We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overwhelming amount of food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Otto

Otto
One Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10003
212 995 9559
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,835 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 8th Street
Transit: 4, 5, 6, N, R, Q, & W trains to 14th Street/Union Square, and the B, D, F, V, A, C, & E trains to West 4th Street.
Description: Modeled after an Italian train station, Mario Batali and Joe Bastianich's OTTO is located on 8th Street, in the historic One Fifth Avenue building. Serving classic Italian pizzas and pastas, a large selection of house-cured meats, Italian and local cheeses, Artisanal Gelato, and boasting a 750+ all-Italian wine list, OTTO has become a destination for New York diners as well as a neighborhood hot spot.
McTown Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Overwhelming amount of food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I went to Otto last Friday night with a group of 9. We had pasta, pizza and gelato for dessert. The food was very good, but the servings were too big. We all felt overwhelmed. Service was a bit odd. Someone removed our dessert before we had finished (presumably to free up the tables for waiting diners).

The dessert was the best, with unusual gelato flavors like olive oil (sounds weird but tasted delicious).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    200
    101
    47
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mario Battali on a budget!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you enjoy traditional Italian fare and are with someone a bit more adventurous and want to keep within a reasonable budget (by NYC standards) then try Otto. They have an extensive list of wines by the glass and all sorts of wonderful salads, pizzas, and italian plates.
These aren't huge portions but they are filling. You can get plates to share or make a meal of a salad and a pizza or entre.
There are wonderfully adventurous choices like lardo pizza or more traditional fare all made with top quality ingredients and preparation deserving of the Battali name.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Mario Batali for everybody-”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have eaten there twice-both times were very good to excellent. Prices are very reasonable. Otto draws a mixed crowd - students (from nearby NYU, I assume) and families, plus couples (that's my husband and me) and groups of friends which helps make for a lively, fun atmosphere. The food is quite good and very reasonably priced-$10 or so for pasta or pizza; $8-$10 for anti pasti deserts are about $6-9. The wine list is HUGE and well-priced so get a bottle already! (Wine by the glass is expensive as it seems to be all over NYC; $10-$12!) Get there early (before 6pm or so) to avoid a long wait for a table.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“High energy, high prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have been here a few times for dinner and each time am struck at how they have such a booming business with such high prices. $12-20 for a glass of wine? I know it's NYC but it is a bit over the top. As for the food and service it's pretty good but certainly in a town with so many Italian joints there are other, smaller places that pack a bigger punch. I think this will be the last visit for a while as we enjoy other options much more.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

After reading a lot about this restaurant in guide books and online we made a reservation for 9pm, we were eventually seated at 9.58 after standing in the overly crowded noisy bar. The menu was trying to be too alternative and ended up not tasting right. The pizza tasted burnt so overall i did not have a good experience with this restaurant however the staff were very friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otto also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Otto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.