We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel to your Saves list
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sunday Nights 50% off
Ranked #157 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here on your honeymoon last Summer. After arriving at 7 am thinking that our room wouldn't be ready until 3 pm we were delighted to find the hotel had our room ready for us which we felt was a lovely touch after an overnight flight.

The hotel is in a great location with a lovely little diner 4 doors down.

Staff were lovely and the rooms were beautiful.

If back in New York we would definitely stay in the Affinia 50 again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    68
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
74
44
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Visitors to Manhattan generally need to scale back their expectations on hotel room size or pay super high room rates. Affinia 50 has large (by NYC standard) rooms at reasonable room rates, as I've found in other Affinia's in NYC. Affinia 50 was recently remodeled, so the rooms are very clean and modern. We booked in the lowest category and there was still a bathtub and small refrigerator - luxuries for New York hotels!

We requested a quiet room and there was still some street noise, but I think that is unavoidable due to the hotel location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Fully completed renovation - never had a chance to see the second floor club suite until this trip and it was really well executed. The hotel has a wine hour (or two) each evening and the space provides a nice little spot to hang out.

The rooms are nice and well done - such a dramatic change post renovation, I like the little guest kitchen next to the registration desk - good sot for a late night snack or drink without the trek to Duane reade or cvs.

The only negative is I like a cold room and I just couldn't get the temperature low enough.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms facing the street (for light) but high up so I can avoid the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The delight begins at checkin --- warm smiles, bell staff that genuinely welcomes you, big smiles all around. I felt special from the moment I walked in.

I had booked a king studio, and it was a lovely room .. big kitchen, above average size bathroom (not small like many NYC hotels), and a large spacious bedroom with plenty of room to move around. There is a large work desk for setting up a laptop, and plenty of light and plugs easily accessible. The bed was firm and comfortable, with fine linens. The room had plenty of place to unpack clothes for a week, and a large in-room safe. In-room robes are not provided.

The bathroom was spacious, well provided with towels and amenities. THe shower had good water pressure, and the bathtub was spacious. My only minor complaint was there was black mold starting to grow on the caulking, and the ceiling above the shower/tub. Other than that, the suite was kept scrupulously clean.

One of the best parts is the club on the 2nd floor, where coffee and tea is available 24 hours a day (a nice touch...no need to find a starbucks early in the morning), and a social hour with wine is free for all guests from 5 to 6 pm. Free internet is also available in the club, so it was a nice scene with many guests around. Newspapers are here every day, and plentiful. ANd there's a healthclub with new equipment, bottled water (free), and towels.

I would come back here in a moment! Warm and gracious service, large spacious rooms, and great amenities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgehlich, General Manager at Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
EricNilson, thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I am delighted to hear that you found our team to be attentive, genuine, and engaging. Thank you for your descriptive comments about our newly renovated rooms, fitness center as well as our wonderful and vibrant Wine Hour. We are humbled by your commitment to return to the Affinia 50 and look forward to welcoming you back home in the near future!

Sincerely,

Brian Gehlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

First time to NY, Stayed for 4 nights over the weekend in May. Great hotel, perfected located in midtown. Hotel is bright, clean and homey. All we needed : )
Staff are professional and helpful, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Our family of four, 2 adults and 2 kids, just came back from a wonderful stay at the Affinia 50. The doormen, front desk and cleaning staff were friendly and helpful, the room was spacious, clean and nicely appointed (recent renovation), and the beds were very comfortable. Hotel was a great value. We also enjoyed the complimentary Wi-Fi Internet (from booking online on the hotel website). We did not come back early enough to try the 5pm-6pm complimentary wine/snack hour.

We loved that the train stop was so close by, that the E express train to/from LaGuardia Airport (via the Q70 limited bus) stopped minutes from the hotel as well, and that the M-50 crosstown bus was also just a block away. We also enjoyed the food in the area, great for four somewhat fussy but not fancy eaters, with an appreciative nod to the Treehaus around the corner.

There are the occasional sirens at night, which the windows could not keep out entirely (there is a police precinct across the street (51st)), but the sirens were fairly infrequent and did not generally sound in the late-night/early morning hours. If you're a super light sleeper, this may be a problem but after long days of sight-seeing/shopping, we weren't bothered by this at all.

Some visitors may find this location to be a bit dull (it's definitely not Times Square) but we found it safe and convenient and most importantly - for the kids - we were very close to the Rockefeller Plaza (home to the Lego store and Nintendo World), the FAO Schwarz toy store as well as Central Park and Sony's Wonder Technology Lab. We were also not far from the Times Square Toys r' Us, although a wee bit farther from The Forbidden Planet collectibles store.

We were here a few years ago, before the recent renovations, and we liked the big rooms and location then. Post-renovations, the place is even better. Note that there are several hotels on the same side of the street as Affinia 50, pretty much side by side, and there are renovations continuing (lots of scaffolding still).

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Affina 50 for a short trip in early June. The front desk service was amazing, allowing us both an early check-in and a late check-out due to some special needs. The hotel was updated, clean and offered very nice sized room. A nice peak is the fun, friendly doormen ... always offering a big smile when coming and going. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 155 East 50th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in New York City
#91 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
#177 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly redesigned Fifty NYC just completed a comprehensive redesign of all guest rooms and suites as well as its public spaces (corridors, lobby and second floor club room). Fifty NYC hotel has 251 beautifully redesigned rooms including 100 with kitchens and 19 with terraces. All with eclectic furnishings that look hand-selected; curated details at every corner and well-considered design down to the last, elegant component. New to the lobby is a grab-and-go retail space featuring food, beverages, sundries and fun, curated merchandise for spur-of-the-moment splurges. The redesign connects the lobby and the Club Room via a sweeping, stainless steel-and-stone staircase to an updated oasis. The design of the second floor Club Room inspires guests to get out of their rooms with an inviting, eclectic mix of modern furniture and stylish accent pieces where they can relax, work and take advantage of complimentary Wi-Fi. Each evening the hotel hosts a complimentary wine hour held in the Club Room and breakfast is served here daily. Set in the dynamic center of Midtown Manhattan - Fifty NYC provides a modern, artfully designed setting with a residential feel. Close proximity to Rockefeller Center - Fifth Avenue shopping and corporate headquarters makes Fifty NYC an appealing choice for a wide range of business travelers, couples, and international guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia 50 Hotel New York City
Affinia 50 New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.