We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, no common room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of American Dream Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added American Dream Hostel to your Saves list
American Dream Hostel
168 East 24th Street, midtown Manhattan, New York City, NY 10010 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location, no common room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Found this to be a very nice base for both sightseeing and shopping in Manhattan. Good neighborhood, close to good eateries like the Snack Shack and all the Indians a few streets up.

Male dorm was ok, pretty small and just a small window, aircon rather loud, beds extremely squeaky, bring earplugs! Shares bathroom just with next door (female dorm I think) and there are plenty other options across the hall. Good washing ($5) with detergent/softener provided. Internet speed is ok, wifi free and computers $1/half hour. Staff is variable, Fabi extremely friendly, Sebastian really nice, Perry a bit dejected and only sometimes helpful, and there was also a girl I did not even dare ask for her name as she was looking so mean at me all the time ;). Very good breakfast, 7-11. Very clean.

Big thing that is missing is a common room. My advice, take that bathroom out, break down the walls and connect internet room to kitchen. Such a shame there is no place but the small cramped dorm room to meet the fellow travellers. The kitchen is too small and you won't see if someone is in there when walking past, same as internet room, so that's not working at all.

Too expensive. Really, $59/$69 (weekends) for a dorm bed? Sigh, I guess it's what you pay in Manhattan. Think about going to Queens (Q4 and Westway Hotels were recommended to me by others that stayed there), if it's too expensive for you.

All in all, Manhattan makes you put up with a few downsides, and if you dont want to stay in the huge HI uptown (with lots of 20year old party crowd I'm sure), probably your best bet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    78
    26
    12
    14
See reviews for
16
23
61
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

American Dream Hostel is a very good choice for people who are visiting NYC the first time. Reasonable priced in an awesome location. Just two blocks away from 23rd street.
Many attractions are reachable by foot. Loads of bars, restaurants, supermarkets and whatever you need close by.
Facilities get cleaned many times each day, never saw em filthy at all.

Rooms are kind of small (well.. for this price in NYC it's more than enough, as well as you are only there to sleep) and if you get a room to the street go get some ear plugs, it's really a city which never sleeps (or let you sleep).

100% recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a fantastic place. This hostel is EXTREMELY CLEAN! Spotless bathrooms, fresh-smelling sheets and blankets, high quality towels, and clean rooms. I have actually never stayed in a hostel as clean as this. Although the bathrooms are shared, I never once waited for either the toilet or the shower, and there are multiple bathrooms per floor. (I never even saw anyone coming in or out of the bathrooms). The rooms come with a sink / soap / hand towel, a flat screen TV, shelving unit for storage, and hangers. Overall it's a pretty charming hostel, it feels cozy and comfortable. The front desk people were nice but not over bearing. We borrowed a hairdryer from them and were allowed to keep it in our room for our stay. I really thought the location was great - close to a subway to explore all areas of Manhattan or Brooklyn. It's super close to many coffee shops, restaurants, and a Walgreens. It's also on a quiet street so we never were bothered by any traffic noises. We absolutely looked forward to coming home to our room at night after exhausting days of exploring. I would highly recommend this hostel!

Room Tip: Ask for room 33 - it's in the corner and much bigger than the other rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is a definite YES.

Pros:
* Close to Subway (6 line) which can take you right to Grand Central.
*Free Breakfast (Cereal, OJ, fruits, bagels, waffles, donuts)
*Kitchen area, which was a great mingling area.
*Free Wi-fi
*Computer room
*Towels and blankets available
*Great customer service
*And REALLY clean.

Cons:
*The shower is my main reason for giving this a 4 start and not a 5. The water was either scalding hot or freezing cold. It'd be good for a bit then it went crazy. Also, The water comes from right above, so for guys as tall as me and my friend (5' 10" and 6' 1") it made it a little uncomfortable.
*No air conditioner, which may a problem in hotter weather, but we were able to open our window which helped a lot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hostel is ideal for tourists looking to explore the city. It has everything you need from a hostel experience including extremely clean rooms and breakfast included.

In Manhattan there is no particularly cheap accommodation options however the American Dream was of the more reasonably priced. I stayed for 3 nights in a 4 bed female dorm. Both the rooms and the shared bathroom (only shared between 2 dorms) were clean which was my number one priority.

The hostel is located in the Flatiron district so it's a nicer neighborhood, coming back late at night I felt quite safe. Also only 2 blocks to the number 6 train which connects to Grand Central Terminal. There is a key to the building as well as each of the rooms, plus there is no curfew to come back at night so there was always a staff member on reception at nights.

Lou is the father of the owner - a really friendly guy who also works here. I saw him around a few times and he was always keen to have a chat and make everyone feel welcome. Actually if you get one of their business cards, the picture is actually of Lou as a younger man.

Next time I'm in NY I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at the quality and location of The American Dream Hostel. I stayed for 12 nights and was impressed with the quality, service and location for the price.
Arriving at 11pm at night, I was greeted by a lovely lady on the front desk (someone is manning the desk 24/7) and throughout my stay was greeted by many of the staff that were on the front desk.
The hostel has been recently renovated/ had a facelift and it feels new and clean. Breakfast is served daily in the communal kitchen and was always filling and delicious.
I stayed in a 4 bed dorm room which was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was clean.
The location was brilliant, 2 blocks to the Flatiron District and a good 10-15 minute walk to Times Square.
Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here one night but it was awesome. Good beds, clean bathrooms. Great location, check out rodeo bar down 3rd avenue it's great. Breakfast was amazing, boiled eggs, cereals, bread, fruit, waffles, twislers and much much more. Highly recommend. Great service and area knowledge also. Wish we were staying longer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to American Dream Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Dream Hostel

Address: 168 East 24th Street, midtown Manhattan, New York City, NY 10010
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 187 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned business, American Dream Hostel welcomes you to New York City. Our prices include breakfast in the morning and WiFi. You will be in Manhattan, Flatiron District/Gramercy Park, close to the most exciting locations and events; most main points of interest including restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and stores are studded around the neighborhood and all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your American Dream Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dream Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Dream Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.