We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solita Soho Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Solita Soho Hotel to your Saves list
Solita Soho Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   159 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Formerly Clarion Collection The Solita Soho Hotel) (SoHo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #301 of 457 Hotels in New York City
punchkin23
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We received excellent service at the Solita Soho Hotel. The location was great- just a few steps to Little Italy and Chinatown. We even had a view of the Empire State Building from our room! Great value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello and thank you kindly for the great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and found the location of our hotel and service to be great during your stay. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service for a small hotel and our location is centrally located making it easy to enjoy all that NYC has to offer. Thanks again for the kind words and we look forward to having you back in future!

Best Regards,

Andrew Brogdon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    150
    45
    27
    16
See reviews for
70
77
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a small dingy hotel in the middle of Soho tucked within China Town and Little Italy. By New York standard, this one is overpriced for location and room facilities which are at the most basic. There is hardly any place to move in the room except sleep. Staff presence is minimal and interactions are cold. This hotel is relatively close to Canary Street subway station which in turn connects you to downtown Manhattan, Brooklyn etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Good day and thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am very sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. Our rooms are of average size for NYC, however I realize they do not suite the needs of every traveler. We take all reviews very seriously and utilize them to try to improve our daily routine in order to provide the best experience possible for each guest. I am sorry that we fell short during your stay. I do hope you return to give us another chance but do realize our hotel is not suited to everyone. Thanks agian for sharing your experience as all guest feedback is important . That said, we do hope you return to give us another chance someday.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Brogdon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel is nice and clean. Rooms are small but this is NYC! Location is good - in the heart of Soho, close to Canal Street(Chinatown) and Little Italy. It was a bit noisy as construction is going on in front of the hotel, but during the night is was ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Good day and thank you for reviewing our hotel. Guest feedback is by far the most important tool we have in measuring our ability to provide a positive experience for each guest. I do apologize for the construction noise taking place in front of the hotel. Luckily most days we do not have that distraction, however I do apologize for any inconvenience this caused during your stay. Thank you for the otherwise great review and we look forward to having you back as a guest.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Brogdon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Room is for no more than two people since beds are full sized. Few days before n during our stay main hotel phone did not work. Ok place to sleep as beds were comfortable. Staff unfriendly. Would not stay again unless broke.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
I am very sorry that your stay did not meet all expectations. I have shared this review with the staff and we will use it as training in order to continuall provide the best experience we can for our guests. I am dissapointed that we fell short of your expectations during your stay wish us. We do hope you return to give us another chance to show you how we normally operate and that most of our guests are delighted with our staff and service. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us and again we hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Andrew Brogodn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massena, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel is a very good place to stay. Right in the heart of SoHo, Little Italy, Chinatown. It's close to the subway as well! The staff made our stay even better. They were SO much help to us in directing us which subway to take or recommendations for dinner! Anytime we needed something in our room the staff ran it up! I would stay here again because of them. The rooms are very updated, modern and clean. They are tiny, but that's New York City. I haven't ever stayed in a big roomed hotel in the City. Very reasonably priced for NYC!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
The staff and I would like to sincerely thank you for the kind review, we are always delighted when our efforts are recognized. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and had a nice experience at our hotel. The staff and I try hard each and every day to provide the best possible service we can and are always happy when guests give us valueable positive feedback. I hope you return to stay with us in the future and thanks again for the kind review.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Brogdon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and two friends of ours recently stayed here. I have to admit after reading the reviews about the rooms being so tiny and noisy I was pleasantly surprised. Yes, it was a little snug especially for 4 people to one room but we made it work. After all, we were only there to sleep! The finishes were updated nicely and you can tell they put a lot of money into renovating. Beds were comfy and clean. Overall I rate our experience a 10! Staff was friendly and courteous. Location was cool as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for the kind review, the staff and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thanks for recognizing their service. We strive each day to provide the best possible experience for each guest and are always glad when it is recognized. We look forward to having you as a return guest and thanks again for the kind words!

Best Regards,

Andrew Brogdon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights last week. Friendly staff, very clean. Great location if you want a bit of the non touristed NYC, as it is at the edge of Chinatown, Little Italy, and Soho. Close to Subway. Good Banh Mi at Paris bakery ( Mott. St.) nearby. Clean, tiny hotel, rooms very small, but good value. Extra towels were no problem and high end soap, shampoo provided. Low on amenities, but high on value, I would stay here again. Good breakfast across street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, General Manager at Solita Soho Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Good day and thank you kindly for reviewing our hotel. I am glad that your stay was positive and that you found the location and atmosphere of the neighborhood to your liking. We always enjoy positive feedback from guests stays. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to having you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Brogdon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solita Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solita Soho Hotel

Address: 159 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013 (Formerly Clarion Collection The Solita Soho Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#203 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Solita Soho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Solita SoHo is a boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown New York City. The hotel is just steps away from traditional New York areas such as Little Italy, Chinatown, and the famous SoHo shopping.The Solita puts you right into the heart of SoHo where you get the true New York feel with its eclectic restaurants, nightlife, museums, shopping, and culture.We invite you to try this area of New York City out with us and let us know what true New York feels like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Solita Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection New York City
Clarion New York City
New York City Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solita Soho Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.