We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best tapas outside of Madrid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tia Pol

Tia Pol
205 10th Ave, New York City, NY 10011-4719 (Chelsea)
212-675-8805
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tia Pol is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #757 of 11,750 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: 22nd and 23rd Streets
Transit: L - 8th Avenue. C/E - 23rd Street.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“The best tapas outside of Madrid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Have been to Spain a number of times, I do so miss the wonderful, informal tapas paces. Well not any more. This is not American style tapas, this is real tapas. Fresh and well prepared. The wine list is quite good and reasonable and to wash the tapas down with a good Spanish tinto is pure heaven.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    50
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A taste of modern Spain..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Firstly, WOW! We wanted to eat somewhere nice on our final night in NYC..and i had read some good reviews on Trip Advisor. We went early midweek, about 5.30-6pm and were pleased to get seated without issue. All of the staff were very friendly and knew the menu inside out. The food was fantastic and the staff were attentive and seemed genuinely friendly towards us. We ate and drank like kings and were treated very well by all. If you fancy eating modern Spanish tapas in NYC, you cant go wrong here. The restaurant itself is quite small but that adds to the intimate atmosphere and the exposed brickwork and aluminium encased open kitchen add a modern, contemporary feel to the place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Nice Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We loved our meal here and the service was fantastic.

The choice of food was interesting and delightful, very tasty and well presented.

Service was great from the young lady that greated us, the barman and wait staff

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great Tapas Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A great place for a light, informal meal. They have a ton of tasty options and some good wines to select from.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“TAPAS + Spanish Wine = Happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We made early reservations at 6:00PM for 2 (a must if you want a table in the quieter back room) and were promptly seated. Our server Julie was gracious, helpful and patient in suggesting several Spanish white wines that were in our description of what we enjoy. We started with the deep fried chick peas and the assorted olives. The olives were awesome -- the chick peas OK. We then ordered several Tapas to share including the Patatas Bravas (potatoes), Squid in Ink with Rice, Shrimp with garlic in olive oil and chile and the special scallops of the day. Service was attentive and the food was excellent, served piping hot right from the kitchen.

The front area is a crowded, cozy bar with louder music so if you enjoy that vibe, sit there. The back room was relaxed and enjoyable. We left full and happy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tia Pol also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tia Pol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tia Pol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.