We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet digs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AKA United Nations

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added AKA United Nations to your Saves list
AKA United Nations
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   234 E 46th St, btwn 2nd & 3rd Aves, New York City, NY 10017   |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sweet digs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful experience at AKA UN property in New York. A little off the beaten path - which we were looking for - was the right approach for our couples weekend in the City. The former company I worked for has a relationship with the owner of this property, so I wasn't quite sure what to expect. However, from check-in to amenities to location to check-out the place was excellent. I look forward to the next NYC visit so we can re-book at this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
8
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have been working in NYC the past 6 months and will sadly be departing soon.My job requires a lot of travel, and so many times I have been less then satisfied with my accommodations, but this time I stayed at the AKA UN and it has been so nice and easy. The rooms are great, spacious enough for my wife and I, plus the occasional visitor, a nice kitchen, bed, bath, easy access to anywhere I want to go as it is located a few short blocks from Grand Central. But mostly of all the staff has been amazing! The kind people at the front desk are so helpful, accommodating and lovely. If any thing arose, they were here to deal with it right away with a smile and professionalism. I will always make sure I book a room here as it has been a great experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Wonderful staff, horrible place. Dingy, filthy, moldy, musty. Every hallway smells, laundry area reeks. Do not stay here if you haven't had a tetanus shot. Outdated furniture. Spend the money somewhere else to get a clean place. What a sham. Shame on them for letting this place go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was working in NYC for 1 year and found this location. I also visited for a couple nights again last year and dropped by to say hello 3 weeks ago.
I stayed here for 1 year and was extremly satisfied with the accomodation, service and security.
All and I mean all of the desk staff, doormen and managers were the nicest folks you could ever meet. It truely felt like home. The apartement was larger than most NYC apts and the applicances including the 42 inch HD TV were new.
I really miss AKA and the staff/management

Room Tip: Go for the newer renovated lower floor without balcony. Note this is a longer term stay place not an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for a week in February 2012. Price was great, value for money was remarkable! Our suite was sizable, clean and stylish. We even had some friends staying for a night over at the suite with us, and it still didn't feel too small. Only negative issue is the breakfast, which is not too great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I agree with the previous review so reused the headline. I was initially unenthusiastic about the location but it is very close to Grand Central (not to mention Grand Central Market). It is also a quiet street. The rooms and amenities are good and the staff are excellent, above and beyond.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good extended stay hotel right between the UN and Grand Central Terminal. I was there during hurricane Sandy and they had back up power, stocked up on water for us and were always cheerful. Higher floors are recommended to mitigate traffic noise, though not ban being on a quiet section of 46th St. Everything you need is within walking distance. Rooms clean, modern tho the bathrooms are small. Kitchen has an oven as well as microwave and stove, a plus.

Room Tip: Higher floors, but remember, only two elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AKA United Nations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA United Nations

Address: 234 E 46th St, btwn 2nd & 3rd Aves, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 186 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA United Nations 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your AKA United Nations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka United Nations Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AKA United Nations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.