We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Solita Soho Hotel

Save Saved
You added Solita Soho Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solita Soho Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   159 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Formerly Clarion Collection The Solita Soho Hotel) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #326 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shocking experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

If you are hoping to stay at the Solita with more than 2 people I would not recommend it. The rooms are tiny and the described double beds are not double at all. There is almost no space to move and the rooms are not of average size in NYC as compared to various other rooms I have stayed in in NYC. The staff were very rarely willing to help and acted like it was a chore when help was acquired. The room is overpriced for what it is. Save your money on this one.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Hello and thank for you sharing your experience with us. I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. I am also disappointed that the service you received seemed cold. In most cases we pride ourselves on our ability to provide top notch service as indicated by most of our other reviews. I apologize that we fell short on this aspect during your stay. Our rooms although a bit on the small side do seem to accommodate most guests. But I do understand they are not suited to everyone’s needs. I hope you do return and give us another chance in the future to provide you with a typical experience. Thanks again for reviewing our hotel and have a great day!

Kind Regards,




Andrew Brogdon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    140
    44
    26
    16
See reviews for
65
73
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I can't rate the quality of the hotel, since we never got to stay in it. My husband and I live in Bergen County, NJ, very close to Manhattan. Every year for my birthday we spend a night in a Manhattan hotel so we can have a nice dinner, see a play, get up the next morning and walk around the city looking at all the Christmas displays, all without having to drive or spend a lot on public transportation. We made a reservation at the Solita because of its location. The reservation was made more than a week before our trip and was prepaid through American Express. When we arrived there we were told that they didn't have a room for us, but they could put us up at a Sheraton in Brooklyn. We asked if they could find us anything else in Manhattan, but they said no. It would take us longer to get to Brooklyn than to our home, so we just cancelled. We ended up going home after the show, instead of stopping a a club like we planned since we didn't want to drink and drive. The next morning we didn't want to drive in during rush hour so we could have our planned brunch, so we just punted. The hotel had our contact information - couldn't they have let us know that the were booked earlier so we could have made other arrangements?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Good day and thank you for reviewing our hotel. I sincerely apologize that we could not accommodate you on the night of your stay, and especially on your birthday! Due to circumstances beyond our control we did not have a room available at the time of your arrival. We tried our best to relocate the reservation in Manhattan but unfortunately there was nothing available at the time. In the very rare instance that we do have to relocate reservations we always try to contact the guest before hand to inform them. Unfortunately with pre paid reservations we are not given any guest contact information so it makes it very difficult. I do hope that you give us another chance in the future as our location is very ideal and our service is also very attentive and personal. Again, I sincerely apologize! Thanks for sharing your experience with us and have a great day!

Kind Regards,

Andrew Brogdon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Challex, France
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Check in was quick, very friendly.
Room was spacious by NY standards. In room Iron/Board great idea. Bed very comfy, great sleep. Room is a good 3 star standard.
Desk staff always friendly. The best feature of the entire stay was the shower. The best shower head I have come across in a long time, didn't want to get out of it. Canal street subway 2 blocks away as is China town, Little Italy therefore super location.

Join the loyalty program to get even better rates.

Room Tip: Get a corner room, very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Good day and thank your sharing your experience with us. I am glad the hotel met your expectations. The showers are one of our most popular features as they are superior in comparison to the standard hotel shower. I always share guest reviews with the entire staff, especially the ones that recognize their service and commitment to the guest experience. We look forward to seeing you again and thanks again for the nice review!

Best Regards,

Andrew Brogdon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This little Hotel is a few steps from Broadway in Soho. Rooms are fresh and clean. We stayed two adults and two teens in a room with 2 doubble beds, no space for a extrabed but it was OK.
When your're in NYC you don't spend much time in the room so it's not a big deal that they are quite small. Staff were nice.
There is a lot f nice, not too fancy, restaurants in this area.
Maybe the location is a little far from Times Square and Central Park.
But It's easy to catch the Metro from Canal Sreet.

Room Tip: We stayed at the top floor with a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Hello and thank you for choosing to review our hotel! I am delighted that your enjoyed your stay and glad you found the location of our property ideal for the travels in the city. We look forward to having you back in future and thanks again for the review. Guest feedback is very important and we greatly appreciate it!

Kind Regards,

Andrew Brogdon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Not having visited NYC before I was unsure of what to expect but this was a pleasant surprise. Although the rooms were small they were adequate. Beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom had a bath as well as a very efficient shower. Staff could not have been more welcoming and friendly. Location was very convenient for restaurants and subways. Only downside was the noise. This is to be expected in such a location but the badly fitting window could have had a smear of Mastik around it to reduce the street noise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hello and thank you for reviewing our hotel and sharing your experience with us. I appreciate you choosing to stay with us and that our location was beneficial. I share each and every guest review with the entire staff as it is by far the best tool for measuring our ability to provide a consistent experience for each guest. Thank you for recognizing the staff and the service you received. I hope you return to stay with us again here at the Solita. Have a great day and thanks for the kind review.







Best Regards,

Andrew Brogdon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

At first I was surprised at how small the room was, but then I realized - it's NEW YORK CITY! Of course the room isn't very spacious. Plus, I wasn't planning on spending much time in the room anyway. The beds were super comfortable. I had a great night's sleep every night.

Location is great too. Just a couple blocks from the subway and so close to both Little Italy and Chinatown.

The staff was nice from the front desk to housekeeping. We definitely enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Good day and thank you for choosing to review our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the location and hotel met your expectations. The staff and I would like to thank you for recognizing our efforts to provide the excellent service. We strive each day to provide the best personal service possible to each guest. We always appreciate when that is recognized. I hope you return to stay with us in the future and thanks again for the kind review.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Brogdon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

This was my first - but not my last- experience with European style hotel in NY. Very quiet room. Beautiful,minimalist room- maybe 2' space around queen ultra comfy bed. Best part was deciding where to walk to- little Italy, Chinatown , SOHO all starting within 1 block. A walkers/ eaters paradise. Staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Good day and thank you for the kind review of our hotel. The location is one of the best things about the property and its proximity and easy access to many things to do in the city. I do hope you return to stay with us in the future as we pride ourselves on service and ensuring each guest has the best experience possible in all aspects of the stay. Thanks again for the nice review and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards,

Andrew Brogdon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solita Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solita Soho Hotel

Address: 159 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Formerly Clarion Collection The Solita Soho Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Solita Soho Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Solita SoHo is a boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown New York City. The hotel is just steps away from traditional New York areas such as Little Italy, Chinatown, and the famous SoHo shopping.The Solita puts you right into the heart of SoHo where you get the true New York feel with its eclectic restaurants, nightlife, museums, shopping, and culture.We invite you to try this area of New York City out with us and let us know what true New York feels like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Solita Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection New York City
Clarion New York City
New York City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solita Soho Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.