We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique hotel, next to Times Square.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Grace

Save Saved
You added Room Mate Grace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Grace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #228 of 451 hotels in New York City
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Boutique hotel, next to Times Square.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Decided on this hotel due to comments in Trip Advisor. Everything went on as expected. Check-in, check-out. No problems. We gor a room with double bunk beds. It was my wife, sister, kid son and me. Different arrangement from usual but due to novelty we liked it. Every bed has a private , but small LCD TV. But only 1 had remote control.

Room is small, but we were expecting it, so no deal breaker. Hot water in shower was abundant (we travelled in March, so it was great).

Hotel is very well located , being possible to go anywhere on foot if you please. Starbucks is right across the street and if you need to but anything theres is a Duane Reade and Walgreens very close.

If you have kids, Toys r Us is very close. Ride the Ferris wheel with your kids they'll love it.

Rates were reasonable considering it was NY and the location. Would definately return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    644
    740
    207
    89
    62
See reviews for
214
804
119
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saugus, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The room is very comfortable, clean and the location is great, right around the corner from Time Square, surrounded by nice restaurants, theaters and places to go. I would definitely stay there again. There is also an indoor pool, but it was closed the night I stayed there. The staff is very friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Ask for the shower pressure in your room first, mine was poor and the staff said they could have cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateHotels, General Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for you review on your most recent stay at the Room Mate Grace hotel. I know that are location is always key among our guests but I am extremely happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure to extend your kind review to our front desk team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Nelia Rodriguez
General Manager Room Mate Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Organized a large family get-together here for a fun weekend. The European style is very hip! The decor in the rooms is fun and colorful. It's a great price for Manhattan, and the pool is cute - I enjoyed it. The beds are incredibly comfortable - thick mattresses on platforms. Some of the larger rooms were very cute - with bunk beds. The Wi-Fi worked just fine. I was upgraded to a premium room because my room wasn't ready which was also a treat. Great for Spanish speakers! Staff and most guests speak Spanish. The breakfast wasn't so great, and also no hot water/coffee in the rooms. But right next door is a 24 hour 'mart so you'll be fine.

Unfortunately, something was wrong with the TVs - and we had a few rooms among us, so it was the same problem in every room. Some channels just didn't come in. Room Mate Grace, can you please fix the TVs? Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateHotels, General Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Room Mate loves to accommodate fun family weekend getaways. It was a true pleasure to see that you and your family enjoyed our lovely hotel and the amenities we have to offer.

Thank you for your review and your feedback. We look forward to hosting your family sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nelia Rodriguez
General Manager Room Mate Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We've stayed in Room Mate hotels previously (in Spain) so Room Mate Grace looked a good bet for a birthday celebration in New York. Some things were good - good size room, comfy bed, great location near Times Square and Bryant Park. Some things not so good - poor breakfast served with smell of chlorine from gimmicky in-bar swimming pool. But on the whole a decent mid-table performance, although I would definitely get a larger room on higher floor away from bar noise in evening.
However...our experiences on check out were very disappointing. We had booked on the hotel website and the confirmation said quite clearly "Total reservation amount will be charged on your credit card at the moment of booking and is non-refundable". So we were surprised to be presented with bill for the full amount on check out. We were told they had been a bit short staffed so hadn't been taking payments but, trust us, it'll be OK. That didn't inspire a lot of confidence so we wanted to check up online.
Now, two things Room Mate could do to improve our customer experience. One: if you're having issues with guests which require computer access ask them to come into the office & give them a coffee while you resolve. Don't continue arguing in front of other guests while attempting to feed the public access computer terminal with dollar bills. Two: never, ever, say "It's only money. We should all thank God we haven't got cancer". It happens that my wife's father had died of cancer two weeks previously, which obviously the staff member wasn't to know. But in any circumstances this was a breathtakingly crass and insensitive comment. Sad that our check out left a bad taste and coloured our whole impression of Room Mate Grace.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms are bigger and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateHotels, General Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am deeply sorry to hear that Room Mate Grace didn't live up to your expectations of your Room Mate Hotels experience. I appreciate your comments and feedback as it will help us improve many areas of our customer service.

Please feel free to contact me directly, I would love to discuss your stay further.

