We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great PIZZA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John's Pizzeria-- Bleeker St.

John's Pizzeria-- Bleeker St.
278 Bleeker St., New York City, NY 10014 (West Village)
212-935-2895
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #162 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: West Village
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Great PIZZA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Recommended as a complementary place to go if you're in the neighbourhood and possibly visiting one of the surrounding bars.

The place doesn't look like much from the outside and the interior is clearly well frequented and worn which adds to the atmosphere.

It's a great place to go for a quick drink and a pizza from a coal fired oven. The pizza is made to order, it's fully customisable and DELICIOUS.

Great value for money - recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    189
    57
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Impossibly large, and unbelievably good Pizza!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I went here on the insistence of one of my colleagues, and I was blown away by the size and taste of their Pizza. Amazing fresh ingredients, and bags of character, it looks like a dive, but the food is heaven.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Still killer pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Johns has been one of NYC's best pizza places for a long time. It's still killer brick oven pizza. Lines can be long but it's worth the wait.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“YES!! PIZZA MAGNIFICENCE.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We walked 40 blocks from midtown to here because we wanted to eat great pizza. Jon Stewart recommends this place...and damn he's right!

This is the place to go to for Pizza.

Tied with Grimaldis for the best pizza in NYC.

The service was fine, never great, nor does the place look amazing....

BUT....it's all about the quality of the pizza....it's simply the BEST!

Pizza size, quality, crust and flavour were superb. The taste is exceptional, from the 1st bite to the last.

The bill was 40 bucks because I NEEDED to get a T-shirt as well.....exceptional value for money....and we were stuffed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Pizza ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We found John's Pizzeria by accident, but what any accident it was! We stumbled across the best pizza bar in ever. It was brilliant. All tourist to NYC must go to John's.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Pizzeria-- Bleeker St. also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to John's Pizzeria-- Bleeker St.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John's Pizzeria-- Bleeker St., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.