We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel-not quite a 5 star overall yet thou” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestHouse Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added WestHouse Hotel New York to your Saves list
WestHouse Hotel New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 West 55 Street, New York City, NY 10019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Now & Save!
Ranked #123 of 455 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice hotel-not quite a 5 star overall yet thou”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Firstly bedroom although small were beautiful and the beds were really comfy, location great for Times Square etc.

Great service from Karim on the concierge-beyond what u expect and my mum loved her jazz night at birdcage.

Down side of this hotel will hopefully be corrected-the 30 usd a day per person charge is excessive and lacks flexibility, mum likes a cuppa and breakfast in bed-we were rudely told one morning that we shouldn't be taking certain food up to the room, if there is a tray available and your charging guests a compulsory charge for this how guests use the service should be down to them not dictated like children by the bar staff!

Afternoon tea was lovely but again when mum requested some jam or butter for the nice scones she was rudely told " the chef decided not to offer this anymore"-in England scones go with jam and cream-not one or the other! :-)

Overall I would class this hotel as a 4 and half star at present, thank you for a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla K, General Manager at WestHouse Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Fireball2013, we are most grateful for you taking the time to share your experience with us. Thank you for such fantastic comments regarding our beautifully decorated rooms, comfortable bedding, and convenient location! Thank you also for recognizing Kareem and the exceptional service he provided to you while staying with us. It is so rewarding to hear that your mum enjoyed her night of jazz at the Birdcage.

I do however apologize for the discomforts you experienced surrounding some elements of the Resident Fee. I regret that you were met with opposition when attempting to enjoy items in the comfort of your room. At WestHouse our main priority is to ensure optimal comfort and security for all of our guests. We understand that during the Breakfast Presentation seating may be limited, and so we encourage guests to enjoy food items on the go or in their room if it is more practical than waiting. I would also like to apologize for the tone in which one of our team members communicated the absence of items you requested. This is certainly not a representation of the inviting and attentive approach our team has become known for. I will be sure to review this feedback with our Food & Beverage team.

Thank you again for choosing WestHouse as your house away from home. We do hope that you will afford us the opportunity to be your host on your next visit to the city, where I am confident a 5 star experience will await you.

Karla Keskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    67
    32
    19
    8
See reviews for
52
135
12
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Where to start-If I had known this was a BRAND new property (as in January) I would have stayed at one of the other "tried and trues" on my NYC list. As a semi frequent visitor to NYC (5 to 6 times a year) I do like to try different locations on occasion. So, I tried the WestHouse this time. It started off with a bad car ride from the airport. I do understand that this was not directly related to the hotel, however, they contracted the car service. Upon arrival I was not greeted by any door man. Maybe he was on break? But even after checking in, I saw no door man.
The elevator system isn't readily understandable and it wasn't explained to me, so ,until day 2, I didn't get the system. I had to go up a few floors above my 19 and then ride down. The rooms are small (even though I was in the larger of the categories) and basically appointed. Beds are comfortable. Hallways are VERY narrow at the ends and my floor was noisy. The doors slam shut very fast and especially when the housekeeper was cleaning rooms and going in and out the door would slam against the metal slide lock that they would use to keep door from shutting completely. It was VERY annoying. The elevator service going down was very slow as well. At one point, 4 UP elevators came before 1 down came. The MOST disappointing thing was the air conditioning situation. Basically there wasn't any. I won't even go through ALL the steps it took to get some fans for my 2 rooms to at least have some sort of air flow BUT it really did set the tone for my trip. Opening the window 4 or 5 inches (locks on side prevented it opening further) did help some, however, listening to Times Square throughout the night didn't add to the peaceful nights sleep I was hoping for. The 2 pipe system was explained to me AND I get it BUT had I known it before hand, I would have chosen differently. Air flow is VERY important to me and in my years of hotel staying in NYC I have NEVER experienced the "2 pipe" situation. Even in the dead of winter I have been able to get air into my rooms. Just to finish up the other things, the housekeeping was inconsistent. The sheets on my bed didn't have a clean smell to them. Upon arrival there were 4 bath towels, 4 hand towels and washcloths. The next day there were only 2 of each. The products in the bath were not refilled the same in each room. My daughter and friend never did get any conditioner on any day and the shampoos were not replaced. The daily/nightly food in the Den was nice. They did run out of Coke on our day 1 and were not able to replace it for the remainder of our stay. The staff there was very friendly and pleasant. Some times the dirty dishes on the tables piled up and were not cleared so there wasn't any place to sit until we moved them ourselves. Overall, this aspect of the hotel was nice and to me worth the added $30. Having gotten all the negatives out of the way, I would like to say that once I expressed my DEEP IRRITATION to Richard about the air issue, he went out of his way to remedy the situation as best he could. I think at this point the staff spends much of their time fixing the issues of clients. At least that was my impression. And, to be honest, they are good at it. He went above and beyond to make me happy and express his concern for my "uneasiness" about the air. I do not consider myself unreasonable and I just needed to be heard. He made me feel like I mattered and I appreciated that. He did his best to mediate by getting me a fan for the rooms. He also worked out some compensation for my troubles. Thank you Richard for treating me with respect and for truly caring about my issues. So, I will try them again (in a year) because I see where they are going and think by tweeking some things, they can achieve the 5 star level they are advertising themselves as having. Personally, I do not think they are there yet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scamster
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Just checked in about an hour ago but can say this place is simply fantastic. Check-in was easy and quick. All the essential information was well explained by the host and a butler was arranged though we were happy to go it alone.

