We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pure Food and Wine

Pure Food and Wine
54 Irving Pl, New York City, NY 10003-2314 (Manhattan)
212-477-1010
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pure Food and Wine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #114 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Asian, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 17th Street
Transit: 4,5,6, N,Q,R,W and L trains to Union Square
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overall very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Being a small place, it fills up really quickly, so need to get the reservations in early. The menu is good with very interesting dishes using unique ingredients.
I tried the philly rolls as a starter, which was really good.
Being a non-drinker, we went for the teas, which were excellent.
The entrees all were of a pretty decent portion size, which was a pleasant suprise, since our past experience at such gourmet vegan places has been that the portion sizes were almost bite sized!

It is a bit pricey, but food and service is excellent, so good for special occasions

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    50
    19
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

By far my best meal in NYC! Even if you do not enjoy vegan raw food, you should give it a try... everything in the menu is fantastic. I recommend the "cheese" plate for appetizer. All cheeses are made with cashews and they are delicious. Do leave space for desert.. they are the best!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Purely Delicious (for Vegans only)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Vegans will love, carnivores probably not. Fantastic atmosphere, service and innovative dishes. My non-Vegan husband left... hungry! Try Candle 79 uptown if you are dining with a non-Vegan.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent natural food resturant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you want a great raw food resturant Pure is it. Fist time I ever ate at one and I was inpressed. Great presentation, nice ambiance, friendly and attentive service. It's kind of pricey, but very unique and expertly done. I highly recommend it!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Pure Food on Madison/97th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Not sure if this is a satilite of the origanal. Same name but with out the wine. All veggies too. Soups and salads are awesome. Smoothies and shakes as well. My family came from the west coast and needed foods that were similar to our normal diets. This was a great find while staying in the area for several weeks. Food was fresh and priced right. A lot to choose from.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Pure Food and Wine also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Pure Food and Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pure Food and Wine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.