We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel near Washington Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marlton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Marlton Hotel to your Saves list
The Marlton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 West 8th Street, New York City, NY (Greenwich Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Brockville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel near Washington Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very nice small hotel in lower Manhattan. Very good access to the subway (only a few blocks away). Close proximity to Washington Square and minutes from Greenwich Village. I walked to the High Line from the hotel in about 20 minutes. Many very nice restaurants nearby (check out Bobby Flay's Gato). As well the hotel restaurant was very too. We had an excellent breakfast and a good dinner in the hotel. The price is very good. The front desk was very helpful with New York questions. My only quibble is slow bar service.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view. Quieter than a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    59
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
79
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The hotel is very up-front about the rooms being small. That's fair enough. I've stayed in many small hotel rooms in New York City, so I wasn't unprepared.... But the room we stayed in at the Marlton was so small that the door to the bathroom only opened a third of the way before it collided with the bed. In our room, there was only about 50 cms of space between the bed and the wall, so you could just about shuffle around the side of the bed, but that was all. So, yes, the rooms are very very small.

However, our room was very well-appointed, tastefully-furnished, and the bed was comfortable. The bed-linen and the towels were good quality, and there were robes and slippers. The shower was excellent and - despite the size of the bedroom - the bathroom wasn't any smaller than a lot of other bathrooms I've experienced in New York hotels.

The hotel has a great atmosphere. The staff are friendly, and the bar downstairs is very popular. And the location is great - it's a short walk from a plethora of excellent bars and restaurants in Greenwich Village, and the nearest subway station is only a few minutes' walk away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont North Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I am going to rate the Marlton with the full five points simply because our experience there was so pleasant. First of all, the hotel is conveniently located for any downtown Manhattan activity; so much of the Village was in easy walking distance. Secondly, it is a truly lovely property with a very European feel. The room was comfortable, the bathroom was updated and spacious, and the closet provided adequate storage and hanging space for two adults. The linens and toiletries were top quality. An iron and ironing board were provided as well as a safe, a minibar, robes, slippers, etc. The air conditioning worked beautifully and was unusually quiet, and there was a large screen TV if one wants to spend time in the room. The lobby is remarkably "homey" and we entertained some friends there with drinks from the bar. We are not accustomed to dining in hotel restaurants, but we dined in the restaurant our last night there as we had heard from locals that it had a very good reputation; we were not at all disappointed in the food, but the wine list needs some scrutiny. Last, and by no means least, I want to commend the staff (reception, bar, cafe, restaurant and housekeeping) for their wonderful hospitality. Being from the South, I often expect less than the warmest reception "up north". The Marlton staff was friendly, helpful and genuinely concerned that we had a comfortable and pleasant stay while in the big city.

Room Tip: The rooms near the back of the hotel are nearly exempt from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at the Marlton and loved it! The rooms are on the smaller side, but this is to be expected in New York I guess. Regardless, we had a comfortable stay; therooms were spotlessly clean and the small little touches in the room such as the pocket tissues and slippers were appreciated. The Parisian/vintage style of the hotel/room felt like I was in Wes Anderson movie - if you're after a little something different, this hotel is highly recommended! Worth trying one or two cocktails in the bar downstairs too.
The location is pretty and great for exploring too. I highly recommend Amelies wine bar across the road from the hotel (it has a great happy hour) and for a amazing slice of NY pizza head to Two Boots on Bleeker street :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is a very nice place to stay. We had one of the slightly larger rooms and everything was great. The room clean with a vintage touch. There were great smelling amenities like the soap, shampoo and lotion. We had a very comfortable stay and will be returning there to stay again.

Room Tip: The slightly larger rooms cost a little more but are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane_Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We picked this hotel at the last moment based on some reviews here on Tripadvisor.

We were not disappointed. The room (701) had a view of the street and was light and airy. It was spotlessly clean. It had a beautiful old character but was full of all the modern touches.

Unlike many New York hotels, it had a safe, a fridge, a minibar, wonderful modern air-conditioning and a great shower with no bath to step over. It had a beautiful Samsung TV with digital television and cable. It was a beautiful picture unlike most hotels that had analogue TV. (Who can believe that the USA still has analogue TV!)

It's right around the corner from Washington Square and wonderful shops, bars and restaurants are all within walking distance. So too are the subway and busses very close. Busses can be problematic though. Many drivers refuse to communicate and are only vaguely aware that they are carrying passengers.

The hotel staff are one of its biggest assets. They are very friendly and helpful.

Get down to this hotel - it's fantastic! We will be going back

Room Tip: Room 701 is magic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently on a four day trip to see the city en route to Rhode Island. We had two rooms, one twin and the other double, both were clean and welcoming with plenty of hot water! Being NYC the rooms are on the small side, however very comfortable. The hotel is in a great location, greenwich village has plenty of shops and restaurants plus of course Washington square. Being four of us we used cabs as the cheapest form of moving through the city and greenwich village is midway between the uptown sights and the lower manhattan areas.
We didn't eat in the hotel, so can't comment on the fare, however with the multitude of restaurants and a patisserie two doors away you won't be short of food choice.
The staff were very welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. The other major plus point is that for New York the hotel and area is relatively quiet at night, no wailing sirens!
Would happily stay here again and recommend to friends.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlton Hotel

Address: 5 West 8th Street, New York City, NY
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Marlton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Marlton Hotel, located in the heart of Greenwich Village, comes the latest vision of Hotelier Sean MacPherson. This elegantly restored landmark building was formerly a home to famous artistic figures of the Bohemian and Beat movements, ‘most notably Jack Kerouac’. MacPherson redesigned the property by combining the original architecture with updated French influences for a look inspired by Paris and Greenwich Village history. This “baby grand” hotel guest rooms are charmingly petite yet grand in décor. Guest rooms feature herringbone wood floors, brass fixtures, crown moldings, and marble bathrooms.The ground floor of the property features a 100-seat restaurant with a coffee bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your The Marlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.