The room was well presented and very elegantly decorated. Comfy bed from the few minutes we had before going back out.

A personalised note from the general manager was in our room wishing us well on our first night of marriage. What a nice touch.

Great location within walking distance to Central Park and Times Square.

Very happy with the selection of this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla K, General Manager at WestHouse Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
scamster, thank you so much for reviewing your experience with us! It was an honor to be your host for your honeymoon in the city. I am so pleased to hear that your check-in was quick and efficient. Thank you for your wonderful comments about our decor, comfortable beds, and convenient location. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Karla Keskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I was a bit hesitant about booking a 5 star hotel in NYC because of mostly the cost. However, my husband convinced me to because we found a great deal on Expedia for the Westhouse and because we deserved it. The Westhouse lived up to the hype. It was a great experience from start to finish. We arrived early, due to our red-eye flight and the hotel was able to accomodate us for a 10am check-in. The room was very spacious, clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. We loved all the amenities including the GHD products and Dayna Decker toiletries.
For a $30/day resort fee, you get the extremely helpful attache, breakfast-that includes an assortment of pastries, breads, meats, smoked salmon, fresh berries, yogurt, French pressed coffee, tea or you can order latte, capuccino...etc, afternoon snacks, all day snacks that include cookies, brownies, cannelles (to die for French pastries) and red wine, white wine, sparkling wine and beers.
Oh, they also give you complimentary bottled water - this was a big plus because we did not have to stop by a convenience store once for any snacks/waters..etc, everything was already conveniently provided.

The location was also very convenient to Central Park, Time Square, Broadway and the subways. We had originally thought to stay at a 4 star across the street but are so glad we picked Westhouse instead.

We are extremely glad we stayed at the Westhouse, not only for the impeccable service, but the attention to detail, friendly staff and wonderful rooms.

Room Tip: If a King Accessible is available, as for this room as it's generally a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla K, General Manager at WestHouse Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
SofieZ1313, thank you so much for your fabulous review! We are so glad that your husband convinced you to try out our new property, and even more thrilled that it lived up to your expectations! I am so pleased to hear that our Front Office Team were able to accommodate you with an early check-in which allowed you to get the most out of your first day in the city. It brings us great joy to learn of your enjoyment for our custom Dayna Decker bath amenities in addition to the delectable food & beverage offerings provided under the Resident Fee. We are especially humbled by your endorsement for our "impeccable service, attention to detail, friendly staff and wonderful rooms." Thank you again for choosing WestHouse as your house away from home for this visit to New York. We look forward to welcoming you back home in the near future!

Karla Keskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at the west house over the Easter weekend:
Firstly the location of the hotel is absolutely perfect right in between times sq and Central Park. We were treated by the staff like royalty! The hotel itself is brand new and gorgeous inside! The rooms are spotless and look like they've never been stayed in! Beds were amazing even better than my own! Hotel has a concierge service free of charge who were fantastic and get you the best prices you can find, big thank you to Jordan who was brilliant right through out!
If your looking for somewhere modern, chic, luxury, in the very heart of NYC then it's a must that you book the west house

Michael Deakin

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla K, General Manager at WestHouse Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Deax23, thank you for wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that our location provided a perfect home base for you while visiting the city. We are especially humbled to hear that our service equated to that of royal treatment! Thank you for your fantastic comments about our interior decor, immaculate rooms, and comfortable beds. It is always rewarding when one of our team members are recognized by name, and we thank you for sharing such warm feedback regarding Jordan. I will be sure to share your sentiments with her. Thank you for your warm recommendation, we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back home to WestHouse!

