We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McSorleys Old Ale House

McSorleys Old Ale House
15 E. 7th St., New York City, NY 10003 (East Village)
212-473-9148
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: East Village
Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Didn't get any food but the bar was very enjoyable, beer was great, layout of the tables encourages conversation, football on in the background but not the main focus in any way, couldn't ask for any more

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    88
    15
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old Time Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Such an authentic old time city pub. Good location and easy to get to from the subway. Original in all aspects from the ale to the fare to the furnishings. Dark or light you only have to pick one for choice of drinks. Good pub food and excellent hash!! A must see for those who want to experience old time pub atmosphere.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Must Visit in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I visit NYC every year and no trip would be complete without a stop at McSorleys. There is a limited choice of beers, but it is always cold and always great tasting. The wait staff was terrific and even provided a brief historical background of the place. The walls are plastered with very cool historical artifacts. I could spend hours just browsing all of the cool decor pieces. I can't imagine anyone not liking McSorleys, but I have never ordered the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“In a Class by Itself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I hadn't been to McSorley's for a few years, but thought some visiting Californians would like to see it. As soon as we walked through the door, I knew I'd made the right choice. We could have spent more time there if our guest didn't think they could see the rest of Manhattan that afternoon.
Go on a weekday afternoon and spend some time exploring all the memorabilia that covers the walls and if you order any food, go easy on the mustard.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Must be one of the Oldest Pubs in USA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Yes, this pub is from the 1850s I think. They have 2 and only 2 house beers, light and dark. ALWAYS go for the DARK! We had a bowl of chilli with crackers and Clam Chowder - Both very good. However be warned if you want FANCY - do not go. if you want space - Do not go. If you want Atmosphere and a good laugh and you can talk to strangers - Have a great time!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McSorleys Old Ale House also viewed

 

Been to McSorleys Old Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McSorleys Old Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.