We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great story and fabulous music!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beautiful - The Carole King Musical

Beautiful - The Carole King Musical
124 West 43 Street, Stephen Sondheim Theatre, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)
+1 212-239-6200
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Long before she was Carole King, chart-topping music legend, she was Carol Klein, Brooklyn girl with passion and chutzpah. She fought her way into the record business as a teenager and, by the time she reached her twenties, had the husband of her dreams and a flourishing career writing hits for the biggest acts in rock 'n' roll. But it wasn't until her personal life began to crack that she finally managed to find her true voice.
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great story and fabulous music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is a very special show because of the fact based and moving story of Carole King's rise from reticent Brooklyn teenager to Carnegie Hall performer and Grammy winning singer/songwriter. The music is just incredible, and the story itself is both moving and uplifting.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,641
    169
    19
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A delight from beginning to end!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We bought tickets to this show on a whim and it ended up being the highlight of our trip! We did not know Carol King's personal story and it is impressive to say the least. The cast was very talented, especially Jessie Mueller. Many in the audience were singing along long before we were invited to do so. You will leave with a smile on your face and a kick in your step.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful rocks the stage and the soul!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The music was spot on wonderful! And the story was very engaging. I had no idea that Carole King was involved in so many songs before Tapestry came out. A must-see nod being in New York to do it is a total bonus.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Beyond Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Growing up on the sounds of Carol King's music then embracing her as a performer through Tapestry went full circle. From high school to college she provided my musical soundtrack. Watching the evolution at tonight's show was truly remarkable. Knowing every word and recalling all the moments listening to her huge variety of music always Wows me. The cast was spot on and Carol was absolutely outstanding.Bravo I enjoyed absolutely every moment.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We purchased tickets only a couple f weeks before the show, so our seat choices were limited. We sat in the next to last row in the orchestra, on the aisle closest to the center. Although these were not "bad" seats it was difficult to see the expressions and nuances of the actors.
This is a good, not great show. Having said that you would think in phenomenal based on the audience reaction.
It moves at a good pace, the writing is excellent, the music wonderful and the actors seem to love what they do.
For me, it just didn't catch fire like Jersey Boys did.
This show will be on Broadway awhile, and I won't be surprised if it captures a couple of Tony's. Glad I went but not on my top ten.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beautiful - The Carole King Musical also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Beautiful - The Carole King Musical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beautiful - The Carole King Musical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.