We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No thanks mate!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Room Mate Grace

Save Saved
You added Room Mate Grace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Room Mate Grace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   125 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #228 of 451 hotels in New York City
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“No thanks mate!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and attempts to seduce with a gimmick - an impressive suspended indoor pool and sauna area that looks like a pool/nightclub. It overwhelmes the hotel's common parts and is great if you are 20 something in NY for a dirty weekend. The chlorine smell (think locker-room at a public pool) and damp that pervades the compact and dark common areas of the hotel and elevators all day every day was off putting to me. It all started to feel too much like a glorified youth hostel, a feeling that was further confirmed by the quirky but basic rooms (no closet and complete open concept including a doorless toilet). Frankly the room was tattered around the edges and I was concerned about cleanliness (though the dark chocolate carpet and crazy wall paper made it hard to determine either way). On the plus side the bed was very comfortable and the white linen clean. I paid over USD 250/night in midweek for my room. I expect a great deal more for the money, even in NYC, and will not be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateHotels, General Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am deeply sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your most recent stay with us. We value your feedback as it help us improve in many areas especially our customer service.

If you wish to discuss your stay further, please feel free to contact me at the hotel at anytime.

Sincerely,

Nelia Rodriguez
General Manager
Room Mate Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    645
    741
    207
    89
    62
See reviews for
214
805
119
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just back from a 4 night stay in Room Mate Grace. Hotel has a brilliant location, close and walking distance to everything. Literally 3 minute walk to time square (on exiting the hotel turn right and keep going straight) and close to rockerfeller centre. Loads of bars and restaurants around, irish bars right next door and a small supermarkert (quiet expensive though) Staff were very friendly and helpful, you can buy tickets for all the main attractions to avoid queues and bus tickets to the big shopping outlets where a bus is arranged to collect you and bring you back. ATM in the hotel which was really handy and safe to take out money and not having to bring lazer/credit cards out with you. The hotel its self is very basic, you get what you pay for. Cheap and cheerful, if your not fussy then this will suit you. Hotel has dim lighting and funky music when you enter. Rooms were very small, with fridge and safe which was good. After reading previous reviews about the toilets in the room i was quiet anxious as some where saying it was just a curtain separating the toilet to the room. In our room the shower was in the room and just has a shower curtain across it and the toilet had a slim wooden sliding door across it. As a girl, going with my boyfriend and brother this was not very ideal as you can imagine :L So for this reason i personally would not stay here again but if you request an enclosed toilet maybe the case may differ. The hotel bar is very expensive, one small cocktail was 14$ which i thought was a bit OTT. Overall we had a nice stay and had an amazing time in New York : )

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateHotels, General Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review on your most recent stay at the Room Mate Grace. We appreciate the feedback on your experience as it will be useful to our future guests.

I am glad you enjoyed the location, the staff, and the great city of New York. We look forward to having you again.

Sincerely,


Nelia Rodriguez
General Manager Room Mate Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Right in the middle of manhattan within close walking distance of Times Square, Central Park, Macy's and the Empire State Building. All other areas of New York accessible by foot or subway (I was apprehensive about using the subway but it was busy, safe and easy to use). The hotel itself is just off Times Square so can be a little noisy at night but the double glazed, twin windows shut out most of the noise. The hotel is modern and clean. The staff are extremely helpful. Transfers to JFK by bus are about $40 and $58 fixed price by can but for $70 the hotel will arrange a private car which is very nice. Great holiday. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateHotels, General Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on your stay at the Room Mate Grace. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, the staff and most importantly felt safe.

We look forward to having you again in near future.

Sincerely,

Nelia Rodriguez
General Manager Room Mate Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I organised a surprise birthday weekend for my husband's 80th birthday, bringing to the hotel 4 children and their partners, 3 grandchildren. The hotel helped me on price; arranging early check-ins and organising a cocktail party. They were able to deal with our chopping and changing plans.

Rooms are small but best beds I've ever slept on in a hotel. Tiny gym (2 bikes, weights) but was adequate. Tiny swimming pool but good to have in mid- townNY.
all the staff very friendly. A Spanish chain.

Room Tip: Choose a high-floor room. Lots of noise from parties some nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateHotels, General Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review on your recent stay at the Room Mate Grace. I am very glad to hear that we were able to accommodate you and your guests on such a special occasion.

I will extend your gratitude to my entire team and we hope you come and celebrate your husband 81st birthday with us.

Sincerely,

Nelia Rodriguez
General Manager Room Mate Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Cape May, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Checked in they said my reservation was double booked. I think I paid twice for a crap room. View was a brick wall with construction. Asked for a bucket of ice and champagne glasses which never showed up. Went to look for ice asked front desk which floor they said 3,4,5,6 which none had ice let alone a machine. I finally ran into housekeeping and they said I dunno. REALLY ?! Horrible service and I'm being generous. TV and decor was VERY old! Not happy!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateHotels, General Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Room Mate Grace. We greatly appreciate them as they help us improve our customer service.

We deeply regret that your experience did not meet your expectations. We hope that you would give us a second chance at a first impression sometime in the future. If you wish to discuss your stay further, please feel free to contact me at the hotel at anytime.

Sincerely,

Nelia Rodriguez
General Manager Room Mate Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you look for a posh Hotel in Manatthan this is the place where you should go!
The hotel is 5 minutes walking from times square, during the weekend they organize party on the swimming pool and the bar is really cool.
Evey floor has a different style and the rooms are colorfull with new forniture
The staff is really friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateHotels, General Manager at Room Mate Grace, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel. Hope we can have you again soon.

Sincerely,

Nelia Rodriguez
General Manager Room Mate Grace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just returned from a great long weekend in NY.
Hotel is clean and the best location, just a minute walk from Time Square. All you need but basic.
There were 3 adults sharing (rm 805), not much space and bunk bed for third person!
You need to know each other well or it can be difficult, curtain across shower and sliding door on toilet, personally, a little bit too "open plan".
Room could do with kettle etc and somewhere to hang towel etc when in the shower.
We used room purely to sleep in as it was small and basic.
Good selection of places to eat and drink locally and all sights, shopping very accessible.
Irish pubs next door, very friendly and good atmosphere. Would avoid Juniors for breakfast as recommended by hotel. Look around and go a little further afield.
Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Think the concept and "modern" twist on Room mate Hotels is very good, just don't expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Room Mate Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Grace

Address: 125 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Theater District - Times Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#197 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Room Mate Grace 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem in the heart of Times Square, Room Mate Grace is located nearby Bryant Park, Broadway, and Rockefeller Center. Room Mate Grace is the stylish solution for the savvy traveler who wishes to experience the sophistication and fun New York has to offer. Room Mate Grace features a unique lobby and event space, complete with an indoor pool, sauna, and steam room. The 24 hour kiosk is stocked with everything from the most basic supplies to the most decadent treats. Stadium stairs lead to the mezzanine level, a haven for VIPs in the evening and early risers heading off to work who enjoy continental breakfast in style and comfort. The mezzanine doubles as meeting space for those looking to work creatively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Room Mate Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Grace Hotel New York City
Hotel Qt New York
Qt Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Room Mate Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.