We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and excellent location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on Rivington

Save Saved
You added Hotel on Rivington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel on Rivington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase
Ranked #102 of 452 hotels in New York City
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Amazing views and excellent location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed five nights in a King Corner room with tub on the 14th floor facing south and west. The views that met us each evening when coming back from dinner was nothing less than spectacular. We could actually see from downtown all the way up to the Times square area. The room itself was very comfortable and cool looking although, as others have mentioned, it shows some wear and tear (goes for the rest of the hotel as well). The location is almost perfect. Away from the tourist traps but close to lots of places. For example SoHo is a 10-15 minute walk and just around the corner you have a tube station taking you uptown in 15-20 minutes. If you want to save money and arrives at JFK you can take the Air train to Jamaica station and then you take the J metro to Delancey/Essex street.
Most of the staff at the hotel are service minded but one of the guys at breakfast wasn't to inspired.
TV channels did not work while we stayed but they offered us a free movie to compensate.
Highly recommend this place for its location and views!

Room Tip: King Corner on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hi ThomasBergen! Thank you for your nice review here on TripAdvisor. Coming from a Top Contributor such as yourself, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are always making upgrades to make sure we are in tip-top shape but the views speak for themselves. From the Battery to the Empire State Building our sweeping views are hard to beat.
Hope to have you back on Rivington Street soon!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    383
    236
    80
    48
    33
See reviews for
59
336
70
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Being a native New Yorker, I'm fascinated with the evolution of the Lower East Side. Something new every time I visit. The Hotel on Rivington is a perfect home base in the heart of it all. Sleek, minimalistic rooms, generous size for NY, helpful staff, cool restaurant/bar, etc., Good deals through Jetsetter.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back of the hotel for quiet. Views only on floors 7 and higher, preferably wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hi 312! Thank you for your kind review here on TripAdvisor! We love to have native New Yorkers at the hotel. They seem to appreciate the oasis that is Hotel on Rivington in a different way than our out of town guests (who of course we also love!). The neighborhood is forever changing and we are just enjoying the ride here in the LES. So glad you enjoyed yourself here. Dont be a stranger!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed in the HoR for one week and were very satisfied with our overall experience.
The big pros:
- really spacious and stylish rooms with great view (yes, you can see a big parking lot and industrial buildings but you are in Lower East Side in NYC and not in a national park with natural surroundings)
- really nice bathroom ( the walk-in-shower with city view and the spacious tub were highly appreciated- especially in winter I very much recommend the hot tub)
- nice details in the room such as candles in the bathroom for a candle light bath and funny things from an adult store on Rivington Street and a variety of drinks in the mini bar
- very kind and helpful staff that met our expectations even in difficult situations (we asked for a room change from our booked King Corner Room to a room with a tub and they did their best to meet our request. They sent someone to help us with our luggage that we didn't have to pack and unpack everything again; three days later I recognised that I left my jewellery in the former room which was now given to other guests and asked at reception if the new guests or housekeeping found it. The next day I got everything back with a kind note from housekeeping)
- THE LOCATION: you can go out at night for dinner, drinks or clubbing by foot and have lots of great places to choose from, chinatown is in walking distance and Williamsburg is only a one metro station distance. We even walked to SoHo, West Village and Rockefeller Center. A very nice walk is to downtown crossing the Brooklyn Bridge and walking along the river back to the hotel crossing Williamsburg Bridge what will take about 1,5 hours (not too sure because we stopped very often for pictures or coffee breaks)

Only con we encountered:
- it took them ages before we could check- in our room

Last note: forget the popular Katz' Deli (which is just around the corner): too crowded and expensive for what you get. Try MightyQuinns Barbeque in East Village (10 mins walking distance): best briskets and side dishes (spectacular mashed sweet potatoes) and tab beer

Thanks HoR for a great week in NYC- we will come back for sure!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hi Stephfrommunich! Thank you so much for your excellent review here on TripAdvisor. I loved hearing about your stay and am very happy that you and your boyfriend enjoyed the experience. The Lower East Side is a great place to visit with all the amazing food, nightlife and galleries but also because of the people! It is so diverse and caters to locals travelers from all over the world.
It's too bad you had to wait for your room, our check-in time is guaranteed for 4pm, although normally we can get our guest's situated prior to that. Glad that you enjoyed the room!

