We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rivington Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on Rivington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel on Rivington to your Saves list
Hotel on Rivington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 456 Hotels in New York City
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Rivington Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Took a taxi to the hotel. Would not have found it on own own. There was no hotel sign out side the hotel, just the address. Very Chic hotel. Check was quick and easy, front desk clerks were very friendly and gave us direction and how to catch a taxi to our destination. Room was a suite, but a little small. The bathroom had a marvelous sunken tub. The bathroom floor and the shower floor was all slate tile, which i didn't really like, but the shower head with the water pressure felt very good. The bed was at a lower hight than most beds, but was still pretty comfortable. Over all it was a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Hi Wil W! Thanks for the review here on TripAdvisor! We love getting feedback from our guests (especially TripAdvisor's Senior Contributors!) and are very glad to hear you enjoyed yourself here at Hotel on Rivington. It sounds like you had one of our High King Tub rooms (our Studio Suites are a bit larger but do not offer the deep-soaking tub). Our beds are Tempur-Pedic and we LOVE them, glad you did too!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    245
    80
    49
    34
See reviews for
63
353
71
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

As regulars in Soho we decided to branch out to the LES for a small theater festival. We were curious if such a slick looking hotel could deliver comfort and it was fantastic. A beautiful mix of hip slick and cool packaged with comfy mattresses, ample bathrooms and pleasant staff. Next trip I would prefer a higher room to enjoy those manhatten views!!

Ann Blackwell
The South

Room Tip: IT is New York and there is street noise. High as possible for view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Hi Annwell! We are so happy to have welcomed you to the Lower East Side! This neighborhood is always hosting theatre, fashion and arts events of all kinds, and we love to stay involved. So glad you had a comfortable and pleasant stay. Next time consider one of our Corner King Balcony or Corner King Tub rooms for optimal city views!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We spoke to the staff at the Hotel on Rivington before booking to tell them it was our 10th wedding anniversary and that we wanted to book there purely because of the rooftop bar so that we could celebrate with champagne on the rooftop looking out over Manhatten at the night skyline - we wanted to make sure we could do this - possibily even dine up there and was told that would all be okay. The rooftop bar had apparently been closed down prior to our even booking with them and was only available for private functions and we were only informed of this the evening before our anniversary when we checked on the arrangements for our anniversary celebration. They knew full well why we had chosen them as our location because we had discussed it over the phone with them directly prior to booking - photos of the rooftop bar were still on their website - why then had they misled us into believing we could dine and use the bar up there ? Had we known in advance we may not have booked to stay here but if we had at least we would have been able to make other plans in advance for our anniversary celebration - instead we felt very let down and it did put a damper on our very long awaited NYC visit and indeed on our anniversary. When I explained this to the reception desk manager he stated that none of his staff would ever have said this, that their website clearly showed the rooftop was an events space and that we must be very much mistaken. To which I pointed out that I had screen shots from both Expedia AND their own website when we made the original booking which clearly showed the roof top bar being available to hotel guests and the general public - again the desk manager was adamant that his staff could not do anything wrong that he was not responsible for Expedia nor their own website for not having been updated properly. I then also added that I had called from my work which recorded all calls (meaning I could prove their staff deliberately misled us) and would happily access the phone record should I so need for my solicitor - it is amazing how quickly the desk managers' attitude changed upon the mention of evidence and a solicitor ! From very obnoxious to only slighly so ... we received a VERY begrudged apology! We were approached by 2 different members of staff during our stay afterwards to say that this was pretty common about misleading tourists just to get bookings and were also told by staff at a nearby bar that many customers from the Hotel on Rivington complained about being misled by their staff prior to booking too ...... Also, when we arrived in our room, we were very surprised to find that our shower was right in a full length clear glass window - on show for all the world to see ... I know we were on the 17th floor however there was a man on a rooftop smoking a cigarette less than a 100ft from the window - would you want to shower on full show to NYC or any perve with a pair of binoculars ? Me neither - the desk staff laughed when I asked for them to provide something to cover the window. Believe me - the only thing you will get from this hotel is a decent view if you pay to get on a higher floor - otherwise the service is seriously limited, it is nowhere near as good in person as the touched up photos suggest and the sushi bar is never open! My advice - downtown Manhatten is a fabulous place to be with great bars and places to eat - an awesome vibe everywhere you go ... just don't bother staying here !

