We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Good Enough to Eat

Good Enough to Eat
520 Columbus Ave, Frnt A, New York City, NY 10024 (Upper West Side)
+1 212-579-3194
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Good Enough to Eat is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #892 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: 85th
Transit: Trains B & C (86 Street Stop) are a block away
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Waited around 25 minutes, line moved pretty quick. Def ask to sit outside if tables are not occupied, one couple was standing at the front for 10 minutes before they asked the hostess to sit outside and then they were seating immediately. Service was great & they didn't rush you out once you were done which was nice. I think they don't pack the place in as much as they could, there were some open tables for awhile once we got inside - which is nice. Ordered all b.fast food, pancakes, bacon, omelettes & Mexican egg scrambler w/tacos. All perfection. I drink coffee fast so had to ask for a refill a few times but not a big deal at all. Can't wait to return!! =)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    134
    42
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, good food, good price, slowish service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

It took a while to get our food and the waiter rarely checked on us, but I didn't feel rushed and the food was very good. Decent prices too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Upper West Side Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Me and my husband were looking for a nice restaurant on the Upper West Side. After checking with our "tripadviaor" App, we went to "Good Enough to Eat"
It was lunchtime, and it was hot. Luckily we got a table inside the air conditioned restaurant, as it was quite full. I liked the decoration, huge bumble bees hanging from the ceiling. Most of the table were having late breakfast, and Waffles. On the 'specials of today' list they had some nice choices. My husband took Quesadilla of Hanger steak, sun dried tomatoes, mushroom, scallions, pine nut, with salsa and sour cream. My choice was today's Entree special: a crispy cornmeal crusted flounder with blood orange salsa guacamole and cheddar. both dishes were very tasty with nice mixture of flavors.
Loved the music on the background Debbie Harry and Blondie were singing : 'Call Me'. It's a real gem at upper Amsterdam avenue.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Close to perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Personal and friendly. Food very good. 30 minutes waiting was no big deal - Enjoyed the ambiance. Hope it will keep the atmosphere when moving to Columbus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gorham, Maine
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Small place packs big punch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Went for Sunday brunch, sat outside in the sidewalk seating area. Service was good, the food was fabulous! We tried multi-grain pancakes (dark chocolate chips with orange butter and toasted coconut), omelets, biscuits with strawberry butter, double-smoked bacon (the thickest slices I have ever seen) and scrambled eggs. Perfect portion sizes, too. The line was long but the hostess was on top of who needed what and we moved to seats very quickly. I don't recommend for kids because it is close quarters.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Enough to Eat also viewed

 

Been to Good Enough to Eat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Good Enough to Eat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.