We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, super close to Times Square, great service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Grace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Room Mate Grace to your Saves list
Room Mate Grace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #254 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Palm Beach
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, super close to Times Square, great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in March with my sister & niece for four nights. We had just wanted basically somewhere to leave our shopping during the day, and a bed to crash in at night. Room Mate Grace didn't disappoint. The staff on reception were very helpful, the bed comfy & the hotel clean & tidy. It's very close to Times Square, just a short walk, & is surrounded by Irish pubs, restaurants & bars. It was great. I'd definitely stay here again. My only gripe was that the bar in the hotel wasn't open when we wanted drinks. But hey, it's NY! There's plenty of bars to visit :D

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    829
    240
    102
    77
See reviews for
241
930
124
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We chose the Room Mate Grace because of its location and the Trip Advisor reviewer comments for a five night stay. It is a pleasant hotel and is ideally located on 45th Street and a very short distance from Times Square. The desk staff was welcoming, friendly and helpful. The reception and foyer area were cramped and often busy. The bar, pool and night club area looked very modern and attractive but not our scene. Noise from the night club did not impact on our room. Our room however, was overall, a disappointing experience. The bed was over-firm and very uncomfortable. It was located across the width of the room up against the single external window. It was mounted on a room wide flat platform which projected out from the sides and foot of the bed so that the only way to get the far side of the bed was to climb over the bed or step up onto and walk on the platform around the foot of the bed being careful at the same time not to walk into the wall mounted TV located over the end of the bed. Not the ideal arrangement for people who might have some accessibility issues associated with age or who might need to go to the toilet during the night. The modern and clean shower and toilet were located at the end of the room away from the bed and a single glass sliding door served both the separated shower and toilet. An interesting concept in privacy! The open wardrobe was basic and small. Two uncomfortable plastic chairs and small table completed the Spartan furnishings in the room. The breakfast room was pleasant and the offerings were adequate for our needs and very competitively priced. There are a multitude of restaurants and eateries to suit all tastes and budgets close to the hotel. We enjoyed the Irish Pub next door on a number of occasions for lunch and dinner.
In summary the hotel was very modern, well presented, clean, good staff and perfectly located. Sadly, our room felt like a basically furnished shipping container. The bed comfort was poor and the bed design, location and layout needs re-thinking to meet the needs of all guests and not just those who are physically agile.

Room Tip: If you are not a gymnast or suffer from a weak bladder then ask what the bed layout is in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cestas, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Hôtel Room Mate Grace
We stayed in this pleasant hotel from June, 4th to June 13rd. It is ideally located in Manhattan in the 45th Street, at a short distance from Times Square. There are a lot of opportunities to eat at all prices not far. Warm welcome and friendly staff are to be pointed out. The bed was comfortable and the shower perfect. As in most other hotels, it is necessary to keep the room air conditioning system On all night. This place was very calm during the days of the week, even though the night club music rumble could be eared on Saturday and Sunday nights from our 3rd floor room. Breakfast (optional) was quite valuable. Unfortunately, we could not fully enjoy pool, sauna and steam during our 10-days stay because they broke down. But it must emphasized that the very understanding hotel direction fairly recognized this inconvenience in doing a commercial gesture.
We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors ar expectedto be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last year and he proposed to me in ny.. this hotel was perfectly located so we could walk to most things...the staff was great and the rooms were fabulous too! The view was not so great but we didn't spend much time in the room.. we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

For exploring NY this is a great place to stay. The location, just off Times Square, is fantastic and the staff are helpful.
Upon arrival we were told that our room had been upgraded and the room we were given was very nice with a huge bed. It is also useful to have a fridge in the room.
The shower room was super, with twin rainfall showers next to each other which was good fun.

The bar area was nice, although we did not have a drink there during our stay. There was an event on in the bar and pool area on our last night but we did not attend this although it looked fun. None of the party noise could be heard in our room.

The photos online exaggerate the swim-up bar - we had looked forward to trying this but the bar was not open when we used the pool. The pool is OK, although not really designed for swimming, and the steam rooms are good. There was no hot water in the pool area when we used it so the showers were not working there.

The robes that were supposed to be provided were not in the room when we arrived but were promptly given to us when we asked.

Overall, this is a well-priced and well-staffed hotel in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel this past weekend. We are actually from NYC, but we thought it would be nice to see a show and spend the night there without having to worry about taking the train or driving back home.

The location of this hotel is fantastic. It's right in the middle of Times Square so if you are a tourist, it's situated perfectly. It's within walking distance of bars, restaurants, Broadway, 1/2 a block from Times Square, a few blocks from Rockefeller Center and St. Patrick's Cathedral, a short distance from subways, etc...

The rooms are small, but practical. You can't expect large rooms in NYC. It's an older building and just a sliver of a building at that. It's situated mid-block so there aren't really any views from the rooms at all and it's easily missed if you aren't looking. The decor is modern and sleek and minimalist, but the rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was nice and there is a pool behind the front desk. For a small hotel, this is a rare treat.

Despite the comfort level of the beds and the location, my husband and I were not thrilled with out stay. We stayed on a Saturday night and after seeing a show and getting back to the hotel close to 1 am, we walked into the lobby to pounding music and people everywhere. We got to our room and the music was so loud that we could hear just about every word of the songs playing and might as well have gone downstairs. I found this deplorable and not comfortable and was SEVERELY upset. Imagine laying your head down to rest after a long, hot day to pretty much feel the pounding of the bass from the crappy music being played all the way up to your room?! I'm sorry, but THAT is not acceptable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Fully recommend it. Was trying to go to soho house but ended up here and the pool bar right on the ground floor was a great break in the big apple. Enjoy the drinks by the pool and the all round good service of the hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Grace

Address: 125 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#215 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Grace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem in the heart of Times Square, Room Mate Grace is located nearby Bryant Park, Broadway, and Rockefeller Center. Room Mate Grace is the stylish solution for the savvy traveler who wishes to experience the sophistication and fun New York has to offer. Room Mate Grace features a unique lobby and event space, complete with an indoor pool, sauna, and steam room. The 24 hour kiosk is stocked with everything from the most basic supplies to the most decadent treats. Stadium stairs lead to the mezzanine level, a haven for VIPs in the evening and early risers heading off to work who enjoy continental breakfast in style and comfort. The mezzanine doubles as meeting space for those looking to work creatively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Room Mate Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York City
Hotel Qt New York
Qt Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.