing that they could do. Our immediate response was "really? No hot water at all?". The front desk lady responded "yeah, I just found out myself.. sorry 'bout that". We were surprised by her unsympathetic nature and even more surprised that she didn't seem to really care. On a GOOD note... the men who checked us in and out were very pleasant (I unfortunately do not remember their names). Had we paid 1/3rd of the price we would have still been disappointed... please save your money. There are far better and MUCH more affordable AND luxurious hotels for Half the price in close proximity.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvaroDiazMartos, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Mary,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking your personal time to write such a candid review about your stay with us.

As you mentioned, the night of August 5th the city was completely sold out and the demand for rooms was extraordinary high, so prices went up accordingly.

I feel terribly discouraged to read this review because in Room Mate Grace we pride ourselves in giving great service to our customers, trying to make them feel comfortable at all times, in a clean and cool environment.

I am in the process of addressing all the concerns that you mentioned regarding cleanliness and the type of response you received from our agent.

As you pointed out, the situation of the hot water was a random event that we had no control over. However, we worked aggresively to resolve the problem throughout the entire morning. Finally at 1pm the problem was solved.

I wish I had the opportunity to speak with you directly about all your concerns before you checked out from our hotel. I would have been able to do anything I could in order to make your stay more comfortable.

Please feel free to contact me directly at a.diaz@room-matehotels.com

Hope you had a safe trip back home.

Sincerely,

Alvaro Diaz Martos
Assistant Hotel Director
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed for three nights for our anniversary at the end of July. The location of the hotel is near everything. The room was small and average. Nice shower and large counter in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable. The hotel used to have a complimentary continental breakfast. We were told that there was a cost for the "buffet" breakfast which consisted of scrambled eggs, sausage and Kraft cheese slices and sticky buns. There wasn't even coffee in the lobby or in our room. Did not use the pool area. Probably wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms don't have noise from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvaroDiazMartos, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you so much for taking your personal time to write a review about your stay with us.

I am glad to see that you liked most of our amenities and found the rooms comfortable and clean.

As you mentioned, some years ago the hotel offered complimentary breakfast. That breakfast consisted of basic items such as bagels and coffee. To offer a better service to our guests, we decided to upgrade the breakfast with scrambled eggs, sausages, waffles, fruits, etc. The cost of the breakfast is the lowest in any hotel in the area and our guests really value it. I am so sorry to hear that it was not to your standard.

I would like you to give us another chance, so we can really give you the real "Room Mate" experience. Please feel free to contact me personally at a.diaz@room-matehotels.com

Sincerely,

Alvaro Diaz Martos
Assistant Hotel Director
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is very typical way to say when the hotel is not a perfect one. The common use of ״boutique hotel" is unfortunately like saying that the hotel is unique but far away of being perfect. Most if the rooms are too small even for NY hotels. Maintenance is bad and furniture are basic. The lovely colors can't cover the basic failures.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here during my birthday. Me and my fiancee. Had a lovely time in NY and the hotel didn't let us down. A bit pricy. And given the time we spent there (hardly any) must make the hours there the most expensive ever for me. But it is a cool hotel. Although I didn't go swimming in the pool in the lobby.

Room Tip: Make sure you can have a window facing some kind of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

we had the family room with 2 bunk beds. kids loved it. service was very friendly, especially luis rivera did a great job for us.
pool was great after a day of shopping and sightseeing. when they saw our kids they brought a net and a ball while we had a drink at the bar.
all in all we had a great time and will come again!

Room Tip: Am besten nicht zum Innenhof, weil Air Condiition laut ist. Wenn nicht anders möglich, dann je höher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Perfect location, the beds are super comfortable. The pool and sauna area offers a great opportunity to relax after a day of walking non stop, or even a great start to a day in the city. We loved it so much the first time we visited New York that we couldn't picture our next stay anywhere else. Staff has always been really friendly and you feel relaxed just by entering and hearing that music, smelling the swimming pool. Love, love, love it. It could only be better if it had an open rooftop. Then it would be just perfect.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvaroDiazMartos, Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Anna.

Thank you so much for taking your time to write such an amazing review about your stay with us!

It was a pleasure welcoming you for the second time and I look forward to doing so a third one!

It is always so nice to see that our guests love the experience we try to give at Room Mate Grace. It is a reward to us and all the staff. I will share this great review with all the team, it will make them feel so happy.

Hope you had a safe trip back home.

Do not hesitate to contact me directly if you plan on going to another Room Mate Hotel!

Alvaro Diaz Martos
Assistant Hotel Director
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Grace

Address: 125 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#219 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#221 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Grace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem in the heart of Times Square, Room Mate Grace is located nearby Bryant Park, Broadway, and Rockefeller Center. Room Mate Grace is the stylish solution for the savvy traveler who wishes to experience the sophistication and fun New York has to offer. Room Mate Grace features a unique lobby and event space, complete with an indoor pool, sauna, and steam room. The 24 hour kiosk is stocked with everything from the most basic supplies to the most decadent treats. Stadium stairs lead to the mezzanine level, a haven for VIPs in the evening and early risers heading off to work who enjoy continental breakfast in style and comfort. The mezzanine doubles as meeting space for those looking to work creatively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Room Mate Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York City
Hotel Qt New York
Qt Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.