We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Value for Midtown NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Twice As Nice - Save 22%
Ranked #183 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Midwest
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location & Value for Midtown NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Affinia 50 was a pleasant surprise. I chose this hotel because of the location, value and size. The location (50th & 3rd) is very close to Rockefeller Plaza, the theatres & Grand Central and not too far from Central Park. Numerous dining options very close in all price ranges. The Sunday night stay was very reasonable and made up for the Saturday night atrocious rate. The room was huge and the beds comfortable. The hotel is smaller and more intimate than the huge hotels in NYC. It was quiet and we had a pleasant view from our room - even a peek of the East River. The staff were very pleasant including the front desk, concierge, cleaning staff & bellman. My flight from Detroit was delayed and I didn't arrive until very late. I called the hotel earlier to let them know I would be arriving late and was put on hold several times. I finally got through and the attendant assured me my reservation would be held. I was kind of nervous arriving at 11PM but there was no problem and check in went smoothly. Sometimes at the larger hotels in NYC it takes forever to check in and check out but the Affinia 50 was very efficient. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Booked on-line and had the option of specifying view, quieter etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
Thank you for the great review of your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing us as your hotel of choice when staying in NYC. It will be our pleasure to make your future stay another memorable one.

Best Regards,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    112
    28
    12
    5
See reviews for
112
63
8
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

After a disastrous experience elsewhere, the Affinia 50 staff said, "we want to turn your holiday around!" And they did. Welcoming, interested, close to all the main attractions around Times Square and the Rockefeller Centre and Central Park (10 - 15 mins walk), with complementary wine hour and comfortable suites, we had a a ball! They even supplied ear-plugs for the lighter sleeper as New York really is the city that never sleeps.

Room Tip: Go High! The higher you are, the further you are from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Came to the hotel for a weekend trip with my girlfriends and this hotel for sure has pros and cons. We arrived in the city 4 hours before check in and the hotel held our bags until check in which was great because we didn't have to go back to the car when it was time to check in. We got into the room and it was very clean and spacious compared to other hotels I have stayed in on previous trips to the city. We needed some ice for the room and it took about 20 minutes for them to bring up which seemed very long.

The first night went smooth but it wasn't until the second night where all 4 girls went to shower and get ready for a night on the town and there was no hot water. I called the front desk and they said a technician would be right up. Twenty minutes passed and nobody came up. Keep in mind we had dinner reservations that we needed to be ready for. I called back down to the front desk once again and they said that the boiler was broke and the whole building had no hot water. My concern is that I feel nobody would have called back to inform us of this. We all sucked it up and took cold showers since we were hot and sweaty from a day of shopping. The next day we went to showet before our departure and still no hot water. I was not happy with this and upon check out, I explained how unhappy I was about this hot water situation. Thankfully, the woman at the front desk was very nice and adjusted our final bill making it $100 less. I was very annoyed about the situation but at least they compensated for the issue.

Overall, our stay would have been more enjoyable if the water was working but I understand that problems do occur. An added bonus for the hotel is the complimentary wine hour from 5-6 with red and white wine as well as snacks which takes place on the second floor of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here on your honeymoon last Summer. After arriving at 7 am thinking that our room wouldn't be ready until 3 pm we were delighted to find the hotel had our room ready for us which we felt was a lovely touch after an overnight flight.

The hotel is in a great location with a lovely little diner 4 doors down.

Staff were lovely and the rooms were beautiful.

If back in New York we would definitely stay in the Affinia 50 again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2015
Thank you for the wonderful review from your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing us as your hotel of choice when staying in NYC. It will be our pleasure to make your future stay another memorable one.

Best Regards,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Visitors to Manhattan generally need to scale back their expectations on hotel room size or pay super high room rates. Affinia 50 has large (by NYC standard) rooms at reasonable room rates, as I've found in other Affinia's in NYC. Affinia 50 was recently remodeled, so the rooms are very clean and modern. We booked in the lowest category and there was still a bathtub and small refrigerator - luxuries for New York hotels!

We requested a quiet room and there was still some street noise, but I think that is unavoidable due to the hotel location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Fully completed renovation - never had a chance to see the second floor club suite until this trip and it was really well executed. The hotel has a wine hour (or two) each evening and the space provides a nice little spot to hang out.

The rooms are nice and well done - such a dramatic change post renovation, I like the little guest kitchen next to the registration desk - good sot for a late night snack or drink without the trek to Duane reade or cvs.

The only negative is I like a cold room and I just couldn't get the temperature low enough.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms facing the street (for light) but high up so I can avoid the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The delight begins at checkin --- warm smiles, bell staff that genuinely welcomes you, big smiles all around. I felt special from the moment I walked in.

I had booked a king studio, and it was a lovely room .. big kitchen, above average size bathroom (not small like many NYC hotels), and a large spacious bedroom with plenty of room to move around. There is a large work desk for setting up a laptop, and plenty of light and plugs easily accessible. The bed was firm and comfortable, with fine linens. The room had plenty of place to unpack clothes for a week, and a large in-room safe. In-room robes are not provided.

The bathroom was spacious, well provided with towels and amenities. THe shower had good water pressure, and the bathtub was spacious. My only minor complaint was there was black mold starting to grow on the caulking, and the ceiling above the shower/tub. Other than that, the suite was kept scrupulously clean.

One of the best parts is the club on the 2nd floor, where coffee and tea is available 24 hours a day (a nice touch...no need to find a starbucks early in the morning), and a social hour with wine is free for all guests from 5 to 6 pm. Free internet is also available in the club, so it was a nice scene with many guests around. Newspapers are here every day, and plentiful. ANd there's a healthclub with new equipment, bottled water (free), and towels.

I would come back here in a moment! Warm and gracious service, large spacious rooms, and great amenities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
EricNilson, thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I am delighted to hear that you found our team to be attentive, genuine, and engaging. Thank you for your descriptive comments about our newly renovated rooms, fitness center as well as our wonderful and vibrant Wine Hour. We are humbled by your commitment to return to the Affinia 50 and look forward to welcoming you back home in the near future!

Sincerely,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 155 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in New York City
#120 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#133 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#166 Family Hotel in New York City
#196 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly redesigned Fifty NYC just completed a comprehensive redesign of all guest rooms and suites as well as its public spaces (corridors, lobby and second floor club room). Fifty NYC hotel has 251 beautifully redesigned rooms including 100 with kitchens and 19 with terraces. All with eclectic furnishings that look hand-selected; curated details at every corner and well-considered design down to the last, elegant component. New to the lobby is a grab-and-go retail space featuring food, beverages, sundries and fun, curated merchandise for spur-of-the-moment splurges. The redesign connects the lobby and the Club Room via a sweeping, stainless steel-and-stone staircase to an updated oasis. The design of the second floor Club Room inspires guests to get out of their rooms with an inviting, eclectic mix of modern furniture and stylish accent pieces where they can relax, work and take advantage of complimentary Wi-Fi. Each evening the hotel hosts a complimentary wine hour held in the Club Room and breakfast is served here daily. Set in the dynamic center of Midtown Manhattan - Fifty NYC provides a modern, artfully designed setting with a residential feel. Close proximity to Rockefeller Center - Fifth Avenue shopping and corporate headquarters makes Fifty NYC an appealing choice for a wide range of business travelers, couples, and international guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia 50 Hotel New York City
Affinia 50 New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.