We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Good Enough to Eat

Good Enough to Eat
520 Columbus Ave, Frnt A, New York City, NY 10024 (Upper West Side)
+1 212-579-3194
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Good Enough to Eat is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #892 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: 85th
Transit: Trains B & C (86 Street Stop) are a block away
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Living on 90th West, this was a great place for brunch. It's fun, fast and the food was excellent.The waiters always carried a smile, which helps. Hope the long queues waiting to be seated won't ruin it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    134
    42
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“it gets worse”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I keep trying this place, but it gets worse. The service is terrible--rude and uncaring. The eggs were cold and the bacon had been cooked a long time before we got it. The tables are too close together so that you can't get in and out without moving the table of the person next to you. Why people line up for this place I'll never understand. It's just eggs and not very good. Sorry, but it once was better but now all they seem to care about it getting people in and out fast. Truly, the service is terrible with waiters in t-shirts and acting like they hate being there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great cooking and cute restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Went early on Thursday morning so there was no line or wait. I have been by there before and saw the long lines. My husband and I had the French toast and eggs and the Pancakes and eggs. Both were great. The strawberry butter was delicious! Also the eggs where so rich and fluffy! I added mozzarella and they were to die for! This comfort food restaurant was very good and it is a must try!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Charming and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Most reviews here mention breakfast, but we enjoyed dinner while visiting New York. We loved that it was away from the hustle of Times Square and had the feel of a neighborhood eatery. Prices seemed reasonable for New York. Our entrees probably averaged about $20 each. The portions were huge and the food was fresh and delicious. We also loved that there was food for the pickiest of eaters like pancakes and turkey and dressing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Get in line for brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stumbled upon this place after our morning jog at Central Park. We saw a line outside the cafe even before its opening time at 9am.

The food was promptly served: we ordered a high protein special (2 eggs with cheese & 2 meats) and a bacon waffle. The food tasted great. We didn't quite like the cappuccino - it was served with a hint of cinnamon, which threw the coffee aroma off.

Do note that they have a policy of minimum spending of $10 per pax for brunch on weekends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Enough to Eat also viewed

 

Been to Good Enough to Eat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Good Enough to Eat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.