We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but plenty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marlton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Marlton Hotel to your Saves list
The Marlton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 West 8th Street, New York City, NY (Greenwich Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Conesus, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Small but plenty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Rooms are somewhat smaller than certain other hotels, quite European in that regard, but very nicely appointed.Very clean and attractive. The fixtures in the bath are of a quality above those normally found in the US. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. We liked the location very much.

Room Tip: We had 711 with a nice nicer than average view compared to other Manhattan Hotels we've stayed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    64
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
23
86
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This hotel was great! It was right on the heart of Greenwich village, very close to the n-r subway. Yes the rooms were small, but as far as New York goes, that's pretty standard. You just have to be creative. We unpacked most of out luggage then slid our suitcases under the bed. Problem solved! My only complaint (and I don't think it's any fault of the hotel) was that we were situated right next to a privately owned apartment who had yappy little dogs.. This was unpleasant as they liked to bark at 5.30 in the morning every day. That's why I gave it a 4 rather than a 5. Otherwise our stay was excellent.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

The hotel has a great old school speakeasy vibe that encapsulates the area. Mix with friendly locals in the bustling bar before having one of the best hotels sleeps I've experienced. Clean, fresh, bright rooms coupled with helpful attentive staff equals a great stay- my wife and I will definitely return.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We booked there for 7days -unfortunately. Knew it was compact, but it is i fact unprofessional hotel wise. Rooms are made - if you call room service 5 hours after having left at 10 am with the sign Make my room sign. The AC is fixed after the second request.
Spending so many nights gives a genuine impression of how guests are considered. The location is perfect - but does that gives the management the right to be reluctant to service?

It is indeed a pity that such a nice place - design wise - is having an absence of custumer focus.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus N, General Manager at The Marlton Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
We thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Marlton while visiting NYC.
We do regret that our service and accommodations are not fully meeting your needs.
It’s not often we get this kind of feedback, and rest assured, we are taking your comments very seriously and are currently taking steps to ensure your concerns are addressed.
As you are still staying at the hotel with us, please contact us to discuss these matters in further detail so that we may ensure the remainder of your stay with us is an enjoyable one.

Sincerely,

Marcus Nicolaidis, General Manager
Eric Jasper, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

100 room boutique hotel within 2 blocks of Washington Square. Located also close to New York University. Lower East side.....walk everywhere....great restaurants, shopping , wonderful safe community. Hotel has lovely restaurant, a fire going in the inviting, comfortable lobby. The rooms are very small, but very nice. It reminds me of old European hotels. I loved the warmth, friendliness & community! Very quiet area....I am coming back here when I visit NYC! Cabs and subway available to anywhere in the city just outside.

Room Tip: Just ask for the larger, the better.......rooms in NY are not known for being large.........some are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Marlton on our first and last nights of an east coast vacation. The location is terrific - close to NYU, Washington Square Park, shops and restaurants - although the restaurant in the hotel itself was really good. We had the complimentary breakfast there. there's a choice of juice, fruit and yogurt (which we both chose) or assorted pastries, both with coffee. Our room, 816, was clean, cozy with plenty of room enough for our luggage, and quiet. All the staff was extremely helpful. When I needed help printing my boarding pass from my Kindle, the front desk staff gladly helped me out. The lobby is charming and quite inviting. It's a great place to just relax and hang out. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

An unusual hotel, a fire raging with air con... But v small rooms with v comfy beds and beautiful bathrooms with marble and brass fittings. Restaurant unusual food trying to get a teenage boys to eat cheese and kale muffin ... Compliment breakfast a lovely extra, thankyou.
In the best area of NYC, forget Time square! Bleeker st restaurants brill:)) plan visit again but with a suite!!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlton Hotel

Address: 5 West 8th Street, New York City, NY
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Marlton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Marlton Hotel, located in the heart of Greenwich Village, comes the latest vision of Hotelier Sean MacPherson. This elegantly restored landmark building was formerly a home to famous artistic figures of the Bohemian and Beat movements, ‘most notably Jack Kerouac’. MacPherson redesigned the property by combining the original architecture with updated French influences for a look inspired by Paris and Greenwich Village history. This “baby grand” hotel guest rooms are charmingly petite yet grand in décor. Guest rooms feature herringbone wood floors, brass fixtures, crown moldings, and marble bathrooms.The ground floor of the property features a 100-seat restaurant with a coffee bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Marlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.