We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classic Village stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John's Pizzeria-- Bleeker St.

John's Pizzeria-- Bleeker St.
278 Bleeker St., New York City, NY 10014 (West Village)
212-935-2895
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #164 of 11,186 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: West Village
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“classic Village stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Still good after all these years, and often packed. Drop in for classic, properly prepared, brick-oven pizza.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    189
    57
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Perfect Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

As a native New Yorker, I am EXTREMELY fussy about my pizza. Whenever I come back home for a visit (I now reside in Utah) I absolutely make certain to eat at John's on Bleecker. Perfect thin crust, just a little bit burnt. The proper ratio of sauce, cheese, and toppings, and all are excellent. It seems so simple yet it's not so easy to come by. But John's serves up delicious pizza every time I go there. The service is fine. When I travel to New York with friends who have never been there before, I always take them to John's for the perfect example of what REAL pizza is all about.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Living on its reputation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Came here 20 years ago and found the place charming with good pizza. This time... not so much. Seemed dingy, unspecial. Would not go back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyed It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

OK, up front I'll admit that this is our first visit to a real NYC pizza place, so I can't tell you if this is a great or lousy NYC pizza. But I can tell you that it's probably the best pizza that I've ever had. We got there about 5:00 on Saturday, just missing the line that formed outside shortly after we were seated. The place is a little run down and crowded, and they only take cash - thus the 4 stars instead of 5. But the mushroom topped pizza was excellent. Crust was thin and charred, sauce was fresh and delicious, pizza was not oil greasy at all, and it stayed that way as we indulged ourselves. Now I understand the NYC tradition of folding over the slice of pizza as you eat it - it was the only way to go. I've noticed people complaining about service but our waiter was right on top of things, pleasant and attentive. All in all, a most enjoyable experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Fine thin crisp crust the way it should be. Unassuming old world decor. Gets crowded in the evenings. Suggest you go for lunch or early dinner.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Pizzeria-- Bleeker St. also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to John's Pizzeria-- Bleeker St.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John's Pizzeria-- Bleeker St., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.