We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good views, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on Rivington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel on Rivington to your Saves list
Hotel on Rivington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IT'S SUMMER BREAK
Ranked #68 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good views, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were lucky enough to be given a room on the 18th floor, this meant it was relatively quiet in comparison to some of the other comments I've seen here. The staff were very helpful, offering us free cocktail vouchers to compensate for the lost baggage and making up a little toiletries package for us. The beds were the most comfortable beds I've ever been in. The room was spacious, we were in a corner king high floor. The sunrise over Alphabet City was awesome! The location of the hotel is great for bars, shops and easily accessible to Brooklyn via the Subway. There are some great little walking routes on the website which you can do. We ordered breakfast in the room on my Birthday morning, and it was 15 minutes late, so they offered it me for free! Great service. A bonus for my Birthday! The mini bar is brilliant and well stocked, although we didn't actually utilise it, but it was a novelty to look through! The only thing I do wish they had is tea/coffee making facilities in the room. I would definitely consider returning, I loved my stay there.

Room Tip: High Floor Corner King.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hi ManchesterSamanthaJ! Thank you so much for your amazing review here on TripAdvisor and...HAPPY BIRTHDAY! So happy that we were able to make your birthday that much more special. Sunrise from bed, high above the clouds is pretty cool, eh?

We look forward to rolling out the red carpet for you anytime!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    286
    92
    50
    35
See reviews for
77
427
78
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

On arrival on a very foggy day first impressions at the entrance and surroundings were frankly disappointing, you enter through the insides of a giants tooth into a very dark boutique "designer" hotel.

after checking in and investigating the room, we thought we had got on the wrong flight and were in Amsterdam, vibrating love eggs, massage oil, condoms and an A4 menu of sex toys greeted us in the mini bar, no tea and coffee in the room, which at our age I would have preferred hahaha (it is supplied free in the common rooms along with wines, just means a walk to get it).

The rooms have good views (not great) due to the average height of the lower east side, the area is bustling and has a very cosmopolitan / european feel, plenty of eating places on offer, lots of bars, the down sides being its also very loud into the wee small hours, we did ask to be moved higher up for better views (and also to escape the noise we could still hear on the 10th floor) which was promised for us on the secon day onwards, but sadly it never happened, possibly the most disappointing for us personally, should need to constantly ask and remind reception room changes offered.

This aside it still made for a great trip, we never ate in house so cannot comment (was a high price, small portion bistro bar) on food, rest of the furnishings and surroundings once used to the dark were pleasant, the showers are great once you get past you realise people in the lounge and neighbouring buildings can wave at you (us English take a while to get used to things like that).

The real gems in this hotel have to be the doormen, they were friendly, efficient and really nice guys, we missed the lad who we had dealt with the most on our last day so were unable to thank him personally, but all of the doormen were the best I have ever stayed with.

The start of this review sounds like its going to be poor, but they really are the most negative things i could think of in the 4 days we were there, so trifling issues really, I would recommend it, I would stay there again, couldn't help but feel it was more suited to the under 30's but thats my opinion and probably not the hotel's intention.

One last comment on the beds, very low, very wide and what feels to be made of lead when you first 'touchdown' seconds later you start to sink into the previously rock hard mattress and gave me what can only be described as a sleep revelation, best bed ever, anywhere! Ended up ordering one when i got home.

Room Tip: Higher up is better if you want to sleep, sadly a new build nearby has robbed sone of the build look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hi Ptholt! Thank you so much for your review here on TripAdvisor. We loved reading your feedback (it is a great tool for us to make upgrades and keep our guests happy, satisfied and comfortable. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words about our doormen. They ARE the best!

Hope you are enjoying that Tempur-Pedic mattress, but come back and visit us anytime!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel was in the perfect location for us (we love the Lower East Side), had an amazing room, was great value and had all the facilities we wanted. Also, room service and Co-op are fantastic value.

As long as you are happy to be in the LES you'd be a fool to stay anywhere else and that includes hotels like The Standard (where we stayed a couple of years ago which we enjoyed as much but paid about 3 times the amount for).

All round a fantastic place, we can't wait to return!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hi Simon M! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Hotel on Rivington. Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a "shout out" here on TripAdvisor. It means a great deal to us that you shared your experience, and coming from a Senior Contributor at that!

