We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestHouse Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added WestHouse Hotel New York to your Saves list
WestHouse Hotel New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 West 55 Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #70 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Eagle, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We stayed from Monday through Friday for a NYC vacation. Location was great for Times Square, Central Park, Broadway shows, etc. Had a room on the 22nd floor, so street noise was never an issue. Room was comfortable and clean. Staff was very pleasant and helpful (including taking care of our luggage that was lost by the airline). Best sleep we have gotten in a hotel bed. As others noted, you will pay $30 per day per adult as a fee, but this was known ahead of time. Plus, since we payed it, we made it a point to use the lounge and definitely got our money's worth. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla K, General Manager at WestHouse Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
shwis, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! I am thrilled to hear that your overall stay was enjoyable, and that you found great value in our product and services. Thank you for such wonderful comments about our superb Midtown location in addition to our "pleasant and helpful" team members. Thank you for highlighting the inviting moment when the Front Desk Team took ownership in the pursuit of retrieving you lost luggage. We are most grateful for you choosing WestHouse as your house away from home, and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Karla Keskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    131
    52
    25
    20
See reviews for
122
286
26
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We would not hesitate to recommend The Westhouse Hotel for a trip to New York. It's a clever, small hotel atop another but they are a gorgeous facility of their own. The location was perfect, close but not too close, to Times Square. A couple of blocks from Central Park and subway lines outside the door. The staff was outstanding, especially Jason who works the front door. Everyone made the stay memorable and we are already looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Try to book room 2115 with an amazing veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla K, General Manager at WestHouse Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
chonchosmith, thank you for the wonderful review! I am delighted to hear that you found our location to be perfect and our team outstanding! It is always rewarding when one of our team members are recognized by name for the exceptional service they offered. To that regard, I would like to thank you for recognizing Jason. I will be sure to share your feedback with him and the entire team. We are humbled to know that everyone played a part in making your stay memorable, and we look forward to welcoming you back home in the near future!

Karla Keskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The Westhouse is a perfect place to start your NYC trips. It is very close to the Time Square and Central Park. The size of the hotel rooms are reasonable but as for many other hotels in NYC not huge. Breakfast was very good to start your daily trips. Only the snacks in the afternoon could vary but nevertheless was good. We stayed 4 days and enjoyed our entire stay. The staff is very friendly and professional. Would take it again.

Room Tip: We had a room towards the street and we judge it to be better than the ones to the courtyard. High...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla K, General Manager at WestHouse Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
TorstenM980, thank you for your affirmation of WestHouse as the "perfect place to start your NYC trips!" I am delighted to hear that your overall stay was enjoyable. Thank you for sharing such warm feedback regarding our convenient Midtown location in addition to our food & beverage offerings served throughout the day in the Terrace. Thank you for your commitment to return to WestHouse! I will be sure to share your pleasant comments with the entire team.

Karla Keskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

A super hotel, brilliant location a few minutes walk from Times Square. Not too far from MoMa. Got a very good deal on the hotel website a few hours before arriving. Cocked up the booking and only booked for 3 nights, but needed four. The room price (two-room suite - lovely) went up by $300 dollars so I told them we would have to change room for the last night if they had one. The phone went 5 minutes later- they were happy to help and gave me the same room for $325! We had been paying about $595, reduced from 8 something. Mid-August.
Swanky reception and rooms. Wi-fi works well. You pay a fee for residency so called, which buys you the wi-fi and the right to tea and cakes in afternoon, breakfast and light bites in the early evening. Prosecco, white and red wine included in the evening (as much as you like) as well as soft drink. This sounds a lot ($60 per day) and it is, but the food is very nice quality stuff. Does run out though, after a while. No room service at all, because of the above - so you can't get that late night Cognac, or anything at all in fact. You have to go up to the Terrace and grab what is on offer there. Didn't bother me.

There is something in the hotel called the Den, I assume it is a restaurant but we never went there. Young, but not arrogant or snooty hotel staff who work very hard. Expensive, but very, very nice and friendly. Top place. Loved it.
The bistro on the corner of the street, called Cognacs is very good. Italian restaurant on the opposite corner good food, but not as good and very noisy, buzzing.

Room Tip: I think ours was called a junior suite, which we needed because of our son. Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla K, General Manager at WestHouse Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Mike R, thank you for your fabulous review! We were most fortunate to have been selected at the last minute as your house away from home for your visit to the city! It was a pleasure to host you and your family for your 4 night stay. Thank you for highlighting the inviting gesture extended by the Front Desk Team in offering you a discounted rate to extend your reservation for an additional night. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our superb Midtown location, the Terrace, and by your definition - our "swanky reception and rooms!" We are grateful for your affirmation of WestHouse as an "excellent hotel, with an excellent location, worth the price!" We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back home very soon!

