We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Dream Hostel

Save Saved
You added American Dream Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
American Dream Hostel
168 East 24th Street, midtown Manhattan, New York City, NY 10010 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Stay!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the American Dream hostel for 3 nights in October this year as was recommended it by a friend!! Would 100% return- great location, very helpful staff, nice rooms and seemed to be very friendly people going around the hostel too :) It was in a fab spot for exploring the city! Loved it, thanks for a great stay!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    63
    21
    12
    14
See reviews for
13
20
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Coming in at $79 each a night, my friend and I were sceptical about a seemingly expensive hostel, but were left with little alternative in the ever-expensive New York.

All aversions flew out the door when we arrived (albeit we had to scale a long, steep set of steps to reception with heavy suitcases - no lift), in the sweet-smelling, extremely clean, kitsch hostel. It has quirky, Art Deco decor and a friendly vibe.

They put most other hostels to shame with their breakfast; available between 7 and 11am, with inclusions such as waffles, eggs, cream cheese, bagels, multigrain muffins, all spreads, donuts, fresh fruit, porridge, pine nuts, pumpkin seeds and dried apricots. After a few sneaky brews we would make our way into the kitchen too and they didn't care, the owner would sit and play music for us before we hit the town!

The location is great, if you're a first time visitor it is virtually the centre point between all your main locations (upper east and west side, lower east and west side, Times Square, Brooklyn, Central Park, etc.) three or four blocks walk to the nearest subway station and citi bike rentals.

The staff are all very knowledgable when it comes to the area and what to do, especially affordable ways of getting around. There is fee wifi and computers:printing station available for use.

The only downside would be the hard mattresses and pillows, but this is usually par for the course in hostels! Rooms were reasonably sized, and each had a large lockbox to place valuables in.

I would 100% recommend staying here! and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again myself!

Room Tip: Book this place in advance as they are extremely popular and usually don't have many free spaces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaratingueta, SP
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hostel is located in middle Manhattan, near train stations, the Union Square, making many of NYC atractions close enough to get walking.

The room and the bathroom were very clean, and the breakfast was honest for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

A very friendly place to stay. Good location. Very reasonable for New York. Generous breakfast provided. Tea and coffee available all day. Share bathroom facilities but that was no problem. The staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: The street is noisy but ear plugs fix that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Basic rooms. Bit noisy. But that's what you can expect in New York. Friendly staff. Beds could be better. Located near Madison Square Park, Empire State Building, Chrysler buildin, Flat Iron, easy access to the metro and close to some affordable restaurants which are definitely worth your while if you're not expecting michelin star food. Same goes for the hostel actually. If you're not looking for luxury but just for practicality this place will suit you like a glove.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Before making the reservation I read all the reviews about this hostel but still my expectations weren't high. I didn't believe the hostel was that great, but it is! What an excellent hostel! I honestly felt at home. This hostel has a very nice family atmosphere, warm and cozy, very different from all the hostels I know. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms aren't that big but it was more than enough. All the toilets/bathrooms were always impeccably clean!
The breakfast was great. Every morning we had home made waffles, plus bread, cereals, fruit, very good coffee, tea, juices, etc. It was fantastic starting off the day eating waffles with nuttela :) Plus breakfast were a good time to interect with the other guests. I met very nice people at this hostel.
This hostel is situated in a nice neighborhood, not far from the Flatiron building, and next to a subway station. Next time I go to NYC I will stay at this hostel, that is for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The place is a hostel, so after booking a single room I actually got a room with bunk beds all for me, which of course didn't make any difference to me. I must have been unlucky, though, considering all the reviews here on TA that praise the cleanliness of this hostel, for the shared bathrooms and the room's floor were fairly clean, but the sheets on the bed left a lot to be desired: they were crumpled and definitely didn't smell as if freshly laundered. My fault I didn't speak up about that immediately, but I was too tired after travelling for 12 hours and didn't feel like arguing.
Apart from that, this hostel is good value for money: the price is unbeatable in Manhattan; location is excellent, on the East Side near Madison Square Park and the Flatiron Building; breakfast is good, with coffee, milk, waffles, fresh fruit, cereals (though, maybe because I would have breakfast at 7, I never saw things other reviewers mentioned, like pancakes, eggs and pretzels), and my room was even provided with an air-conditioner (small, a bit noisy and rudimentary yet effective). All in all, I would recommend this place to non-fussy travellers (provided you check your room and speak up if something should be wrong :-).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to American Dream Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Dream Hostel

Address: 168 East 24th Street, midtown Manhattan, New York City, NY 10010
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 184 Specialty lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned business, American Dream Hostel welcomes you to New York City. Our prices include breakfast in the morning and WiFi. You will be in Manhattan, Flatiron District/Gramercy Park, close to the most exciting locations and events; most main points of interest including restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and stores are studded around the neighborhood and all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your American Dream Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dream Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Dream Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.