We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun BBQ on the Upper West Side” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brother Jimmy's - Amsterdam Ave.

Brother Jimmy's - Amsterdam Ave.
428 Amsterdam Ave., New York City, NY 10024 (Manhattan)
212-501-7515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,880 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fun BBQ on the Upper West Side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Brother Jimmy's is a fun place to dine at. The food is tasty. The beer is good. The service is excellent. I had a really fun time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    28
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wings & Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I've been to this place a couple of times and it has been a great experience !!
A bucket of wings and a couple of beers is all i needed to chill at that place.
Great Great Experience !!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went to this place last Tuesday and loved it! We were looking for wings, decided to try here and we can't wait to return. Awesome wings with some kind of homemade blue cheese dip that made me order their cookbook so I can try and imitate it at home. We ate at the bar and the bartender, Andrew, was a trip. A must do in NY!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding BBQ in New York - who knew?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This place was right around the corner from our hotel so we just happened upon it. We have traveled a bit around the south and tried plenty of BBQ from different areas and this stood up to the best. The place is a little crowded and beaten up but that's okay too. The staff was great and the menu covered all the expected bases. I had the bbq 1/2 chicken - it had the right amount of "smoke" and the sauce was zingy but not too hot. The pulled pork dinner and the brisket dinner were wonderful as well. We all cleaned our plates! There was plenty of food and we walked out full and happy. The side offerings are pretty typical - nothing inspiring - but tasty. My husband said the greens were better than usual -not bitter at all. The sweet potato fries were excellent - not greasy at all . The mashed potatoes and gravy had the whitest gravy I have ever seen but it was yummy in any case. The only suggestion I might have for this place would be to change/vary/expand the side dish offerings. How about deviled eggs or grits? I would definitely recommend this restaurant for good food, a comfortable place to fill up and have a beer and just "sit a spell."

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good down home BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service only it passes by good southern BBQ. Highly recommend the dry rubbed ribs. Simply succulent. Good place to go to just hang out and eat! Lev the pretentious at home!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brother Jimmy's - Amsterdam Ave. also viewed

 

Been to Brother Jimmy's - Amsterdam Ave.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brother Jimmy's - Amsterdam Ave., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.