We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 24 hour restaurant with classic French food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Roast Cafe Uptown

French Roast Cafe Uptown
2340 Broadway, New York City, NY 10024-3202 (Upper West Side)
(212) 799-1533
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,841 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: French, Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Woodside, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great 24 hour restaurant with classic French food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We always go at least twice a week when I'm in NY. They have some american classics - burgers, mac-n-cheese - but french classics also. The mashed potatoes are heaven, no really!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    39
    24
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Just North of NYC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very so so.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

hi,
here are the facts.
1- The oatmeal came out cold with a skin on it. it might of sat a little to long before serving.
2- Yeah. It was busy. But that should not be an excuse.
3- one of the only restaurants left in the western hemisphere that does not have splenda.... I guess the owner is to cheap...or just does not care.
4- The staff was great.
5-They let us sit and talk without rushing us.
6- the coffee was better then most.
7- $4.00 for a bagel... even for the upper west side, thats a lot.
8- looks nice... but just so so.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daphne, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Went to the one on broadway near where we stayed. Sat outside and ate as we people watched. Had the best roasted chicken ever! The dessert crepes were wonderful. Recommend highly. Service was excellent.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This cute french restaurant/cafe has become one of my favorite places to go with my wife whenever we're in the Upper West Side. It is open 24 hours which is a big plus. The restaurant is very romantic at night time especially during cold winter nights. During the summer time there's outdoor seating. Their wines are at reasonable prices, the food is excellent and fresh. For desert I recommend the lava chocolate cake is to die for. French Roast is your typical French style restaurant/cafe' you truly feel like you are in Paris.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Summer salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

French Roast has an amazing salad made from watermelon, red onions, greens and I think it's a raspberry dressing. I loved every refreshing morsel of it and then tucked into a succulent pork chop! My dinner companions loved their medium rare steak frite. Great dinner. Would go there again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Roast Cafe Uptown also viewed

 

Been to French Roast Cafe Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Roast Cafe Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.