We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large portions, beware!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blockhead's Mexico City Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blockhead's Mexico City Cafe
322 W. 50th St., New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)
212-307-7070
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,030 of 11,599 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Large portions, beware!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I appreciate the small atmosphere (fits New York). The dinner menu is small (maybe 5 items?) Got the make your own burrito with chicken and BBQ sauce. Flavors were awesome! My only warning is that the portions were huge! Both the wife and I only are half of our meals! The other half got thrown away because our hotel has no fridge (don't know when I would eat it anyway). A must place to visit if you get the craving for Mexican in New York.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    15
    11
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Service and Margaritas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Had dinner here just before watching a show so was very convenient. Service was excellent and food was pretty good too. Good value for money. Margarita was $5 and was nice but very strong! Would recommend for anyone who enjoys mild Mexican.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great drinks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Great people watching spot! Great margaritas can easily have more than one. Our waitress Devon was great she had such a fun up beat personality. Food was alright nothing out of this world but the drinks made up for it. I would defiantly come back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sit outside with great food and a buzzing crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Went out of way to this place after reading the reviews - was worth it. Very friendly staff. Plenty of tasty food and not expensive. Seemed to be lots of parties celebrating - good venue for that too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stumbled upon surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Happen to come upon this restaurant looking for another one-glad we chose here! Had the fish and steak chimichuri tacos with black beans and rice. Huge portions, very fresh taste. Also had the Jamaican jerk chicken burrito-according to my son "A+-knocked me on my [--]!" (Highest praise.) Friendly, responsive staff. Definitely eat here if you get the opportunity!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blockhead's Mexico City Cafe also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Blockhead's Mexico City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blockhead's Mexico City Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.