We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating Accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on Rivington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel on Rivington to your Saves list
Hotel on Rivington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #70 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Accommodating Accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here three times over the past two years, and I have to admit I am a little bit of a hotel snob. The rooms are very clean, always. The staff will jump to get you anything you could ever dream of. The beds are comfortable with feather pillows and light-blocking curtains. The views are very nice. The last room we stayed in on the 16th floor had a balcony. The corner rooms are very nice but I have not had a room that wasn't nice. Modern style. They have complimentary cookies every night, fresh baked! There is coffee and sometimes wine(special occasions) available on the second floor. It is very close to the subway: one block on Delancey St. And there is some good shopping and restaurants surrounding. Would definitely recommend it. Also about a $15 cab ride from Penn Station. We always have a great time when we come. The mini bar is stocked with literally anything you could think of (sunglasses to synthetic vaginas!). We will be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hello NursesNotes! We LOVE to get reviews from TripAdvisor's Senior Contributors! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Sounds like you had room 163 (one of my favorites!), great view of the Freedom Tower, balcony, the soaking tub and of course the King-sized Tempur-Pedic mattress (just like in every room). I'll make a note in your profile and hope to get you that one next time. :)
Just one note: We offer complimentary wine every day! Along with coffee, tea, fruit and water. And yes, we have an extensive minibar. Hope you enjoyed!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    247
    82
    49
    35
See reviews for
64
367
72
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I spent the two nights following our wedding at the Hotel on Rivington, and it was a near-perfect experience. The staff made sure our stay was memorable; we were greeted with fresh-cut flowers, champagne, chocolates and rose-petals scattered on the bed. The views from the 18th floor-corner room were terrific - it's not that high up for New York, but the HOR is in a low-rise part of town and we got the full sweep from the Chrysler and Empire State Buildings in mid-town all the way down to the new One World Trade Center. The huge bedroom and bathroom and floor-to-ceiling windows were a treat, as was room-service breakfast. Many thanks to the friendly, (very) gay-friendly, professional staff - you helped make our wedding weekend everything we could have hoped for!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi Peter T! and CONGRATULATIONS!!! We were so pleased that you spent your special day with us at Hotel on Rivington. We love being a part of these magic moments in our guests' lives. Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor with a 5 Circle Review!

We sincerely hope you will return to visit us again and add to your memories.

Congratulations on your marriage!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

As a travel agent, I am always looking for both the bad and the good when staying at a hotel. I want to make sure I only put my clients in the best hotels. The location is great, right next to a subway entrance. There's also some good places to eat nearby, including Katz's Deli and Russ & Daughters with their amazing bagels. I had a corner king room with soaking tub (and balcony!) and it did not disappoint. The room was clean, and had such a gorgeous view. The staff at the hotel that I encountered were nothing short of wonderful. Geo at the front desk is an asset to this hotel, and they had better not lose him! The cleaning staff at the hotel was also really accommodating and pleasant. Baudouin is such a sweetheart as well! I didn't have any noise issues, but I was high up. I imagine any hotel in NYC will have some noise issues when on lower floors. The restaurant and bar at the hotel can definitely get lively, so i'd recommend asking for the highest floor possible. The entrance to the hotel is very different, in a good way. And the lounge near the front desk is a great place to read or check wifi, after you've checked out and are waiting for your car to take you back to the airport!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hi Thelma A! We really appreciate your review. Coming from such a seasoned traveler as yourself, your feedback is invaluable. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will send your clients over to us. Baudouin is an All-Star and Im glad you had the opportunity to connect with him. Geo and our Front Desk team are always very helpful and informed about what's happening all over NYC, don't worry we won't lose them! :)

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rivington Street anytime!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great spot close to subway and within walking distance of Lower East Side/Soho etc. Some great restaurants just around the corner ('Inoteca very good, Sauce excellent). Awesome views with floor to ceiling windows. And free coffee in the morning and wine in the afternoon!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hi JonnyBramley1963! Wow, thanks for the excellent 5 Circle Review! We love to hear from our guests and really appreciate your feedback. Its great that you got to enjoy Ino'teca and Sauce, 2 neighborhood stalwarts, but there are so many more! You simply have to visit us again to try!

