We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great midtown location, nice rooms but small” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunday Nights 50% off
Ranked #160 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great midtown location, nice rooms but small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Affinia 50 is in great central location. Newly remodeled rooms, lobby but rooms were small. No big surprise in NYC but other Affinias will get you larger rooms if your traveling with kids. Staff was very nice. Checked out of hotel only to realize several hours later that my son left his special blanket in the bed. Called housekeeping and the woman went and looked for it herself and found it in the laundry! Fortunately, we were still sightseeing and stopped by the hotel on our way home. They had a great deal that included valet parking which worked out great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    67
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
71
43
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are decent, the one bedroom suite is a great size room for NYC. location is excellent, very central and walk to 5th ave and 15 min walk to Central Park.

But lobby is disappointing, no restaurant in the hotel. and worst of all peak summer and air conditioning conked off in the night in entire hotel. Extremely uncomfortable in this heat, with AC for whole night.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Recently stayed at the Affinia on business. Un-refundable internet rate was over $400 for a room that was miniscule and so charmless and shabby and bare bones that there wasnt even a shower cap in the bathroom! Speaking of bathroom, the tub dripped all night, the walls showed signs everywhere of moisture, the bed sheets were so worn that my feet kept snagging on loose threads.
The service at check-in felt like i was at a truck stop paying for gas. My room #405 looked out on a disgusting back alley and i am not usually averse to backsides of manhattan hotels as they are often quite quiet but tis was beyond depressing. Everything in the hotel was crooked and ill placed like the signs and pictures had been put up in darkness by people unfamiliar with a carpentry level.
Sad, awful place at any price but at the one i was charged it's highway robbery.
I tried to get out of my second night but if you are looking for a break from these people you can forget it: they stuck to their guns with a complete lack of flexibility insuring that i was highly motivated to warn any unsuspecting travelers to stay away.
STAY AWAY!
I've stayed a few times at The Benjamin a few doors up and it's miles better and the service is actually very gracious for a mid-price hotel.
This place makes you feel so poor....my flight was canceled and i was going to be obliged to spend yet another night, instead i chose to stay elsewhere even though it was pouring rain and there were no hotels nearby available.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The newly renovated rooms are perfectly comfortable with good lighting, closet space with a safe, a desk and chair as well as an upholstered one. The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows and although there was not a view to the street I was in town for meetings and wasn't there during much daylight. The bathroom had plenty of towels, hair dryer and shampoo in the shower and the only thing missing overall was a makeup mirror for those of us over 35 yo! Also it's around the corner from Essa Bagel on 3rd Ave which has great NY bagels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

No where else in New York I'd ever stay again!

Last year I stayed @ the Dumont, in May I stayed @ the Gardens and last week stayed @ the 50...amazing experience every time ( and I'm not always easy to please).
I don't mind admitting that I'm a bit of a hotel snob. Especially when it comes to big touristy cities. So, for me to stick with 1 brand because I hold all of their properties in high regard is surprising to me and all my friends who know how much I travel.

Last weeks trip included kids 6 and 14 (not mine lol) and there was enough going on for both ages to enjoy and stay stimulated.
Wine hour! Hello! Need I say more?
Next door - Upstairs - roof top patio lounge on 30th floor!
Staff - that will go out in the pouring rain for you ( I wouldn't let him even though he offered).
Staff - so accommodating
Staff - intelligent, funny and conversational ( not cold and stand-off-ish)
Rooms - huge, updated, modern, contemporary
Beds - so comfy
Location - Location -Location

Affinia - the PERFECT New York hotel!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, we had 3 in total. And I also looked around a few others (just asked) If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
It gives me great pride and pleasure to know that we exceeded your expectations. I’m very happy to hear that you found our newly renovated rooms quiet, comfortable and convenient. It is great to hear you are a loyal Affinia guest, as we are a collection of unique hotels, we all share our passion for great, personalized service and fun with our nightly Wine Hours.

Thank you for your kind words on the service provided by our team. Feedback like yours puts a huge smile on the team’s face and encourages us to continue creating more special experiences for our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Until your next stay.

Warm regards,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I booked this hotel because of its location: near two subway stations and close enough to walk around midtown and Central Park. Got a great price thanks to a 20% discount from an app. At less than £120 a night I thought it was too good to be true, but the hotel was excellent. Huge room and bed, good air con, very clean, quiet, no big queues... Faultless!

Room Tip: Paying the extra for a deluxe room is well worth it if you like chilling out in the hotel room: love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review and for choosing the Affinia 50. We also love our central East Midtown location as it is well-connected to other neighborhoods of New York via public transportation- the 6 and E train are located just a few blocks away - and is also very close to many major NYC attractions. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms that are spacious, well designed and above all are very comfortable!

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Until your next stay.

Warm regards,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I loved staying here! Too many great features to list them all in a brief review. Beds were great, room always quiet and cool (summer stay). Blackout shades. BIG room, nice furniture. Bathroom good in every way. Personnel A#1. I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you found your room (and beds) to be comfortable and quiet and that our staff are "A#1", as we like to think so as well.

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 155 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in New York City
#94 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#104 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#147 Family Hotel in New York City
#177 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly redesigned Fifty NYC just completed a comprehensive redesign of all guest rooms and suites as well as its public spaces (corridors, lobby and second floor club room). Fifty NYC hotel has 251 beautifully redesigned rooms including 100 with kitchens and 19 with terraces. All with eclectic furnishings that look hand-selected; curated details at every corner and well-considered design down to the last, elegant component. New to the lobby is a grab-and-go retail space featuring food, beverages, sundries and fun, curated merchandise for spur-of-the-moment splurges. The redesign connects the lobby and the Club Room via a sweeping, stainless steel-and-stone staircase to an updated oasis. The design of the second floor Club Room inspires guests to get out of their rooms with an inviting, eclectic mix of modern furniture and stylish accent pieces where they can relax, work and take advantage of complimentary Wi-Fi. Each evening the hotel hosts a complimentary wine hour held in the Club Room and breakfast is served here daily. Set in the dynamic center of Midtown Manhattan - Fifty NYC provides a modern, artfully designed setting with a residential feel. Close proximity to Rockefeller Center - Fifth Avenue shopping and corporate headquarters makes Fifty NYC an appealing choice for a wide range of business travelers, couples, and international guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia 50 Hotel New York City
Affinia 50 New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.