Sincerely,

Nelia Rodriguez
General Manager Room Mate Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and attempts to seduce with a gimmick - an impressive suspended indoor pool and sauna area that looks like a pool/nightclub. It overwhelmes the hotel's common parts and is great if you are 20 something in NY for a dirty weekend. The chlorine smell (think locker-room at a public pool) and damp that pervades the compact and dark common areas of the hotel and elevators all day every day was off putting to me. It all started to feel too much like a glorified youth hostel, a feeling that was further confirmed by the quirky but basic rooms (no closet and complete open concept including a doorless toilet). Frankly the room was tattered around the edges and I was concerned about cleanliness (though the dark chocolate carpet and crazy wall paper made it hard to determine either way). On the plus side the bed was very comfortable and the white linen clean. I paid over USD 250/night in midweek for my room. I expect a great deal more for the money, even in NYC, and will not be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateHotels, General Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am deeply sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your most recent stay with us. We value your feedback as it help us improve in many areas especially our customer service.

If you wish to discuss your stay further, please feel free to contact me at the hotel at anytime.

Sincerely,

Nelia Rodriguez
General Manager
Room Mate Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just back from a 4 night stay in Room Mate Grace. Hotel has a brilliant location, close and walking distance to everything. Literally 3 minute walk to time square (on exiting the hotel turn right and keep going straight) and close to rockerfeller centre. Loads of bars and restaurants around, irish bars right next door and a small supermarkert (quiet expensive though) Staff were very friendly and helpful, you can buy tickets for all the main attractions to avoid queues and bus tickets to the big shopping outlets where a bus is arranged to collect you and bring you back. ATM in the hotel which was really handy and safe to take out money and not having to bring lazer/credit cards out with you. The hotel its self is very basic, you get what you pay for. Cheap and cheerful, if your not fussy then this will suit you. Hotel has dim lighting and funky music when you enter. Rooms were very small, with fridge and safe which was good. After reading previous reviews about the toilets in the room i was quiet anxious as some where saying it was just a curtain separating the toilet to the room. In our room the shower was in the room and just has a shower curtain across it and the toilet had a slim wooden sliding door across it. As a girl, going with my boyfriend and brother this was not very ideal as you can imagine :L So for this reason i personally would not stay here again but if you request an enclosed toilet maybe the case may differ. The hotel bar is very expensive, one small cocktail was 14$ which i thought was a bit OTT. Overall we had a nice stay and had an amazing time in New York : )

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateHotels, General Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review on your most recent stay at the Room Mate Grace. We appreciate the feedback on your experience as it will be useful to our future guests.

I am glad you enjoyed the location, the staff, and the great city of New York. We look forward to having you again.

Sincerely,


Nelia Rodriguez
General Manager Room Mate Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Right in the middle of manhattan within close walking distance of Times Square, Central Park, Macy's and the Empire State Building. All other areas of New York accessible by foot or subway (I was apprehensive about using the subway but it was busy, safe and easy to use). The hotel itself is just off Times Square so can be a little noisy at night but the double glazed, twin windows shut out most of the noise. The hotel is modern and clean. The staff are extremely helpful. Transfers to JFK by bus are about $40 and $58 fixed price by can but for $70 the hotel will arrange a private car which is very nice. Great holiday. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateHotels, General Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on your stay at the Room Mate Grace. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, the staff and most importantly felt safe.

We look forward to having you again in near future.

Sincerely,

Nelia Rodriguez
General Manager Room Mate Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Room Mate Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Grace

Address: 125 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#198 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#207 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Grace 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem in the heart of Times Square, Room Mate Grace is located nearby Bryant Park, Broadway, and Rockefeller Center. Room Mate Grace is the stylish solution for the savvy traveler who wishes to experience the sophistication and fun New York has to offer. Room Mate Grace features a unique lobby and event space, complete with an indoor pool, sauna, and steam room. The 24 hour kiosk is stocked with everything from the most basic supplies to the most decadent treats. Stadium stairs lead to the mezzanine level, a haven for VIPs in the evening and early risers heading off to work who enjoy continental breakfast in style and comfort. The mezzanine doubles as meeting space for those looking to work creatively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Room Mate Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York City
Hotel Qt New York
Qt Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.