Karla Keskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We would recommend this hotel to any visitors to NY. The hotel imposes a $30 a day surcharge per person, which at first we thought was a rip off. However, this covers the cost of in-room wifi, continental breakfast (with good selection of cereals and pastries), afternoon tea/coffee and evening drinks with snacks in the relaxing restaurant on the 23rd floor, with outdoor seating. If you're planning to make use of this it works our good value.

The bedroom was spacious and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom was done out in black and white marble-effect tiles, but the shower cubicle could have done with a refurbishment.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is in an excellent location (close to Central Park).

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla K, General Manager at WestHouse Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Karl80, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! I am thrilled to hear that you found our rooms to be spacious and our beds to be comfortable. Thank you for also sharing your feedback regarding our food & beverage offerings served in the 23rd Floor Terrace. It is so rewarding to learn that at we were able to win your favor with regard to the value provided under the Resident Fee. We are most humbled by your comments of our team as being friendly and helpful. It was a pleasure to host you on this visit to the city, and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future!

Karla Keskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palisades Park, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed here at WestHouse New York for 2 nights and we had a wonderful time together here! We stayed in room #2115 which had a nice terrace attached to it. At night, my wife and I went out there and had some nice quality time together with an awesome view of the NY city (the terrace chairs were so comfy). We also loved the service here. The workers there were all so kind and nice--the managers, the front desk, the bell boys and even the housekeeping ladies. We especially enjoyed working with/having service from a front desk worker named Kevin Hong. He was excellent in accommodating us throughout our stay at WestHouse. And lastly, I told the front desk it was our anniversary and the general manager surprised us with various gifts in our room. We especially enjoyed the champagne! I highly recommend this hotel if you're visiting for vacay or planning for a business trip!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla K, General Manager at WestHouse Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
shawnzy, thank you for your fantastic review and 5 star rating! I am thrilled to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your anniversary stay with us. Thank you for sharing such warm feedback regarding the service provided by our Front Desk & Housekeeping Teams. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade extended by our Front Desk Team to one of our WestHouse Terrace King rooms. Thank you for also highlighting the exceptional service provided to you by Kevin Hong throughout your stay. We are most grateful for your recommendation, and look forward to welcoming you back home in the near future!

Karla Keskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed at the beautiful WestHouse Hotel in NY for 3 nights and had an amazing experience. The staff is highly trained and very welcoming as well as accommodating. We stayed in a King Suite, which was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. All the linens and finishing touches are of the best quality. It is clear that service is the main focus at this hotel. You simply cannot beat the breakfast and coffee service in the morning, and the snacks and bar that are available to guests from noon until 11 pm. We made a habit of returning to the hotel in the late afternoon to nosh on cheese, fruit, and bread and enjoy a glass of wine before freshening up for our evening out. The location, in my opinion, is perfect too. It is near Times Square, Carnegie Hall, Central Park and a subway station. The rooftop living room was under construction during our visit, but we did get a tour. We cannot wait for our next visit to experience this space. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to the city and I've already recommended it friends. Couldn't have been more pleased!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla K, General Manager at WestHouse Hotel New York, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
natditusa, Wow! Thank you for your exceptionally detailed review! It was a pleasure to host you and your family on your 3 night visit to the city. We are most grateful to receive your affirmation of your team as "highly trained and very welcoming as well as accommodating"! You are correct in your observation that delivering an unrivaled service experience is our main priority! Your comments inspire us to continue in our mission of treating each guest as if our only guest. Thank you for also sharing such pleasant feedback regarding our tasteful decor and delectable culinary offerings. We too cannot wait to welcome you back home on your next visit! Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, and for the wonderful review!

Karla Keskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#29 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#97 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,607 reviews
Midtown
Viceroy New York
Viceroy New York
#184 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#91 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#15 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York Hotel
Warwick New York Hotel
#83 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestHouse Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestHouse Hotel New York

Address: 201 West 55 Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — WestHouse Hotel New York 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from Central Park & Carnegie Hall, WestHouse is more than just a new boutique hotel; it is an entirely new hospitality concept that provides a curated portfolio of upscale services and amenities at an unprecedented value, and an elevated level of intuitive service designed to satisfy the world’s most discerning guests in an environment reminiscent of a luxurious New York Townhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your WestHouse Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestHouse Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.