We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good down home BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brother Jimmy's - Amsterdam Ave.

Brother Jimmy's - Amsterdam Ave.
428 Amsterdam Ave., New York City, NY 10024 (Upper West Side)
212-501-7515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5,254 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good down home BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service only it passes by good southern BBQ. Highly recommend the dry rubbed ribs. Simply succulent. Good place to go to just hang out and eat! Lev the pretentious at home!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    28
    17
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were only in New York for 3 nights (4 days) yet we ate in here 3 times! It was fantastic, great atmosphere, great staff and the pulled chicken wrap is a must!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, IA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Desperate to find a place to eat after standing in line for hours to view the Macy's parade balloons on Wednesday before big parade, we stumbled on to Brother Jimmy's. Food was good. Decor was a bit shabby. Noisy.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great in the past, disappointing this time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

sadly, after anticipating brother jimmy's delicious northern ribs and barbecued chicken combo the whole time we walked central park all day last sunday, we arrived to find the restaurant had run out - of both! a plate full of the southern ribs would satisfy our hunger, but past visits have proved the northern ribs to be our fave. the intent of this review is not to pan the restaurant fare or service, we've always been happy with past visits; it's to recommend that their signature dishes be always available and that diners arrive earlier in the evening or earlier in the week. sunday at 8:00pm proved to be a 'too little too late' situation for us. on that note, after making our leave we luckily stumbled upon "fred's" (also on amsterdam) and had a delicious meal!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, good drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Brother Jimmy's is a fun bar - the sign over the bar says it all: Be nice or leave. Everyone is friendly, the bartender isn't afraid to laugh and talk to people (unlike some other NYC watering holes), and it's an overall good vibe. I didn't eat, so I can only comment on the drinks - beer was good and cold, and reasonably priced ($6). But if you really want to drink, go for the Fishbowl - full of alcohol, fruit juice and 'blackout juice.' It comes with a bunch of straws, so plan to share.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brother Jimmy's - Amsterdam Ave. also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Brother Jimmy's - Amsterdam Ave.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brother Jimmy's - Amsterdam Ave., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.