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Rae-o-Sunshine,

We are sad to hear that your experience at Hotel on Rivington was not a positive one, especially over such a significant milestone event. I want the opportunity to sincerely reply to your review to clear up any misunderstanding you or any future guests may have regarding our hotel.
Hotel on Rivington is celebrating our 10th year anniversary this October 2014. In the majority of those 10 years, the Penthouse was one of the most lavish premium guest suites in New York City. It was about 4 years ago that Hotel on Rivington fully transitioned the Penthouse from a sleeping room into a private event space. At no time was our rooftop a public space or a public bar, restaurant or lounge in the history of the building. Our website has 5+ pages dedicated to the Penthouse and Rooftop space complete with floor plans, images and content that explain the number of uses the Penthouse can serve from wedding receptions, photo shoots, corporate events and the like. Floor plans and seating capacity charts are all included.

Taking a closer look at Expedia where you secured your room reservation, there is no content or verbiage that indicate the Penthouse is a public rooftop bar, restaurant or lounge. To state that our own staff suggested that we have one is simply not possible.
Please note that if staff members were indeed offering incorrect information, there would be similar reviews and complaints such as yours posted in these public forums in the course of the 10 years that we have been open.

Is it possible that perhaps you confused Hotel on Rivington with another property? There are several hotels in the downtown NYC market that offer rooftop restaurants and bars. Some in our immediate vicinity. Any screen caps or websites that you can provide that speak to the contrary is greatly appreciated. You can email them to our General Manager by sending them to: gm@hotelonrivington.com

In regards to your in-room experience, Hotel on Rivington is well known for its exterior glass construction allowing for sweeping city views from every angle, even in the majority of our bathrooms. It is worth noting that all exterior facing showers do offer strategically placed frosted glass and when combined with the steam, offer ample privacy. Additional privacy screens are available on request for anyone that desires additional coverage.

If there is anything that you would like to discuss in more detail, we are happy to set some time aside and review your experience in more detail. Simply email me at aperabo@hotelonrivington.com and I will be happy to arrange a time to meet with our executive office.

Thank you and best to you and yours,

Adam Perabo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We spent 4 days at The Rivington last week and had a fabulous time! I waited until the last minute (the night before) to make a reservation and Kristin was extremely helpful, and beat the rate I was looking at on line. When we checked in Adam helped us get tickets for an upcoming Yankee game. Lester, at the front door, always had a smile. The hotel upgraded our room to a great view from the 14th floor and provided us with a breakfast voucher for the restaurant next door. They have a complimentary wine, coffee or tea service every day and bring warm cookies directly to your room! The rooms are clean, good sized and comfortable. The lower East side is much cooler than mid town. The bars, restaurants, Katz's deli, Russ and Daughters, etc. are all within walking distance. Subways are a couple of blocks away. They play reggae in the elevators. All in all a fun time and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Hi Joe D! Thank you so much for taking the time to send us a shout out here on TripAdvisor! We loved your 5 Circle Review. So glad you and your's enjoyed the views and comforts of life here on Rivington Street. :)

From Kristin, Lester and all of us here at Hotel on Rivington, we look forward to welcoming you back, we'll be Reggae dancing in the elevators til you return!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Best of the hoppin' Lower East Side out the door, fabulous views of Manhattan in your face via our room's expansive floor-to-ceiling windows. Unforgettable experience having city at our feet as we woke in the AM and reluctantly closed our eyes at night (tho we slept really well on very comfortable bed.) All of the staff, but perhaps particularly Josh and Chris, were very helpful, and the Breakfast Package was a great value. And … we fell in love with Rivington St.

Room Tip: I believe higher floor rooms have those extraordinary window-walls and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hi JWonQ! Thank you so much for your excellent 5 Circle Review! The Lower East Side is "hoppin" because of awesome guests like you. The neighborhood is full of fun, vibrant culture and is always changing and evolving as any cutting edge 'hood should. :) Our Tempur-Pedic mattresses are one of our top amenities, after all you have to get a good night's sleep if you are going to tackle NYC day-in and day-out.

We just fell in love with YOU! Looking forward to welcoming you back to the LES anytime.

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Nice view. Right location to walk to south Manhattan, Soho, Nolita, etc... or to the Village and other places. People you meet there are smiling. Cool area around to buy the sneakers your kids - or you - are craving for and to have a cooool beer in the evening.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hi Zeetoon! Great 5 Circle Review! You nailed the neighborhood: great sneaker shops (and other specialty boutiques) and the coldest beers in NYC! We sure are "smiling" to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to host you and your family again in the future.

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We always go back to the Hotel on Rivington. You know why? It's in a vibrant area full with little local designers (yes, the big brands are nearby as well) cafés, you're just a hop away from Brooklyn, the next hot spot, plus you can do everything by walking. Plus the hotel has large from the ceiling to the floor windows. So, daylight, here we come.
This time we stayed there for four nights and our room was on the 18th floor and provided a 180 degree view (or almost 270 degree) over from the southwestern to the northwestern part of Manhatten with all its fantastic buildings. What I love as well (think it's a European thing), that you can open the windows. Of course not fully, but only to let a bit of fresh air in is fore me a luxury already itself.
The steam bathroom (of course in typically Hotel on Rivington-black mosaic) is huge providing three showers and if you wanted to do a steam bath.
The bed is just a dream to sleep in. I believe they use the Tempur mattress (the ones which soften up and embrace your spine once you lie on it), like I have at home and this of course provided me great nights sleeps like a baby.
I love as well the generous hair & body products they are providing and they come in nice and handy to use while taking a shower.
The room had as well two comfy sofas; you can work comfortably, while your partner can have a jet-lag afternoon nap.
The staff is very friendly including very professional, efficient and lovely room maids. This is very important to me, to see if the room maids are nice, as this can tell you a lot how the hotel is being managed. What has impressed me as well a lot was: one morning while standing in the huge black mosaic stone shower, I noticed, that one mosaic stone was missing. In the afternoon when we got back for a quick nap, I saw that it has been filled up. Wow, I can only say. Think, that this tells you as well a lot.
On the 2nd floor (the reception is as well located there), you can hang out in the well-lit (due to large windows facing Rivington St) quiet lounge, where you can a) read a book, b) work, c) play pool and/or d) day dream and watching the ongoings on the street along with a little complimentary help-yourself bar (starting as of 5 p.m. only).
If you want to go shopping (or window shopping) big style: in approx. 7-10 min. you find yourself in the midst of all those great brands in Soho.
What about Wi-Fi? They provide you with free and easy access to their wireless network and that was it. Just perfect. No matter how many devices you carry on you.
My next trip to New York will be soon again on my radar and I definitely will be staying again at the Hotel on Rivington.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Elle K! Wow, what a great review. We are blushing! So so so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself here on Rivington Street with us. It sounds like you reserved one of our Unique King rooms which offer outstanding views and very unique bathrooms. I will definitely pass on your kind words to our Housekeeping staff, Engineering staff and Front Office. It makes a huge impact to our daily routine to hear such appreciative remarks. :)
One thing; our Lobby Lounge "Happy Hour" goes from Noon to 6pm and offers complimentary coffee, tea, water, fruit and wine!

Thank you again, Elle!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel on Rivington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Rivington

Address: 107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#80 Family Hotel in New York City
#81 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Rivington 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of the Lower East Side, Hotel on Rivington offers 108 guest rooms and suites. Constructed of floor-to-ceiling glass, most rooms feature 180 degree city views overlooking Midtown Manhattan, the World Trade Center, Brooklyn, Queens and the Williamsburg and Manhattan Bridges. Centrally located in downtown NYC, Hotel on Rivington is walking distance to landmark neighborhoods such as SoHo, Tribeca, Little Italy, Chinatown, the Bowery and the East Village. All guest rooms feature Tempur-Pedic beds, Frette linens, feather duvets and Italian bath amenities by Davines. Guests can select a variety of room features and amenities such as balconies, steam showers and/or Japanese inspired deep-soaking tubs. iPod/iHome stereos, HD televisions, electronic programmable safes and complimentary WiFi are all standard features in the guest rooms. Hotel on Rivington's main restaurant is called CO-OP Food & Drink - a modern American brasserie. Also located in the hotel is - Viktor & Spoils - a nightclub that features live DJ performances on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. Additionally, Hotel on Rivington is home to Juice Press. Juice Press serves organic and cold-pressed juices and raw foods catering to Vegetarian and Vegan guests located on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TIG Global, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel on Rivington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Rivington Hotel
Hotel Rivington
Rivington Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel on Rivington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.