We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick breakfast, no good and bad coffee” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Europa - Sixth Ave

Cafe Europa - Sixth Ave
1177 Sixth Ave., New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)
212-575-7272
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,792 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Neighborhood: Midtown
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quick breakfast, no good and bad coffee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We went for a quick to go breakfast on our way to 30 Rock for an NBC Studio Tour. We had tiny coffees from the hotel, but pitched them and ordered some regular sized coffees with our breakfast. That was a big mistake. Their coffee was really bland, like the kind you make in hotel rooms when you have no other options, but then still regret making it. Just bad. I ordered the breakfast wrap. It was just okay, kinda boring with no real flavor. My wife got the breakfast sandwich. Hers was actually wrong. She doesn't eat meat, but when she unwrapped it, realized that they had added ham. She picked it off, and said that it didn't taste very good. Overall, it all looked much better than it tasted. Maybe their baked stuff is better, but their coffee and breakfast is not good. You're better off hitting the Golden Arches across the street.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    42
    16
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good lunch place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Very reasonably priced place for lunch in the Times Square area. I had the egg salad sandwich and a water. Service was fast, the guy just pulled the sandwich out of the glass deli case and put it on my tray. Voila! Zero wait time. It was difficult to find a table, there were 3 of us so we had to split up, one friend saw another friend of hers so she left us and sat with her other friend and the two of us found a 2-top table to sit at in the middle of the seating area. There was no room on the table for his portfolio that he was carrying so he set it on the floor. No issues, this place has fast, healthy non-fast food options. I would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quick and Fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I stop in here every time I'm in the city. The salads are awesome and a great value. I've also had the quiche and sandwiches, which aren't quite as good of a deal but also delicious. Everything looks good and tastes great; I can't imagine going wrong with anything.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Healthy and great selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Loved this easily accessed deli off Times Square. Food is terrific and the environment is very bright and clean. Tables are the usual squishy teeny deli styles...and the restroom is one serves all. You might be standing in a line-up, but at least there is a restroom. Good value.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

The salad bar was amazing. The salads were very fresh. Get the Vinaigrette dressing to keep it gluten-free. My daughter had the non GF sandwiches and wraps - she loved them. The freshly squeezed orange juice rocked. And great desserts as well!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Europa - Sixth Ave also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Europa - Sixth Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Europa - Sixth Ave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.