We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Viet Huong

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pho Viet Huong
73 Mulberry St, New York City, NY 10013-4401 (Chinatown)
(212) 233-8988
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,371 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Chappaqua, New York
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had lunch recently and the food and service were just average. We were hoping for a special Vietnamese meal since the reviews for the most part were very good. Unfortunately there was no need to go all the way to Chinatown for what we got. The spring rolls were greasy and the pho chicken soup for which we were craving was bland and not tasteful. The one dish we liked was the ten ingredient pan fried noodles. Overall a disappointment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely great Pho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I try and eat Pho once a week, very health for you. But everyone knows there are a lot of pho places to go to. I probably went to at least a couple dozen other Pho places around New York city, and I back to this one again and again. Let me tell you why, the rice noodles are not all stuck together, the service is exactly how i like it, PROMPT. They have a very wide selection of ingredients to choose from "shark fin, frog" which not all Pho restaurants have. Best place in NYC!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Charming and Tasty Vietnamese Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Had a quick dinner here en route to return home to NJ - fantastic menu selection, including chicken, beef, pork, shrimp, seafood, shark fin, frog and vegetable, as well as 18 different pho soup dishes. I indulged in a pho complete with vegetables and beef tendon, while my dinner-mate had the vietnamese rolls appetizer. The appetizer was greasy, but the pho was terrific and a great deal! I plan on returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food for good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This restaurant had great rice noodles. We were able to feed myself and 3 pretty finicky people. Seasonal items were pricey and as most restaurants, they only take cash. Meat and vegetables were very fresh and staff was very friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“NOT THE BEST VIETNAM FOOD”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Service was very slow with just two other people in restaurant. The food was priced right but I have had much better Vietnamese food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Viet Huong also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pho Viet Huong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Viet Huong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.