We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tres Euro Midtown Mecca” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestHouse Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added WestHouse Hotel New York to your Saves list
WestHouse Hotel New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 West 55 Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #92 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Half Moon Bay, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tres Euro Midtown Mecca”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I booked WestHouse for
it's proximity to Broadway theater and to midtown dining and shopping on Fifth Avenue. I needed two queens for my daughter and I for a fun two nights in the city
before taking her to college. The boutique hotel didn't disappoint
as I did my homework and knew the pros and cons. The room and bath was tight but
comfy and the
included for $30 a
person
breakfast and snacks
was adequate if not epicurean and inventive. We arrived
in the late afternoon and sipped
bubbly on the roof deck
and toasted
our arrival. The staff was nice and the bell men and doormen very helpful; the young blond
concierge was perky and could make reservations and
give feedback to our ideas but offered none of her own: best
dining was Sushi Zen
nearby before a show which I
found on my own. The elevators
require room
cards to go up which is safe
but annoying. basically found a large Euro clientele which the hotel caters to in selection
of breakfast fare of ham and cheese and bread and other
like amenities. It was a fine stay for me and my teen and did
see lots of families enjoying late
summer stays. Price wise it was a good deal for upscale Manhattan.






  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla K, General Manager at WestHouse Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
luannedesign, thank you for your fabulous review! I am delighted to hear that we met your expectations and delivered on our unwavering mission of "treating each guest as if our only guest." Thank you for highlighting all of the delectable culinary libations provided under the Resident Fee. I am glad that you and your daughter were able to enjoy the outdoor space at the Terrace during our Breakfast Presentation, Afternoon Tea, and Hours of Indulgence. I regret to learn that one of our Attaché team members was not as engaging with making recommendations. I will ensure your valued feedback is addressed with the team to prevent this isolated occurrence does not happen again. Thank you again for choosing WestHouse as your house away from home. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next mother/daughter trip to the city!

Karla Keskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    88
    37
    21
    11
See reviews for
79
177
13
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

I travel to NYC regularly (about 3 to 4 times a year) and I usually travel with my family (total 8 of us). The most of us are in our late 20's and also our parents in their late 50's - just to give you some perspective. We are so happy to have found the WestHouse. The staff (like Kareem) gave the best advice on restaurants and things to do in NYC (i.e. Hakkasan and Quality Italian - places that impressed the less adventurous foodies in the family) - and so friendly too! We stayed the Labor Day long weekend and loved the lounge (complimentary beer, brownies, cookies, biscotti, Nespresso and glass bottles of Diet Coke throughout the day). Really soft pillows and nice beds. The hotel also smells nice. Totally worth it for a great weekend getaway. Treat yo' self 2014.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla K, General Manager at WestHouse Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
LauraTorontoToronto, Wow! We are humbled to receive such warm accolades from a seasoned NYC visitor such as yourself. We too are very happy that you found WestHouse and are equally pleased to hear that your weekend stay was made special by our team and the service they provided you with. Thank you for your pleasant feedback regarding our culinary offerings made available in the Terrace in addition to the exceptional service extended by one of our Attachés Kareem. I am elated to learn of your enjoyment of the custom scent of WestHouse - called "Guests Only", which was developed by 12.29. The scent features smoky woods, hints of tobacco & sexy amber resins! Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back home on your next visit to the city!

Karla Keskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We stayed from Monday through Friday for a NYC vacation. Location was great for Times Square, Central Park, Broadway shows, etc. Had a room on the 22nd floor, so street noise was never an issue. Room was comfortable and clean. Staff was very pleasant and helpful (including taking care of our luggage that was lost by the airline). Best sleep we have gotten in a hotel bed. As others noted, you will pay $30 per day per adult as a fee, but this was known ahead of time. Plus, since we payed it, we made it a point to use the lounge and definitely got our money's worth. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla K, General Manager at WestHouse Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
shwis, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! I am thrilled to hear that your overall stay was enjoyable, and that you found great value in our product and services. Thank you for such wonderful comments about our superb Midtown location in addition to our "pleasant and helpful" team members. Thank you for highlighting the inviting moment when the Front Desk Team took ownership in the pursuit of retrieving you lost luggage. We are most grateful for you choosing WestHouse as your house away from home, and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Karla Keskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We would not hesitate to recommend The Westhouse Hotel for a trip to New York. It's a clever, small hotel atop another but they are a gorgeous facility of their own. The location was perfect, close but not too close, to Times Square. A couple of blocks from Central Park and subway lines outside the door. The staff was outstanding, especially Jason who works the front door. Everyone made the stay memorable and we are already looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Try to book room 2115 with an amazing veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla K, General Manager at WestHouse Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
chonchosmith, thank you for the wonderful review! I am delighted to hear that you found our location to be perfect and our team outstanding! It is always rewarding when one of our team members are recognized by name for the exceptional service they offered. To that regard, I would like to thank you for recognizing Jason. I will be sure to share your feedback with him and the entire team. We are humbled to know that everyone played a part in making your stay memorable, and we look forward to welcoming you back home in the near future!

