We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable Little Rooms Close to Washington Square Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marlton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Marlton Hotel to your Saves list
The Marlton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 West 8th Street, New York City, NY (Greenwich Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Adorable Little Rooms Close to Washington Square Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My daughter and I spent two nights in a twin room at the Marlton in April.

I chose this hotel for its Greenwich Village location close to Washington Square Park and within easy walking distance to Dominique Ansel bakery (to try their cronut); relatively affordable price, and the Parisian hotel-inspired interiors (same Californian designer as the Bowery hotel).

Charming Room Decor
Our room, 812, was really pretty with mouldings and high ceilings, herringbone patterned wood floors, high beds with Louis XVI style headboards upholstered in aqua velvet, monogrammed linens, and fur throws. The light fixtures were quirky and fun - an Alexander Calder mobile-inspired overhead lamp and sconces in the shape of a hand.

Small Size
The bedroom was small (perhaps 150 sq. ft.). We knew it would be. The big drawback with the size is there is no room for a chair so if you want to sit, you must sit on the bed. One wall is mirrored which helped keep the room feeling open. You can stow luggage under the bed.

No View
We only had one narrow window and even though we had asked for a view, I don't think any rooms in the hotel really have a view.

Bathroom
Although the bedroom was small, the bathroom was roomy enough. The fixtures are all brass and the floor tiles are a black and white check. Beautiful materials with an historical reference.

No tissues in the bathroom. Plush robe with nice monogram but no slippers.

On a side note, there is far too much water pressure at the Marlton. It was uncomfortable to shower with so much water coming down. I found it ironic that there is an option to conserve water by reusing towels when so much water is being wasted in the shower.

Needs Improvement
A couple of things I didn't like at the Marlton include; sloppy construction with paint drips on the windows and floors, a cupboard door that wouldn't stay shut, and hardware on the door frame that was half torn off so that the door didn't close properly. The door lock did not feel secure. Additionally, all the seams between the mouldings have not been smoothed over so what should have looked historic, instead looked recently and hastily installed. Lastly, we heard our neighbors through the thin walls and the doors made a lot of noise as they slammed shut.

Location
I loved the location. It is a bit of a bohemian neighborhood. There is a Stumptown coffee bar at the corner. A CVS pharmacy is just down the street. Washington Square Park and some of the NYU buildings are around the block. It is a 5-10 minute walk to subway stations.

Overall
Great location with super charming rooms but I am not sure I would want to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room but I am not sure there are any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    59
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
78
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Our two night stay at the Marlton Hotel was the perfect respite. It possesses a balancing energy- the pulse of both creativity and lounging.

The staff was exceptionally helpful and welcoming. Our room was clean, comfortable, surprisingly and well designed. The engaging and graphic touches of light fixtures, art and moulding disguises the small square footage. If you favor style over space, you will luxuriate in the Marlton.

I enjoyed the morning with a lovely breakfast in the restaurant's atrium and the afternoon with a classic cocktail at the bar. There are many extraordinary dining spots nearby and the front desk can offer local faves. My choices- Joseph Leonard and Fedora.

Also, if you are like me and spend all day walking - 4 hour art binges at the Moma one day and another at the Met- you should visit the reflexologist down the street. A 40 minute massage will restore you for a fair price and you can hit the streets again.

Sadly, many of the new and chic hotels suffer from pretentious posturing. But I found the Marlton Hotel to be a surprising antidote to the hipster hangover. It was quite unique and charming, in that perfect Greenwich Village way. I shall return again and often.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a room on the 7th floor. Quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Honestly, I had low expectations about this hotel. Another hip NY hotel, I thought. I had my share of those over the years. But was I wrong!!! Honestly I had the best time ever.
The room, first class. Compact, stylish, awesome linens, comfortable mattress...what else could one expect? Quiet! Yes very quiet, I was on room 710 facing the street but I slept like a baby.
The staff was so professional and nice, the cleaning ladies did a great job, the doormen were all cool and warm...
It is probably not for everybody, and what I mean is this: if you like a "traditional" hotel with a formal lobby and so, please do not book here because you could feel out of place. It is a modern twist on a boutique hotel, with a lounge area at the entrance that is lively and cool. The restaurant (Margaux) deserves a separate review, I had dinner there one night and it was fantastic.
I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

The styling of the hotel is really gorgeous and the lobby/bar scene is fantastic, location is brilliant, it is a bit quirky... We arrived late and were given a really rubbish room which was tiny (we were expecting small) and overlooked a fire escape with a loud air con noise. We discussed this and were moved to a room which was MILES better, much larger with more furniture and more than 10inches round the bed. This room was brilliant. We were told they were the same grade (Queen) so be careful and make sure you ask. Also the staff (who all look and dress like extras from Gossip Girl) are obviously briefed to take a really relaxed, intelligent individual approach, they're a bit like the staff at Soho House. This works amazingly well for the more senior ones who can pull it off but some of the waiters were just plain rude and seemed to be off their heads. Anyway we had a good time laughing at them.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

You know you're onto something intimate and different as soon as you come in the front door: a fireplace with easy chairs and sofa's (and waiter service) invites you on the left, a coffee bar that serves great espresso drinks with tables for either a laptop or a book is on the right, and straight ahead is the front desk where you check in to pick up your room key, attached to a round ceramic medallion that reminded me of European hotels mostly long gone. And the lobby is paneled with dark wood and the lighting is well-done. The rest of the Marlton lives up to the promise. The staff is friendly and efficient, the restaurant off the lobby delicious. Upstairs the rooms are lovely, although somewhat small: there is no desk, and only a garden stool to sit on. But the decoration is elegantly simple and I didn't care. The queen bed was comfy, the small closet adequate, the big flat-screen TV more than enough, and best of all, the windows open if you like some outside air. Bottom line? The Marlton is a fine place, especially for the moderate price. Check it out!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orvieto, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed 4 nights mid-march and just loved it: location, flavour, style, refinement, price. It’s walking distance to almost all good places, from the Meatpacking to the West Village to Soho.
By now we all know the rooms are really really small …so ?
The beds and sheets are the best I’ve had in NY, much better than some 5*L in NYC. The staff is friendly in a an informal ‘non commercial’, yet efficient way. The lobby can be very crowded in the evening, like walking into a private party where you don’t know anyone, but the doorman seems to recognise the hotel’s guests instantly in the crowd, and make them feel ‘welcome back home’ each time.
I’ll most certainly go back.

Room Tip: I was on the fourth floor at the back: no view but very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Thank you to Sarah Levitt and Eric Jasper who made our stay at the Marlton one of the best hotel experiences of our life. Great service, gracious hosts and beautiful ambiance make this one of NYC's best hotels. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlton Hotel

Address: 5 West 8th Street, New York City, NY
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Greenwich Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Marlton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the Marlton Hotel, located in the heart of Greenwich Village, comes the latest vision of Hotelier Sean MacPherson. This elegantly restored landmark building was formerly a home to famous artistic figures of the Bohemian and Beat movements, ‘most notably Jack Kerouac’. MacPherson redesigned the property by combining the original architecture with updated French influences for a look inspired by Paris and Greenwich Village history. This “baby grand” hotel guest rooms are charmingly petite yet grand in décor. Guest rooms feature herringbone wood floors, brass fixtures, crown moldings, and marble bathrooms.The ground floor of the property features a 100-seat restaurant with a coffee bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Marlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.