We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decisions, decisions.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pasticceria Rocco

Pasticceria Rocco
243 Bleecker Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Rocco's Pastry & Espresso Café) (West Village)
212-242-6031
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 89 Ice Cream in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Late Night
Neighborhood: West Village
Description: Rocco's Pastry & Espresso Café is now Pasticceria Rocco - Same family, same great authentic pastries! Come in and indulge in sweet tradition.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Decisions, decisions.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place is manic if you're there at busy times! Be prepared to stand for a while and that you're able to make a decision on the most eye-popping selection of cakes/biscuits/pastries that I've ever seen before being shouted at by amusingly brusque (and efficient) staff to place your order.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    39
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MELBOURNE
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We first visited Rocco's a few years back after discovering it ona food and culture walking tour.
The cannoli is very good and there is a great selection of sweets.
I ordered tiramisu and found the cup filled with copious amounts of sweet cream. I removed all of it and ate 3-4 mouthfuls of biscuit which was all that was left.
I must admit I am a coffee snob and am spoilt with great coffee in Melbourne but I would prefer instant coffee out of a packet.
Waiter would have seen the discarded cream and the untouched coffee but wasn't very interested.
It's NY guys, don't waste your time, go elsewhere.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Sweet, sweet, sweet............”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Enjoyed looking at the grand selection of cookies and pastries displayed by this Village icon and finally picking out a couple of huge cookies and drinks. We enjoyed them in Father Domo park, just a few steps from the shop. A definite "must stop and sample" sweet shop.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

what a great selection of treats. I wanted to try everything they had. As we had had lunch before, we shared a big cookie and I drank a hot chocolate, definitely the best hot chocolate ever.
The atmosphere is nice, not so much space between the tables, we had a stroller so we were in a tight spot.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great cannoli but you have to eat it outside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was another stop on our foodie walking tour of Manhattan. I have never seen such a selection of cannoli and other sweet treats. The filling was really fresh and not heavy. The only thing was that we had eaten so much at other stops that day, that I really couldn't indulge too much here.

The one thing we did not like was that we were not allowed to sit down to eat the cannoli that we had just purchased. All of their tables were reserved for people who wanted to be served for real meals, which we were not interested in. So, we were basically shooed out of the shop after we all bought our treats and had to eat them outside on the sidewalk.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasticceria Rocco also viewed

 

Been to Pasticceria Rocco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasticceria Rocco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.