We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUMM!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Curry in a Hurry

Curry in a Hurry
119 Lexington Avenue, Frnt 1, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)
212-683-0900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,935 of 11,599 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
San Antonio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“YUMM!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We ate at Curry in a Hurry on Thanksgiving Day for a quick lunch. The chicken tiki masala was amazing. We ordered one meal and it fed 4 of us for only about $15. They gave us so much food. We had the chicken, rice, naan, sauteed veggies, and then they brought out a turkey! They let everyone eating at the restaurant grab some free turkey. It was delicious also! At first the restaurant looks tiny but they provide seating upstairs. It's a very unique place. I would definitely recommend it to anyone craving Indian food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    12
    47
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vandoeuvre-les-Nancy, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat an affordable curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We were 3 to ate there. We were at first a bit worried about the old building and decorations but the waiter was very friendly. The dishes were simple but goods. It was what you expect to have when going to a curry restaurant. Not too spicy on the contrary of other restaurants we tried in the same street. It still had white rice after having finished my lamb curry and the waiter bring me a new plater of curry sauce to finish it and all that for free. I highly recommande this place if you want à good curry at a good price

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy, France
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We took beef and chicken curry, it was delicious. The waiter asks my friend if he would like some more sauce and came back with a second plate of beef curry, which costed nothing! he was very helpful, wanting us to feel well.
Prices are really low for the quality!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Food worth the trouble”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After being surrounded by many bland tourist oriented restaurants, we were craving some flavor. We took the subway to Murray Hill which has many East Indian restaurants, so we were happy to have a recommendation to narrow it down our choice. The building is old, with the cooking and take out on the tiny ground floor; seating is upstairs. The chicken madras, mixed veg jalfrezi, dosa and naan were great. It was very reasonable (takeout was cheaper), even though we had twice as much food as we needed!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“As authentic Indian cuisine as found in New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Well prepared, palate pleasing and extremely quick. Wait staff are very helpful and attentive. I've spent 4-5x uptown at other establishments uptown, but Curry In A Hurry can teach some of those how to satisfy customers desiring an authentic Indian experience. A definite must do lunch whenever you're in mid-town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry in a Hurry also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Curry in a Hurry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curry in a Hurry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.