We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great disappointment...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nathans Famous

Nathans Famous
901 Ave. of the Americas, New York City, NY 10001 (Manhattan)
212-947-1259
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,752 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Great disappointment...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Excited to finally make my way to enjoy a Nathans Famous hot dog... Being from Chicago I shouldnt have had my hopes high, but being rated #1, how could I be wrong. So disappointed, but still have hopes when I visit another location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    20
    16
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“still the best and great customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

really friendly folks at the south street seaport. it was the first place i stopped in nyc as i was hungry and i'll go to this one again. very happy and still the best.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Everyone must visit Nathan's at least once in their lifetime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I've always wanted to eat at Nathan's in Coney Island (make sure you're at the original, not the smaller store on the boardwalk). It was everything I thought it would be; old NY style building and ambiance, great selection of items, and delicious franks! This is home to the world famous Nathan's Hot Dog eating contest, so the venue will be recognizable to all of those who watch it on television. No indoor seating as some have raved, however, in true NY fashion, you should eat yours standing or walking. This is truly a NY classic - expect to buy a hot dog in an old building, that looks like an old building, nothing fancy here. Don't come here expecting fancy decor, table service, or Perrier water with your dog! I actually would have given and "excellent" rating, but twice in 20 minutes we were approached for money; once inside the ordering aisles. That is annoying.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not what used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

You can buy same hotdogs in grocery stores so not as special anymore. Really just a tourist trap and historical location. Expensive and really not worth it. The local sabrett vendors on the street corners are cheaper and better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not sure why this place is so "FAMOUS"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

No indoor seating, dirty, and the hot dogs were just okay. The one I make on the grill at home are just as tasty if not more so. Not sure what the big deal is. Just an average eatery. Glad I don't have to eat here all the time. We stopped for a quick snack while visiting the Coney Island area. Probably won't come back. The fries were extremely greasy and the staff was not very professional.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nathans Famous also viewed

 

Been to Nathans Famous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nathans Famous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.