We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of American Dream Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added American Dream Hostel to your Saves list
American Dream Hostel
168 East 24th Street, midtown Manhattan, New York City, NY 10010 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice hostel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Great hostel to stay in if you want to see new york on the cheap! Location is great and safe, times square is about 15 mins walk if you don't get lost! lol! The rooms are very small and the bathroom is shared but overall you get what you pay for! Breakfast is very good and you can share your stories and meet other travellers! Recommended!

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    65
    23
    12
    14
See reviews for
14
22
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Location of the hostel is perfect; close to the subways. Rooms are very small. The hostel is very noisy. The walls are thin and you hear a lot of noise from outside the hotel. Advantage is that you have a good breakfast. However, the breakfastroom is very small and you have to wash your dish before eating. Hotelcrew are not so friendly.

Room Tip: If you book the hostel, try to get a room on the third floor. Less noise and bigger rooms and shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

the rooms are small, common bathrooms, typically crowded in the mornings, the breakfast room is the highlight where u have a chance to meet people from all over...there is only one table so u have to make conversation and it was fun, the owner and his family were very hospitable and friendly with lots of tips to see the city, the location is awesome ...practically all of manhattan is nearby

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed in this hostel in August with 4 friends, after an apartment we had booked turned out to be a scam. We came across it by chance quite late in the evening and luckily they had room for one night. Compared to 3 other hostels I've stayed in in NYC - Broadway Hotel and Hostel, Morningside Inn and Chelsea Star - this place definitely ranks 1st for value for money. It isn't insanely cheap but considering the location and that breakfast is included, it's definitely worth it. There is a great atmosphere here and it really felt quite homely, especially the breakfast, which is very relaxed in their lovely, cosy kitchen. Just the right size of a hostel that you get to chat to some of the other guests and really feel at home. Unfortunately they didn't have room for any more nights for us so we stayed elsewhere but this hostel has definitely been my favourite in NYC.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

American Dream Hostel was a real gem in the heart on NY for a very good price. It´s located in Manhattan, just walking distance from Empire State Building. There´re several subway stations nearby so was easy to reach by public transport.

There were 3 of us and we managed to arrange a private room for us. Actually it was 4-bed dorm, but we agreed with the receptionist on having it as private room. There was little disturbing misunderstanding with deposit we paid through Hostels.com - the receptionist just told us we had to pay whole amount upon arrival and he refused to accept the fat, that 10% of the price was already paid. So after arguing for some 20 minutes we finally gave up on this and agreed to let that 40USD be - but for that we asked to have a room as our private one.

The room was very nice and perfectly clean. It had 2 bunk-beds, a shelf, a sink and a mirror - more then enough. The beds were usual hostel beds, but sheets were perfectly clean.

There are common toilets and bathrooms on the floors - but never was there any problem with that. Both bathrooms and toilets were spotlessly clean.

They provide free breakfast - not common for NY as far as I know. There was great variety of food to choose - fresh fruits and vegetables, freshly-baked pancakes (!), cottage chease, ham, bread, müsli etc etc. Tea, coffee, drinking water, juices etc were also provided. Perfect!

There was a computer room with internet access as well. It was not free, but no set price as well. Just put some money into the box. Decent choice of books on exchange as well.

The place proved as safe and very well-run.

It is definitely a great value for NY. Last time I stayed in a hotel and paid something around 200+ USD per night for mediocre double room without breakfast in Manhattan. This time I managed to get a great place with breakfast for much less. It´s definitely my first choice of accommodation when in NY again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Really lovely hostel. Nice, clean rooms. Quiet, great breakfast, free wifi, free luggage storage! What more could one ask for! A bit on the pricey side but definately worth it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

It's becoming like my 2nd home in my home away from home. I love NY, but it is SO expensive... this place is decently priced, centrally located on the east side (if the Met is as far north as you'd go and Battery Park as far south), clean with friendly staff. All other considerations are really beside the point; you are in NYC, all you need is a comfortable base of operations and a nice place to sleep. Just remember to ask for the outside door-code, if on the odd chance the door is locked at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to American Dream Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Dream Hostel

Address: 168 East 24th Street, midtown Manhattan, New York City, NY 10010
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 185 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned business, American Dream Hostel welcomes you to New York City. Our prices include breakfast in the morning and WiFi. You will be in Manhattan, Flatiron District/Gramercy Park, close to the most exciting locations and events; most main points of interest including restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and stores are studded around the neighborhood and all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your American Dream Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Dream Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Dream Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.