We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Like Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AKA United Nations

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AKA United Nations to your Saves list
AKA United Nations
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   234 E 46th St, btwn 2nd & 3rd Aves, New York City, NY 10017 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Like Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have been working in NYC the past 6 months and will sadly be departing soon.My job requires a lot of travel, and so many times I have been less then satisfied with my accommodations, but this time I stayed at the AKA UN and it has been so nice and easy. The rooms are great, spacious enough for my wife and I, plus the occasional visitor, a nice kitchen, bed, bath, easy access to anywhere I want to go as it is located a few short blocks from Grand Central. But mostly of all the staff has been amazing! The kind people at the front desk are so helpful, accommodating and lovely. If any thing arose, they were here to deal with it right away with a smile and professionalism. I will always make sure I book a room here as it has been a great experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Wonderful staff, horrible place. Dingy, filthy, moldy, musty. Every hallway smells, laundry area reeks. Do not stay here if you haven't had a tetanus shot. Outdated furniture. Spend the money somewhere else to get a clean place. What a sham. Shame on them for letting this place go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was working in NYC for 1 year and found this location. I also visited for a couple nights again last year and dropped by to say hello 3 weeks ago.
I stayed here for 1 year and was extremly satisfied with the accomodation, service and security.
All and I mean all of the desk staff, doormen and managers were the nicest folks you could ever meet. It truely felt like home. The apartement was larger than most NYC apts and the applicances including the 42 inch HD TV were new.
I really miss AKA and the staff/management

Room Tip: Go for the newer renovated lower floor without balcony. Note this is a longer term stay place not an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for a week in February 2012. Price was great, value for money was remarkable! Our suite was sizable, clean and stylish. We even had some friends staying for a night over at the suite with us, and it still didn't feel too small. Only negative issue is the breakfast, which is not too great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoyFinn-69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I agree with the previous review so reused the headline. I was initially unenthusiastic about the location but it is very close to Grand Central (not to mention Grand Central Market). It is also a quiet street. The rooms and amenities are good and the staff are excellent, above and beyond.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAtraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good extended stay hotel right between the UN and Grand Central Terminal. I was there during hurricane Sandy and they had back up power, stocked up on water for us and were always cheerful. Higher floors are recommended to mitigate traffic noise, though not ban being on a quiet section of 46th St. Everything you need is within walking distance. Rooms clean, modern tho the bathrooms are small. Kitchen has an oven as well as microwave and stove, a plus.

Room Tip: Higher floors, but remember, only two elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
281 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Aka united nations is perfectly located, well equipped, European style with all amenities e.g. In the kitchen you need. Stuff is professional and always friendly and helpful. Internet is free and with perfect speed. Forget about the breakfast that is just coffee, apples and pastries. And be aware that the aircon is not up to date and more old fashioned and extreme noisy. All in all a perfect alternative to a hotel if you stay longer in NYC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Wyndham Midtown 45
The Wyndham Midtown 45
#361 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#175 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Midtown
AKA Sutton Place
AKA Sutton Place
#20 of 193 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#8 of 193 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#7 of 193 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Midtown
The William
The William
#10 of 193 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA United Nations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA United Nations

Address: 234 E 46th St, btwn 2nd & 3rd Aves, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 193 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA United Nations 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your AKA United Nations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka United Nations Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing