We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your tissues! Carol King the legend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beautiful - The Carole King Musical

Beautiful - The Carole King Musical
124 West 43 Street, Stephen Sondheim Theatre, New York City, NY 10036
+1 212-239-6200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 809 Activities in New York City
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Long before she was Carole King, chart-topping music legend, she was Carol Klein, Brooklyn girl with passion and chutzpah. She fought her way into the record business as a teenager and, by the time she reached her twenties, had the husband of her dreams and a flourishing career writing hits for the biggest acts in rock 'n' roll. But it wasn't until her personal life began to crack that she finally managed to find her true voice.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Bring your tissues! Carol King the legend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The play was so fun! The acting was triple A+; the music was AMAZING! this is a must see for anyone who grew up in the 50's or 60's - who liked Carol King. Really lovely piece of Americana

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,316
    141
    14
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Would Definitely See It Again!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We thought we would like this play just based on the music, but it was even better than we thought it would be. In fact it is the best musical I've ever seen. Jessie Mueller IS Carole King -- I don't know where they found her, but it is almost eerie how much she resembles Ms. King. And, if you close your eyes when she is singing, you can barely tell the difference between the two. The rest of the cast was stellar as well. It was almost like being at a concert, with song after song. And the actors who played the Drifters, the Shirelles and all the rest were just as good, if not better, than the originals. Plus, the storyline was very emotional and real. I had no idea of Carole King's background and seeing this play helped me understand the lyrics to a lot of her songs as they were taken from her life. If Ms. Mueller doesn't win a Tony for this performance, there is no justice in the world! Go see it - you won't be disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcott, Connecticut
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Worth going to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Loved the show. Jessie Mueller nailed the role. She, along with the rest of the cast, was amazing. You'll know the songs. They were integrated into the show beautifully. It was funny and quirky. You found yourself singing along with the rest of the audience.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“brought tears to my eyes and it's not even my music era”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

educational (from a historical perspective and how music writing worked), emotional storyline, and of course, great music. a must see for any music lover!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RESTON
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Carry Me Back to High School”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Great music and very interesting story. Had no idea at the time where the music came from and especially that it was written by a female. The young woman next to us loved it because it reminded her of being in the car with her mother and grandmother.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beautiful - The Carole King Musical also viewed

 

Been to Beautiful - The Carole King Musical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beautiful - The Carole King Musical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.