Thanks again!
All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I have stayed at THOR quite a few times over the years and use hotels in NYC frequently. My last experience there was pretty poor and perpetuates the notion that at weekends it's a bit of a party hotel, which is great if that is what you want.
I however wanted a good nights sleep and was awoken by a party in the room next door. My efforts to ask them to reduce the noise levels were ignored as were the hotels 'attempts'.
These things happen and it's how you are dealt with that identifies how valued you are as a customer. Whilst I received a discount for my troubles I also received a rather patronising response when I enquired as to why none of the managers dealt with me when I complained about the issue. When did this start happening? Surely an apology would have been more appropriate?
Some of the staff at THOR are excellent which is a shame because their solid efforts are undermined by indifferent management. I have stayed there several times before, so it pains me to say that they really need to do better. Other hotels within throwing distance
really do go the extra mile to make your stay pleasant and also demonstrate how they value your business. THOR have become complacent, which combined with rooms that are not cheap, makes for a pretty unsatisfactory stay.

Room Tip: When they say a high room ask how high. Their idea of high still leaves you without a view other tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hello Ducati R, thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. We use reviews like yours to focus in on where we need to improve and it is a great tool for us.
That being said I am concerned about your less-than-stellar stay at Hotel on Rivington. We definitely do not practice handling guest service issues like yours in that fashion, so I am sorry. I would like to personally invite back to the hotel and promise to extend a discounted rate and room upgrade. I am sure we can win you back as the loyal guest you have been to us.

Please feel free to contact me directly anytime.

All the Best,
Adam
aperabo@hotelonrivington.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Wow!! I booked a high floor corner king with soaking tub for a special occasion and HOR far exceeded our expectations. Definitely not your standard hotel. Unique entrance with second floor lobby and lounge. Geo & Co. at front desk were friendly and beyond accommodating. Upon entering the room we were greeted with a personal note and treats. The panoramic views were breathtaking inside and out. Impressive primary bathroom with Japanese soaking tub and walk in shower overlooking NYC skyline. Our extra large 17th floor suite gave us the opportunity to experience the upscale Manhattan lifestyle during our stay. Great way to begin a very special weekend. Many thanks to the staff for making our trip memorable, look forward to returning!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
HI Micah B! Thank you so much for your 5 Circle Review here on TripAdvisor! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience here on Rivington Street. The sweeping views speak for themselves, hope you got some good photos! I'll make sure to pass on your kind words to Geo and our Front Desk team.
Hope to welcome you back to Hotel on Rivington again soon!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I love this place, the feel, the atmosphere, the location (it''s nice to leave midtown, sometimes), nice views if you have an upper room, flawless design. Of course the rooms are not big, of course it's not cheap, of course it's a small hotel etc. but hell LES is still in NYC ! And you have NYC with an additional feeling, make a reservation to the trendy restaurant Beauty & Essex, go to the neabry market down the street, go to the clubs nearby at night. In a word, if you are creative/hip/open minded/curious and you want to experience a different Manhattan, give it a try. It's not as snobbish as Meatpacking, but that will change, so enjoy it as long as you can.
If it's your first time in NYC or if you are let's say very conventional this is not a place for you (it's LES).

Room Tip: The hotel bar/restaurant is not worth it, go discover the area, do not hesitate to ask the staff, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on Rivington, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hi picalexzandre! Thank you so much for your excellent review here on TripAdvisor! We love hearing from TripAdvisor's Senior Contributors, as it shows you have some experience travelling in NYC. So glad you enjoyed your stay from the design to the location to the views!

We love being your "second home", feel free to reach out anytime! Happy Holidays!

All the Best,
Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel on Rivington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on Rivington

Address: 107 Rivington Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#62 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#67 Business Hotel in New York City
#75 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel on Rivington 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic district of the Lower East Side, Hotel on Rivington offers 108 guest rooms and suites. Constructed of floor-to-ceiling glass, most rooms feature 180 degree city views overlooking Midtown Manhattan, the World Trade Center, Brooklyn, Queens and the Williamsburg and Manhattan Bridges. Centrally located in downtown NYC, Hotel on Rivington is walking distance to landmark neighborhoods such as SoHo, Tribeca, Little Italy, Chinatown, the Bowery and the East Village. All guest rooms feature Tempur-Pedic beds, Frette linens, feather duvets and Italian bath amenities by Davines. Guests can select a variety of room features and amenities such as balconies, steam showers and/or Japanese inspired deep-soaking tubs. iPod/iHome stereos, HD televisions, electronic programmable safes and complimentary WiFi are all standard features in the guest rooms. Hotel on Rivington's main restaurant is called CO-OP Food & Drink - a modern American brasserie. Also located in the hotel is - Viktor & Spoils - a nightclub that features live DJ performances on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights. Additionally, Hotel on Rivington is home to Juice Press. Juice Press serves organic and cold-pressed juices and raw foods catering to Vegetarian and Vegan guests located on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TIG Global, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel on Rivington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On Rivington Hotel
Hotel Rivington
Rivington Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel on Rivington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.