We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and chip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Molly's Pub & Restaurant, Shebeen

Molly's Pub & Restaurant, Shebeen
287 3rd Ave, New York City, NY 10010 (Manhattan)
(212) 889-3361
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #684 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Fish and chip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I am looking for fish and chip and find this in the list of top ten that is near me, and I am glad for what I found, it is unique and the feel is good, the food is good, I will come again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    32
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You won't find this unless you're looking for it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Everyone is very friendly here, and waitress very helpful. We had their special hamburger and also the shepherd's pie. Both big servings and very good. Service prompt. There's a real pub feel, cozy, friendly, not too noisy. Small and they don't do reservations; we were there on a Thursday evening around 7:30 and had no trouble getting in. Looked like a lot of regulars frequent it as well. And our waitress just sort of made the evening. Not too intrusive, but very, very pleasant. It'll be on our list for our next visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnetonka. minnesota
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Guinness and Lamb Stew”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Go for the atmosphere (and the beer) more than for the food, although the food was a cut-above pub fare. The lamb stew was excellent, the fish and chips...good. It's one of the best Irish bars in New York - the people, the fireplace, the decor are all worth a visit. And when we called ahead with only an hour's notice they held a booth for us. This is now our go-to Irish bar when in New York.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hole-in-the-wall pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate there tonight, and the fish and chips and shepherds pie were excellent! The service was so great, the waitress even let us sample a few drinks before ordering our drinks. The ambience was very Irish Pub, without the party scene, great beers on tap and good wine, all at an affordable price for Manhattan. Would eat here again in a heartbeat!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere! Very good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

On a cold, drizzly April day, my husband & I found our way to Molly's Pub & Restaurant, Shebeen for lunch. Inside, it was cozy, charming & welcoming with sawdust on the floor and a wood-burning fireplace heating the room. It was a wonderful reprieve for us cold, hungry visitors! My husband had a monti cristo sandwich + a pale ale while I had the fish and chips ... probably the BEST fish I've ever had! Very good food & service! Great atmosphere!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molly's Pub & Restaurant, Shebeen also viewed

 

Been to Molly's Pub & Restaurant, Shebeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molly's Pub & Restaurant, Shebeen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.