We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daughter's Last Night before Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on Rivington

Save Saved
You added Hotel on Rivington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel on Rivington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #94 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Daughter's Last Night before Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

I booked this hotel to spend the night with my daughter before her wedding. Her older brother and his fiancee were on the 7th floor and we were on the 11th floor corner. The rooms were amazing, the staff was amazing and extremely accommodating. My daughter's wedding gown was delivered before we arrived. The general manager placed it in his office for safekeeping. Ditto with the flowers the next day. Everything the staff did was prompt and professional. When the limo arrived for our trip to the altar, we were notified and escorted. I couldn't have asked for a better group of professionals. I hope we have the opportunity to stay again. Especially on those mattresses!!! And the Chinese soaking tub was great for my daughter's nerves!!!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    240
    80
    49
    33
See reviews for
61
344
70
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Great design and décor, modern and sleek. Best are the floor to ceiling window walls and automatic curtains, with sweeping views (though the views are not particularly impressive for NYC), and the Tempurpedic beds, heaven if you don't mind the street noise.
I came to this hotel attracted by Marcel Wanders’ design of the restaurant, and the Thor restaurant and bar are indeed beautiful and "wanderesque". But this is no Mondrian hotel (the astonishing South Beach wonder by Wanders), not even -not remotely- close though it is way more expensive, this being NYC.
The Wanders design is limited to the first floor. The best is probably the feeling of living in a loft in the Lower East Side. The worst is the poor insulation from the constant street noise at night, the hotel being located in a hip busy nightlife area. The traffic jam, horns and screams from the crowd below kept me awake despite being in a suite in a high floor, overpriced and where the hotel wi-fi does not reach.
Loved the furniture and the sleek design, but won’t come back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel on Rivington and absolutely loved it. Staff is great and very helpful. Minibar is filled with the typical products, but with some fun products as well such as binoculars!
Best part of the room was the balcony with an incredible view over the city. With the big glass windows in the room, we wouldn't have needed the balcony anyway!
And have you ever taken a shower while watching people walking on the street? I haven't before I stayed here, and it was great!
Beds were very comfortable, haven't slept so good in a long time. Breakfast was good, really liked the bagels.
Overall, I recommend staying at the hotel on rivington for its great service and the view!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Stayed 4 nights. First, we love the lower east side, but realize it's not for everyone. The proximity to Soho, Orchard Street, and Chinatown are a plus, but the immediate neighborhood around the hotel is lively, arty, and never boring. The hotel staff was very helpful and welcoming. They knew where to find anything in the neighborhood with tips on bargaining. Loved our room, a corner king with balcony and floor to ceiling windows,even in the shower. Great views and plenty of room. We will definitely go back to THOR. Thanks everyone!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

I was unsure when I booked this hotel, I still am. We booked a corner king with balcony, we found it to be bleak to say the least, there is nothing in it, a bed, 2 chairs, coffee table, stool, lamp. There is no decoration, at all. For storage there was a wardrobe with hanging space and nothing else. No desk, no drawers, no shelves, no suitcase storage. In the bathroom, hardly any space round the sink, we were here for a week and could not stay here. We upgraded to a suite at a cost of $80 a night. This was better as there were two wardrobes one with shelves, the living area was a reasonable size, bathroom the same small size, bedroom so small there was barely room to walk round, at my side about 12 inches.

The views however are great, you do get a lot of flat roof, but from the suite, windows were North and west facing so we could see the Empire State building and Chrysler building, even from the loo! The views are what people go here for.

There were some really odd ideas though, There were no bedside lamps, no bedside tables, the bathroom cut the suite in half, tucked in a corner you could have had a magnificent space. There are floor to ceiling windows, but most are frosted, below the waist, so sitting down you can't see out! The curtains are so long that they have had to take a portion of the bedroom to hide the drawn curtain behind, about 8 inches along one wall. The yellow bathrooms are hideous, and the glass tiles in the shower floor get very slippy. There is no magnifying make-up mirror and no mirror at the desk to use as a dressing table. The wardrobes are in the small corridor between the bedroom and living area , they don't open flat, so to unpack I had to put the suitcase on the sofa and constantly open and shut the wardrobe doors to get back and forth, if I was trying anything on my husband had to stay put, he couldn't get past. The full length mirror was the most unflattering I have ever experienced.

Mini bar hideously expensive, the worst I've come across. Apparently all prices in bar and mini-bar have been recently increased. Two vodka and tonics at the bar $24, plus tax and tip. The restaurant dinner we had was standard American fare, nice, nothing special, it has changed recently it is Levant east not Thor now. Room service was fine except for a very overcooked bit of Salmon. Breakfast is very basic, but well worth getting up for, no OJ, just tea coffee, cereals, fruit and bread.

Nightclub is obviously not hip any more, we found it staid and we are in our forties, it was a deathly experience.

The area is good for bars and restaurants, but the streets are in a dreadful state in the area, not dangerous just broken and grubby, we much prefer, Greenwich. Soho, nolita and the west village.

I feel I've criticised too much, the views are great, staff are great, food is fine. beds very comfortable, linens and fabrics are lush. It just needs something more.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
333 helpful votes 333 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

the room was a little run down this visit but I love the hotel, location, and wrap-around views

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

The service was fantastic. The view is breathtaking from the clean and beautifully decorated rooms . The staff was courtious and helpful when ever they were called upon. i certainly would recommend this hotel to any of my friends or business partners.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel on Rivington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Rivington

Address: 107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
#64 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#76 Family Hotel in New York City
#93 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Rivington 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of the Lower East Side, Hotel on Rivington offers 108 guest rooms and suites. Constructed of floor-to-ceiling glass, most rooms feature 180 degree city views overlooking Midtown Manhattan, the World Trade Center, Brooklyn, Queens and the Williamsburg and Manhattan Bridges. Centrally located in downtown NYC, Hotel on Rivington is walking distance to landmark neighborhoods such as SoHo, Tribeca, Little Italy, Chinatown, the Bowery and the East Village. All guest rooms feature Tempur-Pedic beds, Frette linens, feather duvets and Italian bath amenities by Davines. Guests can select a variety of room features and amenities such as balconies, steam showers and/or Japanese inspired deep-soaking tubs. iPod/iHome stereos, HD televisions, electronic programmable safes and complimentary WiFi are all standard features in the guest rooms. Hotel on Rivington's main restaurant is called CO-OP Food & Drink - a modern American brasserie. Also located in the hotel is - Viktor & Spoils - a nightclub that features live DJ performances on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. Additionally, Hotel on Rivington is home to Juice Press. Juice Press serves organic and cold-pressed juices and raw foods catering to Vegetarian and Vegan guests located on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TIG Global, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel on Rivington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Rivington Hotel
Hotel Rivington
Rivington Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel on Rivington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.