We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heartland Brewery Chophouse

Heartland Brewery Chophouse
127 W. 43rd St., New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)
646-366-0235
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Heartland Brewery Chophouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,021 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 6th Avenue and Broadway
Transit: N,R, 1,2,3,C,E,F,A trains to 42nd street and Broadway
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Went to Times Square location. The food was just O.K. It was expensive...but that's not unusual for the location of restaurant. The worst part was our server. I tried 2 samples of beer. He decided to come back to take our order for beer when we were nearly finished dinner. He seemed indifferent. We noticed the other tables he was serving were also trying to get his attention for service. It wasn't that he had to many tables to serve...he just didn't care about customer service. We mentioned before ordering that we had a discount coupon of 10%. Of course we were presented with a bill that did not have the discount. Will not return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    149
    64
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

There are better places to get a meal. The service was great, the establishment was nice, but the food was just average. NY is expensive. If you're going to get gouged for a decent meal this probably shouldn't be your top choice. Nt bad food, just nothing to write home about.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great all around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Visited late night after a show. Food was great, staff could have been a little attentive. Would certaintly go again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Steaks at reasonable money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had a great meal at the Chophouse on our last night in New York, food was great and the Clam Chowder was lovely.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice but presumtious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Came in initially for a drink and then returned later for a meal with the rest of our group.

The guy who was seating people was lovely. We sat down and ordered, food came. Very tasty steak tho my partners steak wasn't medium well in it's life and was actually rather fatty for a New York strip. Which is odd because mine was almost fat free.

What riled us was that despite the menu claiming that a tip will only be automatically added when you're in a group of 6 or more and we were only a 4 the waitress stomped up with a big grin and announced she had already added it. All 4 of us are seasoned USA travellers. Despite being British and never tipping at home we are aware it makes a huge part of servers wages over here and think it was damn presumtious to assume we wouldnt bother so they needed to do it for us. I find that very rude and as a result we won't be returning here while in new York.

Nice beer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heartland Brewery Chophouse also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Heartland Brewery Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heartland Brewery Chophouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.