We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Grace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Grace to your Saves list
Room Mate Grace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #247 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Lucerne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

stayed 6 days in New York @ Room Mate Grace. Perfect location right next to the Times Square, but calm as well. Spacious rooms, and friendlz staff (thanks to Luis, Loida, Ehrie and Marcell)
Can definetlz recommend to go there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    814
    231
    101
    75
See reviews for
237
906
122
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My first trip to New York and was not sure if I would like it or not. Turned out to be a very enjoyable time. Booked the room through Expedia and the price was surprisingly low compared to other hotels in the area. Only a couple blocks from Times Square. The room was not very big but it was perfect for our one night stay. Unusual layout of the room had the bed all the way next to the window. There was a platform around the bed that you to use to get in and out if you were sleeping on the wall side. Should say now that our room was a standard one and do not know what other rooms looked like. The television was on the wall at the foot of the bed. There was no desk. There was one chair. The room had a safe, a small refrigerator, an iron and ironing board. The shower was fantastic with a shower head that had to be ten inches around. The room was very quite. We could hear no noise. For a short trip like ours this place was perfect. The front desk staff was very helpful answering any and all of our questions. Ehrie Rdregas Foster, Loida, Alba, and especially Luis Rivera took care of all our needs. Forgot to mention breakfast is available at small fee on site. The food was good and the variety adequate.

Room Tip: Ask to see the different size rooms available before checking in if you are a walk in customer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We loved the close proximity to Times Square and other attractions, especially for the price. The staff was friendly. The rooms were very small (we were upgraded to a deluxe at no charge, and we both commented that we wondered what a standard room would've been since the deluxe was as small as it was). It seemed very worn, as far as the paint, molding, carpet, etc. The linens were clean and new, but everything else was older and worn. For the price, and the fact that when in NYC we really just want a place to sleep, not to spen a lot of time in, it provided what we needed.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Maryland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed four nights in a quad room with our two children, 10 and 14. The rooms are small-- but we knew that-- and are unique and fun. The pool/sauna are great, recommend using during the day with kids since they often have adult events at night. The location is fabulous! I gave a low comfort rating to rooms because a few minor changes would make a huge difference. Please add some more hanging devices (bars, hooks, racks) in the room for towels, bags etc. Lots of empty wall space there....and we had to use the one lonely chair provided to us in the bathroom to put our clothing and towels on--there's nowhere to hang anything! Also how about 2 chairs on the bistro table instead of one--we did have 4 people after all. We did ask and they brought one more up, but that should be standard. We don't spend a lot of time in the room in NYC so we made it work, but it would have been less frustrating and more relaxing with a little more attention to comfort details. Wifi was also very sketchy at best in the room. Overall a good stay and would consider going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed one night in this hotel. I chose it because it was located right next to the venue of the conference I was attending. It is also perfect for Manhattan sightseeing and the theater district. So location-wise this is a winner.

The room, however, was a bit claustrophobic, especially the second bed overhanging the first one. Psychologically, it was a bit scary at first sleeping under it. You also need to be pretty careful not to bump your head on the top bed. Funny enough the bathroom area is relatively spacious by NY standards at the expense of the room space. For some people that is important. Personally, I would rather have a cramped bathroom than a cramped living space. For the price that I paid (around 200 bucks with taxes) it was fine, though, given this is NY. You won't find anything spacious in Manhattan in that price range. However, at the full price which was closer to 300 I think, I would look elsewhere.

The bed was very comfortable (once you can forget about the top bed:). I didn't have ay noise issues.

The toilet room door does not lock (some men like to fuss about this:) and the shower has a curtain and no door, in case this is important for you.

Wifi worked fine for emailing and browsing, I didn't try anything else.

There was no coffee machine in the room, but free water dispenser in the lobby was nice.

There is a pool and sauna, but I didn't use those.

The elevators were super-slow, so if you are not on the top flow, you might want to figure out where the stairs are right away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monsey, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel was better than expected for a NYC hotel. Was perfect for my anniversary.
Pool was clean, staff were so nice. I highly recommend this hotel for a romantic evening with your spouse. We would Come again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We will definitely stay again at this hotel when we are in NYC. Staff was so friendly and accommodating. Our trip was for my daughter's birthday and they made her feel so special. Luis, Alba, Jazmine and every other member of the staff could not have done a better job. Room layout was such that you felt the room was much larger than it actually was. Location was very convenient to multiple subway stations and Times Square. Did not use the pool but great feature especially for kids.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor which was very convenient so we could use the stairs instead of the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Grace

Address: 125 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#206 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#208 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Grace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem in the heart of Times Square, Room Mate Grace is located nearby Bryant Park, Broadway, and Rockefeller Center. Room Mate Grace is the stylish solution for the savvy traveler who wishes to experience the sophistication and fun New York has to offer. Room Mate Grace features a unique lobby and event space, complete with an indoor pool, sauna, and steam room. The 24 hour kiosk is stocked with everything from the most basic supplies to the most decadent treats. Stadium stairs lead to the mezzanine level, a haven for VIPs in the evening and early risers heading off to work who enjoy continental breakfast in style and comfort. The mezzanine doubles as meeting space for those looking to work creatively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Room Mate Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York City
Hotel Qt New York
Qt Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.