We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, burger a bit overdone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bull & Bear Steakhouse

Bull & Bear Steakhouse
570 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)
+1 212-872-4606
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bull & Bear Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,078 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: 49th Street & 50th Street
Transit: 6 train to 51st Street, E & M trains to 53rd Street. 8 Blocks from Grand Central Terminal
Description: Bull and Bear offers USDA Prime Dry-Aged Beef from DeBragga, New York’s Butcher. This legendary steakhouse is home to one of the most historic and well-recognized bars in New York City. Market-fresh seafood including East Coast Oysters, Lobster and side dishes to share are their tempting companions. The Bull and Bear Bar is where Market Movers Trade Tales Over the City’s Best Martini. Quoted ‘one of the 3 best bar's in the World’ by the New York Times in 2005. Bull and Bear's wine library is a private, intimate dining room adjacent to the bar.
chandler
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great service, burger a bit overdone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This restaurant is in the Waldorf Astoria - we had to sit at the bar as nothing available for 3 hours. That was OK - bartender was wonderful. We both got burgers (well done - which normally isn't a problem) - but these were VERY, VERY overdone. We didn't complain as it took 35 mins for them to arrive. Very pricey for what we received - just know this before you order a well done burger.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    122
    60
    37
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“They can make a damn fine dirty martini”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Don't know about the cost, don't know about the food, but one of the Waldorf Astoria's saving graces is the bar at the Bull & Bear. Bartenders do a great job with the classics. interesing crowd, mostly business travelers I'd guess. But if that's you and you're staying at the W-A, it is an above average hotel bar.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Gamey steak - unfortunate experience and a waste of money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The atmoshere was elegant and old world like the rest of the Waldorf Astoria. Unfortunately, I was seated at a table was so close to the table next to it that none of the parties could get up without actually moving the tables. There was a whole row of these tables across the back of the restaurant. The servers and service were excellent despite the overly tight table placement. My steak - an approx $55 entree - was gamey and had gristle. It was bad enought that I left it uneaten. Very disappointing especially given the price and atmosphere of the restaurant. The rest of the meal was a la carte and basic. The house white wine ran just under $20 for a glass. This was a very bad dining experience and very subpar for an upscale restaurant. With all of the choices in NYC why bother with a bad one - skip the Bull & Bear!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Food could not overcome the service. And the food was very good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had reservations on a Saturday night in January. We arrived on time and were told it would be about 15 minutes for our table, so we went to the bar and enjoyed lovely service from the bartender. After a half hour no one came to tell us our table was ready so my husband walked over and was told it would be another 15 minutes. OK. It's Saturday night and we were having a nice time at the bar so we waited.
Finally we were seated. We ordered a nice bottle of wine, salads, and main course. The service was incredibly slow. We saw other tables be seated, eat and leave and we did not have our main course. Finally our main course arrived. Steaks were prepared fine. Then we waited, and waited, and waited - for our table to be cleared, for the bill, etc. How long should a diner wait to have their plate cleared - is 30 minutes too long?
We actually had to get up from the table and go to the hostess stand to ask them to find our wait person and give us our bill. We were not trying to get in and out quickly, but attentive service would have been nice. Normally we are careful to always leave a nice tip for the server. This was the exception to that rule.
It was such a disappointment to have the food ruined by an absolutely horrible server. And, management did not seem to care.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_Astoria_NY, Manager at Bull & Bear Steakhouse, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear japdx,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Bull & Bear Steakhouse. I am so sorry to hear that the service was so slow and that you had to wait so long for your table. We understand that your time is very precious that this must have been very frustrating. We would like to take this opportunity to learn more about your experience. At your convenience, please email me at megan.hennessey@waldorfastoria.com.

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Steak in our life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a place you have to visit before you die !
Waldorf salad is heavenly and the steak is ... formidable .
Red velvet cake ,classis and superbe.
This bar has to change from name , not bull & bear , but sex on the plate !

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bull & Bear Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Bull & Bear Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bull & Bear Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.