Karla Keskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The Westhouse is a perfect place to start your NYC trips. It is very close to the Time Square and Central Park. The size of the hotel rooms are reasonable but as for many other hotels in NYC not huge. Breakfast was very good to start your daily trips. Only the snacks in the afternoon could vary but nevertheless was good. We stayed 4 days and enjoyed our entire stay. The staff is very friendly and professional. Would take it again.

Room Tip: We had a room towards the street and we judge it to be better than the ones to the courtyard. High...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla K, General Manager at WestHouse Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
TorstenM980, thank you for your affirmation of WestHouse as the "perfect place to start your NYC trips!" I am delighted to hear that your overall stay was enjoyable. Thank you for sharing such warm feedback regarding our convenient Midtown location in addition to our food & beverage offerings served throughout the day in the Terrace. Thank you for your commitment to return to WestHouse! I will be sure to share your pleasant comments with the entire team.

Karla Keskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

A super hotel, brilliant location a few minutes walk from Times Square. Not too far from MoMa. Got a very good deal on the hotel website a few hours before arriving. Cocked up the booking and only booked for 3 nights, but needed four. The room price (two-room suite - lovely) went up by $300 dollars so I told them we would have to change room for the last night if they had one. The phone went 5 minutes later- they were happy to help and gave me the same room for $325! We had been paying about $595, reduced from 8 something. Mid-August.
Swanky reception and rooms. Wi-fi works well. You pay a fee for residency so called, which buys you the wi-fi and the right to tea and cakes in afternoon, breakfast and light bites in the early evening. Prosecco, white and red wine included in the evening (as much as you like) as well as soft drink. This sounds a lot ($60 per day) and it is, but the food is very nice quality stuff. Does run out though, after a while. No room service at all, because of the above - so you can't get that late night Cognac, or anything at all in fact. You have to go up to the Terrace and grab what is on offer there. Didn't bother me.

There is something in the hotel called the Den, I assume it is a restaurant but we never went there. Young, but not arrogant or snooty hotel staff who work very hard. Expensive, but very, very nice and friendly. Top place. Loved it.
The bistro on the corner of the street, called Cognacs is very good. Italian restaurant on the opposite corner good food, but not as good and very noisy, buzzing.

Room Tip: I think ours was called a junior suite, which we needed because of our son. Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla K, General Manager at WestHouse Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Mike R, thank you for your fabulous review! We were most fortunate to have been selected at the last minute as your house away from home for your visit to the city! It was a pleasure to host you and your family for your 4 night stay. Thank you for highlighting the inviting gesture extended by the Front Desk Team in offering you a discounted rate to extend your reservation for an additional night. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our superb Midtown location, the Terrace, and by your definition - our "swanky reception and rooms!" We are grateful for your affirmation of WestHouse as an "excellent hotel, with an excellent location, worth the price!" We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back home very soon!

Karla Keskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We would recommend this hotel to any visitors to NY. The hotel imposes a $30 a day surcharge per person, which at first we thought was a rip off. However, this covers the cost of in-room wifi, continental breakfast (with good selection of cereals and pastries), afternoon tea/coffee and evening drinks with snacks in the relaxing restaurant on the 23rd floor, with outdoor seating. If you're planning to make use of this it works our good value.

The bedroom was spacious and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom was done out in black and white marble-effect tiles, but the shower cubicle could have done with a refurbishment.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is in an excellent location (close to Central Park).

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla K, General Manager at WestHouse Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Karl80, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! I am thrilled to hear that you found our rooms to be spacious and our beds to be comfortable. Thank you for also sharing your feedback regarding our food & beverage offerings served in the 23rd Floor Terrace. It is so rewarding to learn that at we were able to win your favor with regard to the value provided under the Resident Fee. We are most humbled by your comments of our team as being friendly and helpful. It was a pleasure to host you on this visit to the city, and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future!

Karla Keskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to WestHouse Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestHouse Hotel New York

Address: 201 West 55 Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — WestHouse Hotel New York 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from Central Park & Carnegie Hall, WestHouse is more than just a new boutique hotel; it is an entirely new hospitality concept that provides a curated portfolio of upscale services and amenities at an unprecedented value, and an elevated level of intuitive service designed to satisfy the world’s most discerning guests in an environment reminiscent of a luxurious New York Townhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your WestHouse Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestHouse Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.