We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Tudor!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tudor City

Tudor City
New York City, NY (Manhattan)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #245 of 633 Attractions in New York City
Type: Neighborhoods, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A unique neighborhood with an interesting history and escape from the hectic pace of NYC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
94 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Very Tudor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I wanted to see these buildings to find out if they really did have a tudor style architecture and they do!
Plenty of red brick,window panes and decorative parts at the top of the buildings. Just compare your photos with Hampton court (London) or Hatfield house (Hertfordshire, England) to see what I mean. Strange to find this kind of building in Manhatten but it adds a bit of a historical feature. Worth looking out for if you're on the east side of town.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Real suprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

On a recent visit to NYC we went for a wander around 1st and 2nd avenue near to the UN building. We stumbled across Tudor City and found it to be a beautiful little place with real character and some nice eating places and great photo opportunities. Well worth a look and remember your camera.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori, Finland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Mystic buildings of Tudor City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Before my first trip in NYC Tudor city means very mystic New York neighborhood. It was dream like to see Tudor in real life. I wondered around the block and parks behind the buildings and imagined what it would be live in here. Location is so great : same time quite peaceful but still just few blocks from central station.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Away from the hub-bub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My friend lives here and this is my home-away-from-home in NYC. I love how tranquil it is with great views of the East River and easy access to the East River Ferry and Grand Central. Here, you are in the middle of NYC without all the noise and congestion.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohnton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I go here everytime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Great Hotel Great Price GM MR Llach is a great person, professional staff. nuff said

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tudor City also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Tudor City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tudor City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.