We hope to welcome you back to the Lower East Side again!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I really enjoyed staying at the on Rivington Hotel mostly because of the excellent service they had there. I appreciate the intimate welcoming at the door and joking around with the door guy Lester. It made me feel cozy right away. Also I loved that we got cookies every evening. The people treated you with a lot of respect there and made my stay extremely funny and great. Thanks a lot!

Room Tip: You should take a room with view to the upper manhattan it's just amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Hi 193sophie! Thank you so much for your lovely 5 Circle Review here on TripAdvisor. First impressions are very important and our doorman Lester is always quick with a joke and a soft, welcoming smile. Our staff is committed to making sure every guest is treated to A+ service and a unique, comfortable visit.

We hope to host you again here on Rivington Street!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Arrived late in evening into cave like nightclubby entrance, odour in lift, shabby reception and up to my 16th floor room that was very poorly lit! That said at dawn my 16th floor corner suite transformed into a very pleasant environment indeed. Although cramped, the floor to ceiling windows and spectacular views left me in no doubt as to my location. Comfortable beds, great bedlinen, very quiet, free wifi, helpful staff. If only the reception areas were sharper and fresher.Great value

Room Tip: Cant imagine how small the standard non corner suites are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Hi Nick W! Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. We love to hear from Senior Contributors, your review is a valuable tool for us to improve. Glad to hear we redeemed ourselves in the morning and great to hear that you'd return and stay with us again. :) May I suggest a Unique Suite on your next visit as they are larger than the standard suites and offer some of the best views in the city.

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We are just back from a trip to NYC where we stayed at The Hotel on Rivington for the sixth time! I guess that says it all about the hotel. There are many reasons that we stay at the hotel; its location (it's in the Lower East Side and walkable to Soho, TriBeCa, even Williamsburg), its staff (all super friendly and helpful) and its rooms (clean and spacious).

We're looking forward to visit number seven soon!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Hi Keith M! We absolutely love hosting you at Hotel on Rivington! You have been a loyal guest for a long time and we really appreciate you sharing your words here on TripAdvisor with a 5 Circle Review.

We'll hope for a chance at Seven for Seven!!!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

There's no better view of New York than one of the "unique" rooms. Great service, helpful recommendations, wonderful housekeeping and great front door service. Thoroughly recommended and a great location!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Oh RichardTim! You are spoiling us with your kind words. Thank you for the short and sweet 5 Circle Review here on TripAdvisor! I'll be sure to pass on your experience to our staff. :)

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rivington Street anytime.

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
SIXTY LES
SIXTY LES
#128 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#157 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Nolita
The Nolitan Hotel
The Nolitan Hotel
#65 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#162 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#136 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#69 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on Rivington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Rivington

Address: 107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in New York City
#54 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#65 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#122 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Rivington 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of the Lower East Side, Hotel on Rivington offers 108 guest rooms and suites. Constructed of floor-to-ceiling glass, most rooms feature 180 degree city views overlooking Midtown Manhattan, the World Trade Center, Brooklyn, Queens and the Williamsburg and Manhattan Bridges. Centrally located in downtown NYC, Hotel on Rivington is walking distance to landmark neighborhoods such as SoHo, Tribeca, Little Italy, Chinatown, the Bowery and the East Village. All guest rooms feature Tempur-Pedic beds, Frette linens, feather duvets and Italian bath amenities by Davines. Guests can select a variety of room features and amenities such as balconies, steam showers and/or Japanese inspired deep-soaking tubs. IPod/iHome stereos, HD televisions, electronic programmable safes and complimentary WiFi are all standard features in the guest rooms. Hotel on Rivington's main restaurant is called CO-OP Food & Drink - a modern American brasserie. Also located in the hotel is - Viktor & Spoils - our latenight tequila & mezcal lounge. Additionally, Hotel on Rivington is home to Juice Press! Juice Press serves organic and cold-pressed juices and raw foods catering to Vegetarian and Vegan guests located on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TIG Global, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, HotelTravel.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel on Rivington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Rivington Hotel
Hotel Rivington
Rivington Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel on Rivington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.