We look forward to welcoming you back anytime!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We travelled from London to spend time with our son who lives in Dumbo (Brooklyn). We had a fantastic stay. When we arrived we were a bit dubious as the front of hotel is not marvellous but we went to reception and were greeted by friendly, smiling, happy staff who couldn't do enough for us. Invited to have coffee or wine in their super lounge. Went up to our room on 15th floor and were so happy with our room. Huge by NY standards, clean, huge bed. Ok, the view was a bit tatty but who goes to NY for the room view. Had dinner in restaurant with our son that evening and it was delicious with very fast service. The breakfasts were good, too, but the morning service was slow compared to the dinner service. The subway was half a block away which, in 2 stops took us to York St in Dumbo. Everything was perfect (except for the rain). Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had a king room high floor which was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi Anne0944! We are so delighted that you enjoyed your trip to NYC and that we were able to offer such a "wonderful" experience here at the Hotel on Rivington. Our staff is committed to taking excellent care of our guests, so thank you for mentioning that. :) Our Chef Victor Startek is a rising star in NYC and is serving up some fabulous dishes down in Co-Op Food & Drink, so glad you joined the party!
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Wow. What a letdown. I paid top dollar for a room with a deep tub and a view. I got the tub, but a crappy view. In a hotel with 20 floors, I got floor 9. I'm staring at a parking lot. For over $500 a night! Yes, I booked it last minute. But if a room with a view is unavailable, don't charge me for a room with a view. Big disappointment.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hello BFreedom, Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. TripAdvisor reviews help us to strive for perfection and unfortunately I guess we missed the mark during your stay. Although it is true that last minute reservations make it difficult to provide specific floors, our 9th floor rooms are above the surrounding the buildings.
Please contact me directly if you choose to stay with us in the future and I will personally make sure you have an amazing and satisfying experience.

All the Best,
Adam
aperabo@hotelonrivington.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I have never experienced a staff that is more concerned and attentive to the guests needs. The upgraded soaking tub/steam shower bathroom was amazing. The most comfortable bed my husband and I have ever slept in. We were there for a weekend getaway to NYC and we live only 45 min from the city but it truly felt like a vacation. Thank you to all the staff members for making it a fantastic getaway

Room Tip: recommend upgrade to soaking tub and steam room shower. it's fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hello Deblngerr! Oh, we are so happy that you and husband enjoyed your weekend getaway! We take a lot of pride in our A+ staff and try to make an impression on all our guests to make sure they have a unique and pleasant experience with us. Our beds are Tempur-Pedic and yes, VERY comfy!
Come back and see us anytime!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Access to the LES is its great attribute, everything close by, including Brooklyn via the Williamsburg Bridge nearby.Don't overlook Brooklyn some great spots for drinking and dining there. As noted the decor is a little dated but all is very clean, and comfortable. Firm huge bed is great. Bathrooms are spacious, clean and modern. Elevators are fast.
I would be remiss not to mention the people, after all places are made or unmade by the people who run it. The staff, ALL of them, are exceptionally friendly, helpful and genuine, (not always the case in NYC). The most helpful are the guys at the front door, they will call for your cab, give you directions and in general are very helpful and friendly. Special thanks to Lester and Jerry who were great at making our connections effortless.
Overall a great place to stay while exploring lower Manhattan, which, in itself, is one of the most interesting parts of the city.

Room Tip: If a view is important to you ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hello Consumer9! Excellent review, thank you very much. We love being a part of the Lower East Side and all it has to offer. The food, nightlife, galleries, boutiques and PEOPLE make it such a special place. Thank you so much for singling out OUR people, Lester and Jerry, they are one-of-a-kind and a valued part of our team.

So glad you chose to stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel on Rivington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Rivington

Address: 107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#97 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Rivington 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of the Lower East Side, Hotel on Rivington offers 108 guest rooms and suites. Constructed of floor-to-ceiling glass, most rooms feature 180 degree city views overlooking Midtown Manhattan, the World Trade Center, Brooklyn, Queens and the Williamsburg and Manhattan Bridges. Centrally located in downtown NYC, Hotel on Rivington is walking distance to landmark neighborhoods such as SoHo, Tribeca, Little Italy, Chinatown, the Bowery and the East Village. All guest rooms feature Tempur-Pedic beds, Frette linens, feather duvets and Italian bath amenities by Davines. Guests can select a variety of room features and amenities such as balconies, steam showers and/or Japanese inspired deep-soaking tubs. iPod/iHome stereos, HD televisions, electronic programmable safes and complimentary WiFi are all standard features in the guest rooms. Hotel on Rivington's main restaurant is called CO-OP Food & Drink - a modern American brasserie. Also located in the hotel is - Viktor & Spoils - a nightclub that features live DJ performances on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. Additionally, Hotel on Rivington is home to Juice Press. Juice Press serves organic and cold-pressed juices and raw foods catering to Vegetarian and Vegan guests located on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TIG Global, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel on Rivington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Rivington Hotel
Hotel Rivington
Rivington Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel on Rivington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.