Karla Keskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My friend and I just returned from a wonderful NYC weekend, thanks in part to the Westhouse Hotel. I was pleased beyond words with both the wonderful accommodations and impeccable service. Staff genuinely and successfully aimed to please. The words "Luxury Boutique Hotel" truly describe this little gem. From lovely linens to a well thought-out bathroom design with a carve-out in the shower glass so you can turn on the water without getting wet, this hotel screamed luxury without pompousness. Better still was the vibe. We met incredibly interesting and eclectic folks at breakfast and throughout the day. The hotel serves breakfast, tea, hors d'oeuvres and drinks all day long, so guests were always relaxing in "The Den"--the name of the living room-ish/lounge/lobby area where guests gather. The intimacy of the space was warm and inviting and created the perfect atmosphere for new friends to meet--so much so that we spent hours throughout our stay talking to some great new friends--high end professionals from the US and abroad, an actress, an energy healer, a philanthropist and others. Can't say I've ever had that happen in many years of regularly visiting NYC. All the guests we talked to shared our positive opinion of the hotel and said they planned to return. We were told a private rooftop bar is opening soon for guests only. Suspect that will only enhance an already excellent venue. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla K, General Manager at WestHouse Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
K S, on behalf of the entire team at WestHouse, thank you for your exquisite review! It was an absolute pleasure to host you and your friend on this visit to NYC! I cannot express in words our gratitude for such wonderful comments regarding our tastefully decorated accommodations and impeccable service. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the intimate and inviting atmosphere provided in the Den. It brings us great joy to hear that you were able foster new friendships here whilst enjoying our food & beverage offerings. Thank you for your glowing recommendation. We too cannot wait to welcome you back home and look forward to introducing you to the soon to be completed Terrace located on the 23rd Floor!

Karla Keskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intervale, New Hampshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We pulled into NYC on Monday with high hopes for this Luxury Boutique Hotel of the World. At $830/room for 2 Queen beds (plus taxes, resort fees & parking)...we thought we had some luxury coming. The staff was very friendly, the beds were very comfortable. Continental breakfast, Afternoon Tea and a Cocktail hour included in the booking...it looked promising.
Unfortunately for us, the hotel was full. The lounge/bar was so poorly laid out that no one could move without tripping over another person...if you did not arrive early, you were out of luck...food was replenished sparsely and slowly. One Barrista, for 200 people. No liquor service...one red, one white, one sparking wine and 4 beer choices No actual food service available. It took 4 phone calls and finally taking trash and dirty towels to the front desk to get our room cleaned on the 2nd day...finally at 9PM. Room ran at about 80 degrees - very unpleasant. One of the 2 elevators was out of service...so during morning, mid afternoon and pre-theatre - the wait could be 1/2 hour to go up or down.
We checked out on Wednesday - the holding charge from Monday check-in and actual charge are still pending on our account. $3300 that cannot be accessed.
We will not be returning. Poor form Highgate Holdings Inc. At least KINKY BOOTS was satisfying.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karla K, General Manager at WestHouse Hotel New York, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Deb J, thank you for taking the time to submit a review. Please allow me to personally apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay with us. I am very sorry for the discomfort you experienced whilst partaking in our Food & Beverage offerings in the Den.

At WestHouse, our guest comfort is of the utmost importance, and I regret that your experience was not enjoyable. I do acknowledge that on the particular dates you stayed with us, the hotel was near to being fully committed. We did make observations regarding the service flow with an increased occupancy level and took action to rearrange furniture in the Den providing for a more seamless and efficient delivery of service; in addition to revisiting the time it takes to replenish items, which has allowed us to manage this operation more expeditiously.

In addition to this, we are currently awaiting the completion of the Terrace located on the 23rd Floor which will make for a much more conducive space for our guests to indulge in our Food & Beverage offerings.

I would also like to express my sincerest apologies for the deficiencies you experienced within your room. It is extremely disheartening when our guests do not receive the superior service and product for which we pride ourselves on. It is completely unacceptable that you were subjected to bringing incomplete items from your room to the Front Desk in an effort to expedite the servicing of your room. I have addressed this matter with our Director of Housekeeping to ensure that all of our guest rooms are being serviced to the highest standard in a timely manner.

I have personally reviewed your room bill and see that the authorization made by the hotel on your card was released upon check-out. We however do not have control over the time period in which your bank releases the funds. I have also reviewed your rate to ensure that we did not overcharge you, and can see that you were confirmed at a rate of $545 per night instead of the $830 highlighted above.

I am pleased to hear that you found our team to be friendly and our beds comfortable. I would love the opportunity to discuss these issues with you in more detail. Please feel free to contact me directly at kkeskin@westhousehotelnewyork.com. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to regain your faith in WestHouse. Thank you again for choosing us for this visit to the New York.

Karla Keskin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to WestHouse Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestHouse Hotel New York

Address: 201 West 55 Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — WestHouse Hotel New York 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps away from Central Park & Carnegie Hall, WestHouse is more than just a new boutique hotel; it is an entirely new hospitality concept that provides a curated portfolio of upscale services and amenities at an unprecedented value, and an elevated level of intuitive service designed to satisfy the world’s most discerning guests in an environment reminiscent of a luxurious New York Townhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your WestHouse Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WestHouse Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.